We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple tasty”

Restaurant at The Castle of Brecon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 68 Restaurants in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our Head Chef produces a menu which represents the best of seasonal cooking. Modern and traditional dishes sit comfortably alongside each other, all freshly prepared, using the best of locally sourced meat, fish and Welsh cheeses.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Simple tasty”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Simple tasty lunchtime menu, reasonably priced and in the centre of Brecon.. Fish was lovely and so was the fresh carver ham. All freshly cooked and piping hot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lynneMerthyrTydfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Castle of Brecon Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello Lynne, glad you enjoyed your lunch with us and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    107
    25
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fab food!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Ate here in June & would definitely recommend the venison, superb! The whole dining experience was just fantastic, the food, wine & service were excellent! Fabulous views too!!
Will be returning in August with friends!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Castle of Brecon Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi Karen, we look forward to seeing you in August. Thanks for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We arrived without booking on Father's Day. Although very busy, we were welcomed. Help was unobtrusive and subtle. Excellent lamb roast, lovely garden and superb, friendly service. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lannadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Castle of Brecon Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your really nice comments and pleased we could accommodate you and that our team looked after you so well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and beautiful views”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

4 of us stayed in Brecon overnight and ate at this restraunt. We hadn't booked but that wasn't a problem. The service was good although the waiter did keep getting the cutlery wrong for the food we ordered which was quite entertaining! The service was good and the food delicious and well presented. We had a lovely bottle of wine to accompany the meal and for the four of us the price was good. The weather was warm and sunny, the windows open and the view over the mountains, breathtaking! Lovely, relaxing meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Castle of Brecon Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello Lynne. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely food great views”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Ate here late afternoon yesterday. Food was beautiful all homemade scampi, fish, aubergine moussaka and they could do gluten free. So had a fabulous thick homemade burger with melted cheese salad and chips. The sun was shining we sat outside in a pleasant eating area with our 2 dogs. Perfect and the staff are lovely

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 696tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant at The Castle of Brecon Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your late lunch with us on the terrace and that our team looked after you so well. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Castle of Brecon Hotel also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Restaurant at The Castle of Brecon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing