We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Ty Newydd B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ty Newydd B&B
Ranked #7 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Extremely enjoyable stay after a few problems on the country lanes.Thank you Ruth for your hospitality, the B&B was in great hands. The room was comfortable and the location beautiful, amazing views from the room. Thank you from Australia, we will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niffer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Ty Newydd B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 145 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a real find, a fabulous B&B! The beds are amazingly comfortable, the rooms beautifully decorated and the host Rachael is extremely welcoming. The breakfast was gorgeous, using excellent quality local meat. We would love to stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

WOW. Ty Newydd is definitely an excellent B&B that I would recommend within a heartbeat to anyone visiting Brecon.

Location: What can I say. Wales is beautiful wherever you look, but Ty Newydd was situated in a very idyllic area where you could see the mountains from your room and the canal right in front. As most traveling to Brecon would be visiting by car, Ty Newydd is also very closely situated to the motorway which makes it very convenient to travel to other parts of Wales. Brecon Town centre is also only a 5-10 min drive away.

Hosts: Rachel and Sid are EXCELLENT hosts! They were extremely friendly and helpful. Upon arrival Rachel showed us to our room and also gave us a brief introduction to the area around. She had a portfolio ready of pamphlets for sightseeing, outdoor activities and restaurants closeby. A truly attentive host!

Rooms: The rooms are extremely well maintained. Everything from the sheets, linens and towels were fresh and the newly renovated bathroom was immaculate. You could tell that Rachel put in alot of effort to keep the rooms spotless. I have traveled alot and slept in numerous hotels including top rated 5star hotels and resorts, but I must say that I have never slept more comfortably than my 3 nights at Ty Newydd. HEAVEN! The beds are very comfortable and just everything about the B&B made you feel right at home.

Dining: The Welsh breakfast that Rachel cooked up for us in the morning was wonderful. Toast, cereals, sausages, bacon, eggs and tea/coffee. She made sure to keep the food hot and it was delicious. Rachel recommended a nice restaurant, The White Swan, about 5 mins away from Ty Newydd that served great food(they have an award winning chef and the food is absolutely amazing). We dined there for 2 of the 3 nights we stayed because we loved it so much.

My conclusion: You cannot go wrong with Ty Newydd. I would recommend this B&B to anyone regardless of their travel purpose. It is a beautiful B&B that has taken alot of effort in preserving the true feeling of a Welsh farm house while maintaining immaculate cleanliness and comfort. Whether you're a couple looking for a romantic retreat, or a family looking for fun in the outdoors I would say that you cannot go wrong with this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saeunpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We could not believe our luck finding Ty Newydd - it is a truly exceptional B&B. Rachel was fabulous and made us so welcome, yet gave us space as well. The room we stayed in was quite beautiful - warm , spotless , a marvellous duvet and bed and gorgeous beams - my daughter struggled to leave it as she also adored the window seat where she sat and read whilst overlooking an exceptional view. But we did leave it and went on a great walk thanks to all the local information (and maps) Rachel kindly gave us. We also went to a pub she recommended for dinner.

Besides everything already mentioned (and of course a really delicious breakfast) what was also so lovely about this, was that the "B&Bers" have their own front door - so we never felt we were invading someone else's house and equally we felt we had privacy.

We cannot recommend this B&B more highly and if you are lucky enough to go to the Brecons , we are sure you could not find anything to match this truly wonderful place.

We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: I am pretty sure all the rooms are marvellous as the views are terrific from any angle and there are...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hilary23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Over the years I have been to numerous B&B’s all over the UK & I would definitely have no doubt in my head that the Ty Newydd B&B is the best one I have ever stayed at. I really can’t fault them in any department & I had the perfect New Year weekend staying over there with my girlfriend. Rachel & Sid were perfect hosts – friendly, kind, very accommodating & had extensive knowledge about the surrounding areas. The breakfast was delicious & the B&B itself was wonderful in all aspects including location, cleanliness, comfort, value etc. I would definitely recommend it to anyone & everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusty1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

How refreshing to see such a well run B&B! The room was spacious, very comfy bed, newly refurbished spotless bathroom and gorgeous views! Breakfast was lovely, a tasty plateful! Sadly, we were staying to attend a family funeral in the neighbouring village, but we would stay here again and definately recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0118dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We were attending a wedding at the nearby Peterstone Court and booked a three night stay to extend the trip to include some walking. This is a lovely B&B in a superb location. Our room was very comfortable, clean and well presented. Rachael and Sid were excellent hosts and helped with all our needs including providing a fine breakfast, and, lots of information on local walks. This is a good location for exploring the Brecons Beacons, and the start point for canal boating holidays from the nearby marina. Highly recommended .

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
0.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
957 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
3.2 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
604 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 43 in Brecon
267 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#2 of 43 in Brecon
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Newydd B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Newydd B&B

Address: | Llanfrynach, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7LJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty Newydd B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored traditional Welsh Farmhouse. Ty Newydd is set in a unique location on the canal by a traditional canal boat Marina. Unspoilt views of the Welsh Countryside from your bedroom window and locally sourced cooked breakfast. Good local pubs, private parking, but still convenient for Brecon town. Great base for exploring the Brecon Beacons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ty Newydd B&B Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing