We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borderers Guest House
Ranked #8 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Charming!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

A most charming place to relax and enjoy beautiful scenery. Great hospitality.
Will definitely return! Quaint and charming. Parking is tight though, if you have a large
vehicle. A Discovery for example, may struggle. It's a height issue.
But the breakfasts are the best!
Recommended highly!
Jeremy

Room Tip: A great place! The rooms out back are quieter than those in the front. Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    31
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
70
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We used a voucher we were given to stay here. Our room was perfect for us with a en suite shower room. We couldn't get our X3 into the car park as the entrance is narrow so parked it just a little way down the road. It's not easy park directly outside so parked and popped into Aldi just round the corner to check in. Very friendly and went for a walk to the canal which was very peaceful. Breakfast was a selection of cereals and/or a freshly cooked breakfast. A great location for us, after which we went to The Big Pit, which was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a voucher for a night away and chose this guesthouse to use it. Having always booked generic hotel rooms we were actually a little unsure about a b&b but we had a fantastic time. Lovely welcome from the owners, the room was cosy with a comfy bed (coming from someone 7 months pregnant), the place felt very quaint. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and the Christmas decorations were amazing! Less than 5 minutes walk from town, it was perfect for us and we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drea868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Overall, welcoming, clean & pleasant, convenient, good breakfast & good value. Rear car park handy but cramped. Front rooms have character but a bit noisy as on main road near pubs & some are small. A few minor repairs needed.

Room Tip: Request quieter room at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I enjoyed my overnight stay; easy to find, very friendly welcome, clean room, comfortable bed, good breakfast and great value for money. I am pleased that I took up the staff's recommendation for Roberto's excellent Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ActMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst undertaking a charity event. We had a twin room facing into the courtyard. The room and en-suite shower room was clean and comfortable. Free wifi was an added bonus and they even had the wifi code on the inside of the door with usual information.

Hospitality tray was well presented.

The breakfast was of a good quality. Quirky little place, but very nice atmosphere. Owners are very helpful too.

The car park is through a narrow opening, but if you put in your wing mirrors and some one see you out you will be ok.

Thoroughly enjoyed our night at the Borderers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great little guesthouse. A warm welcome. Friendly Lovely breakfast clean and tidy room. Free parking and wifi is always good close to the beautiful canal offering boat trips. And close to lots of Brecon attractions walks and castles. Explore away from this base xx thank you

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.4 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.7 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#5 of 43 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#3 of 43 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Castle Farm Guest House
0.1 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#2 of 43 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borderers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borderers Guest House

Property: Borderers Guest House
Address: 47 Watton, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7EG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Hotel Class:3 star — Borderers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century coaching Inn - 1645, to be precise, along with all the old bits still intact. We are constantly striving to keep everything up to date, with the addition of WiFi etc. The floors still creak, and we get reported sightings of ghosts.(We have never had such an experience in our 15 years here! Dare we suggest that it may just be the proximity of too many pubs?)Enjoy! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borderers Guest House Hotel Brecon
Borderers Guest House Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing