We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit as good as the first!”
Review of Ty Newydd B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ty Newydd B&B
Ranked #7 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is our second visit to Ty Newydd. We first stayed for 2 nights in May 2011. On that occassion Rachel was on holiday, but her in-laws looked after us exceptionally well. We have just re-visited for another 2 night break, which was just as good as the first - and this time we were able to meet Rachel and enjoy her hospitality and amazing breakfasts!

The B&B itself is excellent - our first visit we had a double room on the first floor, and this second time we had a twin room on the second floor. Both rooms are excellent - very comfortable and cost. Just look out for the low beams!

There is a conservatory downstairs that can be used for relaxing in the evening.

The location is outstanding - right on the Brecon canal, so ideal for walking and/or cycling to Brecon and local pubs.

All in all, highly recommended, and we will be back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcdc230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Ty Newydd B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 145 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

We went to the mountains of South Wales, near Brecon, for a five day break, last week, having made our reservation without much prior knowledge of the location. When we reached the B&B, it was immediately obvious we had been extremely lucky in our relatively blind choice. The location was idyllic, in the middle of the wide valley of the river Usk, with the Brecon canal just ouside the property, and the possibility of hiring craft from the local marina. The room was very comfortable, and exceptionally clean. The breakfast on offer prepared to your specifications from the wide choice available. The B&B also has excellent internet access. Suggested walks are availble in diagram form, with instructions on how to find the initial path, and OS maps are also available. All in all, avery good choice!

Room Tip: All of them excellent!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I’m reluctant to submit the glowing review that this B&B deserves, because I fear I’ll be unable to secure a room next year if everybody else discovers this wonderful rustic retreat. My fourth trip to Ty Newydd in two years was met with a warm welcome as always. The rooms are bright, spacious, and well proportioned, and the full Welsh breakfast worthy of the most discerning gourmet. Overlooking the canal, and a short walk from two superb pubs – by winding road or leafy towpath – the location cannot be faulted. My thanks to Sid and Rachel for making our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: Having stayed in three of the four rooms, I don't think any of them will disappoint.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I particularly liked the design and style of the place - large white rooms, large windows that let the countryside, large comfortable beds. No fuss or chintz that sometimes characterises British B&Bs. The Welsh breakfast was excellent, the range of options at breakfast was excellent. I felt very welcome here and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Marc_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

we stayed 10 nights at Ty Newydd. The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom has a bathtube with a shower. The breakfast was superb: a welsh cooked breakfast with nearly everthing you can wish, a wide choice of cereals, grapefruits and other fruits like apples, bananas etc. and sometimes fresh baked muffins.

For rainy days they have a conservatory to relaxe and a drying room for wet shoes and wet clothings.

Although Ty Newydd lies directly at a marina for narrowboats it is realy quiet. There is direct access to the towpath along the canal for wonderful walks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Extremely enjoyable stay after a few problems on the country lanes.Thank you Ruth for your hospitality, the B&B was in great hands. The room was comfortable and the location beautiful, amazing views from the room. Thank you from Australia, we will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niffer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a real find, a fabulous B&B! The beds are amazingly comfortable, the rooms beautifully decorated and the host Rachael is extremely welcoming. The breakfast was gorgeous, using excellent quality local meat. We would love to stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
0.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
957 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
3.2 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
604 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 43 in Brecon
267 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#2 of 43 in Brecon
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Newydd B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Newydd B&B

Address: | Llanfrynach, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7LJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty Newydd B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored traditional Welsh Farmhouse. Ty Newydd is set in a unique location on the canal by a traditional canal boat Marina. Unspoilt views of the Welsh Countryside from your bedroom window and locally sourced cooked breakfast. Good local pubs, private parking, but still convenient for Brecon town. Great base for exploring the Brecon Beacons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ty Newydd B&B Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing