We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely wine bar”

The Bank bar & kitchen
Ranked #3 of 68 Restaurants in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The Bank Bar and Kitchen is a newly opened Venue just off the centre of Brecon. We are open from 11:30am every day and open until Late.The Kitchen is open each day from 12 Midday until 9pm serving Fresh and Locally sourced Food. Families are welcome. We have high chairs for the little ones, and even a Baby Changing Facility.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely wine bar”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Lovely wine bar with great service and food.
We only wanted a cup of tea and a snack so we weren't there long but it was very nice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    84
    31
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
torpoint
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visitors from Cornwall”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and i were on Holiday with friends in Brecon and came across the Bank on a Friday evening,the welcome was very warm, the atmosphere very relaxed and the place was very clean with fresh flowers on the tables . We ordered Steak as it was the "Steak night". It was one of the nicest meals we had on our holiday. Very well presented and tasty. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank torpointbrowneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon
2 reviews
“Top drawer!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Really nice Sunday lunch.They stopped serving this at 4pm but welcomed us at 4.30pm and served an excellent meal.Service was great.highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purpleplumhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
307 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Tuesday night and was pleasantly surprised that it was quite busy with a nice friendly atmosphere.
Bar and table staff were very friendly and accommodating and really seemed to want to provide good service.
Decor is really classy and one of the cleanest places we have been to in ages
Definitely worth a try

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiLiCockerpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Drop the word kitchen off your title”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stumbled across this place on a Saturday, after our favourite place was fully booked. It was late afternoon, and the bar area was reasonably full, but we found a table that could accommodate us. There were no menus on the table, and the feeling that I got was that they were more geared up for a bar venue, as to a place to eat. I attended at the bar and was served, and the barman did come over and give us menus. After ordering food, which on paper looked excellent, it took ages to come. I attended at the bar, and saw a waitress turn a wine glass around with her fingers fully inserted into the actual glass, and then pour wine into them. Why not turn the glass on the stem, as opposed to leaving the debris off your fingers in some ones drink? The food came, and my wife's chicken tasted exactly like smoked mackerel and the salad was `frozen. My burger came, and it was absolutely stone cold. It was too late to take it back, as by this time the place was full of party revellers, whose language was choice, especially as we had our two children with us. Upon paying, I informed the bar man who shook his head. Honestly drop the kitchen tag, food was terrible, and train the bar staff on the correct way to serve.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Papapilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bank bar & kitchen also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to The Bank bar & kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing