We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could not sleep!”
Review of The Gremlin Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gremlin Hotel
Ranked #27 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“could not sleep!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The booking was made at the tourist office and it was presented as an hotel. It is actually a pub with rooms above it. From my room, I could hear the music and people talking. I could not sleep until 1 am! I will not go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
6
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was fortunate to have stayed at the Gremlin, the staff were very friendly and the accommodation, a terraced cottage ( one of six ) at the rear of the pub excellent. Also staying at the Gremlin were many of my Ex Army Veteran friends ( in Brecon for a reunion) ....... Tony from Exeter, Roy from Basildon Essex, Pete,Dai and more from Caerphilly, all had nothing but praise for the Gremlin for looking after us and making our stay an enjoyable one.

Cheers.

Room Tip: Try a terraced cottage, located at the rear of the pub. everything you will need ..... fridge, micro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dessparey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Second stop on the cycling break. Shared a cottage with 2 others. Downstairs sofa bed, dining area, kitchenette with micro wave, kettle, fridge and toilet with wash basin. Upstairs twin beds with on suite bathroom ( with bath and shower , bliss). Cottage was clean, modern and comfortable . Being at the back of the pub in own courtyard / car park they were quiet at all times.
Pub very much a local but with separate bars was large enough. Locals and staff were friendly.
Breakfast was a let down, dining area was dingy, sausages were cheap and nasty and waitress couldnt get my order right - basically inedible.
Beware of the car park tricky entrance that resulted in a scrapped van( happens all the time apparently - should have parked in the lorry park behind apparently).

Room Tip: Definitely go for a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PE07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed last night and my word we will be back again. Lovely airy,clean and well equipped cottages. The bar was so alive like a good old fashioned local. Mary and Gareth made us feel so welcome and the singing, well it was like being at a Westend show. Never mind Britain's got talent, visit this place and you won't be disappointed . Fabulous nights sleep .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you like the idea of staying on top of a pub than this place is for you. The staff are friendly and the atmosphere in the pub is nice. The room was slightly dingy and needed some TLC. All in all a nice place to stay in central Brecon however for that price one of the other B&Bs would have probably been slightly more pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed at the new cottages ajoining the Gremlin hotel, these self catering cottages are amazing all the comforts of home. Sleep 4 people great value for money. Mary and Gareth made us feel extremely welcome in this family run hotel. The hotel also has some rooms upstairs which are cosy and not expensive.I have been staying at the the Gremlin in Brecon regularly for the last couple of years. It remains one of the friendliest places to stay. The Gremlin is a very short walk to the town centre and and is close to the nature reserve the Brecon Beacons.
After walks along the river or in the Beacons, its also an amazing place to have a pint with the friendly locals.I will definately visit again soon. Thank you again Mary and Gareth for a great stay!

Room Tip: I would recommend the new cottages, they were only built last year. Finished to a high standard en p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Can't comment on the rooms in the hotel as we have never stayed in them, but I can comment on the wonderful Brecon welcome we always receive from Mary ,Gareth and the team, Twice now we have stayed in the immaculate cottages adjoining tthe Gremlin- every home comfort assured for a weekend's self catering while exploring the Brecon Jazz fringe-and those big king size beds with those crisp white sheets- a wonderful haven after a night on the town! Brecon's best kept accomodation secret-love it! - already booked for next year.

Room Tip: go for the cottages and stagger home from the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#3 of 43 in Brecon
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 43 in Brecon
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beacons
The Beacons
#32 of 43 in Brecon
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Markets Tavern Hotel
Markets Tavern Hotel
#24 of 43 in Brecon
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#2 of 43 in Brecon
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Town House at Brecon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gremlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gremlin Hotel

Property: The Gremlin Hotel
Address: 48 Watton, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7EG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gremlin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run local inn offering friendly service. Families catered for, within 500 yds of the new theatre and canal basin. Within walking distance of Brecon town centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gremlin Hotel Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing