We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Breakfast!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borderers Guest House
Ranked #8 of 44 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab Breakfast!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here with my family recently and can't fault our stay. The room was ideal and as it was a family room the children even had their own space "bedroom".
Great couple, nice clean room and dog friendly too all for such a reasonable price. Breakfast was the icing on the cake!! Thanks Jan and Ian for a lovely stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    31
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
68
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights at the beginning of April 2012 on arrival we were asked if we wanted a room with a bath or shower, we elected a shower and were allocated room No 4. The room had a double bed an en-suite shower room, plenty of storage and tea/ coffee making facilities. Although small it was comfortable and spotless. The property was originally a coaching house and as such the ceilings are low the stairs are winding and the floors creak. Our room was facing the main road but the road noise wasn't too bad. We did notice that the windows weren't double glazed probably due to the planning regulations. During our stay the weather changed and snow fell however the central heating made the room warm and cozy. On the down side the toilet system is small bore and after use was a little noisy especially at night. Our two tips :- Although there is parking available in the court yard be aware that the entrance from the road is tight and I mean tight take it easy. The breakfast is superb the full english is one of the best I've have had in years. A great stay with friendly service. Would we stay again YES !

Room Tip: The rooms on the front could be noisy but I believe there are rooms accessed from the court yard whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maverick911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

I and my friend headed to Brecon for a wedding, we had a twin room booked and arrived late Friday night. The room was ace for what we needed. Up for a full english in the morning, asked the owners the locations for where we needed to go and they could not help us enough. When it came to us heading to the wedding it started to rain and the owners kindly offered us some umbrellas to borrow :) All round nice and helpful and the B&B was perfect for what we needed it for. They also have 2 lovely labrador's which swayed it big time for us :)
Thanks it was a great stay and would definitely go back again
Central, on main road, 2mins walk in to town centre.

Room Tip: Great B&B on main road in Brecon Beacons, 2min walk to the town centre. Our room was twin which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

A one night stay and the most enjoyable of our holiday: a first time visit to Brecon and enough to make us want to return!
The ground floor room in the back courtyard of the old inn had an excellent shower, large comfortable bed and there was plenty of room for all our bags and cases. Cosy and cottagey.
The car park was small and care had to be taken to enter and exit but this was very well organised and had security gates as well.
Location is excellent for strolling in Brecon with the South Wales Borderers Museum, many shops and canal and river walks nearby.
The friendliness and kindness of the owners, their beautiful hanging baskets and the quaint old building was everything we wanted.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FiggettyPooden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

I would like to say a big thank you to the owners of the boarderers for making us so welcome. I had been looking for accomodation in brecon to accomodate my family and my dog as we went walking to the pen y fan mountain range and all I can say that it was outstanding.. And also just to say they have a lovely carpet in there dining room as It was getting fitted when we arrived and also helped to move there welsh dressers but thewy gave us an extra rasher of bacon and an extra egg for doing so for breakfast..
Thank you guys for a night

Regards

The newport boys and tys xx

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in June for a walking holiday. The room decor was a little dated but the room was comfortable and clean with plenty of storage space. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, The breakfast was excellent, one of the best I've had. Very good value for money. The location is ideal for walkers, close to some beautiful counrtyside and it is also ideally located a few minutes walk from town, with supermarkets, pubs and the theatre very close by. There is car parking on the premises but it's very small and cramped, not suitable for big cars. One of the few B&B's that will accept dogs, ours was made very welcome!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_J_S-1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

Just a 1 night stay but very enjoyable. Beautiful old building in a great location run by very friendly owners. Breakfast was delicious - muesli in particular was spot on (I'm a muesli addict). Free parking was a bonus (not all Brecon properties have this). Only criticism was that room was a bit noisy but this was a minor issue. Would stay here again when visiting Brecon without a doubt. Brecon is a lovely little town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventuresOfRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.4 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.7 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#5 of 44 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#2 of 44 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Castle Farm Guest House
0.1 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#3 of 44 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borderers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borderers Guest House

Property: Borderers Guest House
Address: 47 Watton, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7EG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borderers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century coaching Inn - 1645, to be precise, along with all the old bits still intact. We are constantly striving to keep everything up to date, with the addition of WiFi etc. The floors still creak, and we get reported sightings of ghosts.(We have never had such an experience in our 15 years here! Dare we suggest that it may just be the proximity of too many pubs?)Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Borderers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borderers Guest House Hotel Brecon
Borderers Guest House Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing