We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected treat”
Review of Gurkha Corner

Gurkha Corner
Ranked #10 of 68 Restaurants in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected treat”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Driving to Brecon we weren't really expecting anything exciting. However, I'm so glad that we dropped in. The food was great - "safe" curries for those used to high street "Indian" and actual Nepali food for those wanting something, well, Nepalese. Great food, generous portions, friendly service. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bcells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    119
    28
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
barry
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Food georgous staff really friendly nothing to much trouble would return again. Looks small and not great from outside but a fabulos find

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traceykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food, value and service”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Varied selection of Nepali dishes very well priced. staff attentive and helpful, food excellent. Great change from standard Bengali/Indian Chinese.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyerSeaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Another return visit by the two of us who live locally. Had booked in advance because a Friday night in holiday time. Place was full all evening, but staff managed to fit in most who came on the off chance, plus a few take aways as well. Waitress was really pleasant and although meal was a while coming we didn't mind as we weren't in a rush and told them we could wait. Tried the chicken livers for a starter as a change and they were gorgeous, will have them again, along with the lamb chops. Main courses were superb, nicely spiced,mine medium and my partner's hot, all washed down with a reasonably price house red.
We both like indian and chinese but find the nepalese spices extra special and because the restaurant is so small it has a particularly intimate and friendly feel to it. We will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanePowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beziers, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent surprise”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

That was a surprise to find a nepalese restaurant in Brecon while preparing our trip to Wales.
I tried to book a table throught their website but never got any answer.
Nevertheless, the D day, we popped in the restaurant and asked for a table (for 2) without a reservation, on the closure day of the Jazz in Brecon festival ! The very nice and welcoming waiter found us a table, we ordered quicky and were served pretty fast even if the mains were brought to us before the starters... The waiter couldn't stop apologising after this litle misake. The food was obviously prepared on site with fresh products and was very tasty (herbs, sauces etc.) and perfectly spicy. The herbs mainly consisted of coriander and could probably have been more exotic/varied. Anyway, everything was really good, significantly different from the usual indian food and also very good value for money : 2 starters + 2 mains + 1 rice = 25£.
The restaurant is pretty tiny so booking is preferable i guess.
They also make take away and even delivery (free in a range of 4 miles).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crazy_Viny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Corner also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Gurkha Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing