We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steaks”
Review of The Clarence Inn

The Clarence Inn
Ranked #5 of 68 Restaurants in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Clarence Inn is a "Pub that does food!" Our aim is to provide quality food and drink in a pleasant and friendly environment, with the attraction of a large beer garden with real grass and occasional sunshine. Home cooked Sunday lunches are extremely popular so booking is advisable. And cooking your own steak on one of our super heated rocks is definitely worth a try.
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food is really great, we had steaks served on a hot stone so that you could cook them for as long or as little as you liked. The service was fast and friendly and it has a nice beer garden in the summer

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank florencezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    84
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Accomodating,Friendly,Efficient”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

i was booked in for 1 night by my company before a 4am start in the morning to drive to Paris. i thought about walking to the town centre for Dinner and to get cash from an ATM. instead everything was taken care of by my Hosts after the advice of some friendly locals - Delicious Home made cooking - and cashback from debit card, They also gave me a packed lunch instead of breakfast for such an early start, The room was fresh and clean like the rest of the building. The bed very comfortable with a high quality mattress. Recommended, and i stay at different Hotels in UK and Europe every week in my job.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“This place really goes the extra mile to please!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

No fuss, no frills and it won't break the bank either! Excellent menu of very good meals. The Sunday Lunch is amazing value and if you can eat it all - then you must be hungry! The host and the waitresses are always very cheerful even when it's running at full stretch in there. Well done guys for your consistent ability to deliver tasty food and always please! Never failed us over many years of eating there! :))

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“surprisingly good”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were in Brecon looking for a pub lunch and chanced upon the Clarence. What a surprise, real ales, log burning stove, pleasant staff, locals & atmosphere. Quick service, good food and all at a reasonable price. Had we come across this pub earlier in our stay we would have gone back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justus252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“GREAT BEER AND ATMOS”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have yet to try it foe food but we've heard great recommendations. The beer, though, is great. Local ales abound. There are a lot of tables for food. The outdoor area is nice, and they put on some good gigs. Recommended by locals!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Damon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clarence Inn also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Llanhamlach, Brecon
Llanfrynach, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to The Clarence Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing