We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place we have stayed in for a large group.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Best place we have stayed in for a large group.”
Reviewed June 13, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We have been to many places as a group of 7 couples and we agree that this was the best so far. The location is stunning and it was good to be able to walk from the house along the river to the reservoir. We also went on a beautiful waterfall walk a short drive away. The larger house has a huge table so we were all able to eat together. Our hosts were very friendly and relaxed and made us feel very welcome, even giving us home made chocolate cake on arrival. I would definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel04V
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The greatest holiday home.”
Reviewed June 12, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Our group of 13 stayed here for a long bank holiday weekend for a wedding in the local area.
Where do I even begin! The most beautiful cottages in the most stunning setting!
There wasn't anything off putting at all, even the lack of mobile signal was a blessing for a lot of us.
Nicky was a lovely host and her two dogs were nice and friendly.
The cottages themselves were completely fitting for what we needed them for. They were all equipped to cater for all of us to eat at the same time.
Plenty of bathrooms for us all too.
Overall a lovely weekend in some very lovely cottages.
Highly recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing weekend away from their busy lives.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorraine...
Workington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place for a group stay”
Reviewed May 30, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Just returned from a brilliant weekend at the happy horse. Family travelled for a christening and this was a perfect place for us all to stay together.
Very well equipped cottages and outdoor space. It was lovely having the horses near by especially for the children.
Would definitely stay here again, we were given a very warm welcome and the chocolate cake on arrival was a lovely thought.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely peaceful location perfect for a group gathering.”
Reviewed May 24, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Just had a wonderful stay at Happy Horse cottages for a gathering of 4 families! Although the cottages were not interconnecting the space, location and facilities suited our needs. The children played for hours in the stream and loved the horses and friendly Jack Russell! Great place for walking and cycling. The homemade chocolate cake on arrival was gratefully received by both children and parents!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradip S
1 review
“perfect accommodation.”
Reviewed May 22, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Amazing place to stay with a river running behind the cottage. Nothing was a problem for the owners. Very hospitable and with great knowledge of the area.We would go back again and also recommend to friends and family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sakinah L
1 review
“Fell in love with the house, dogs, horses.. just everything <3”
Reviewed February 14, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

There was 12 of us all together and we were very comfortable in the house. The weather was not the best as there was rain, snow, wind, just about everything. However the house was very warm. We didn't get to explore the area as much as we had liked to due to the weather but Nicky was very helpful in suggesting different paths and routes to take. If we were to come back, I would definite want to explore the surrounding areas a little more.

There are many horses just in front of the house, which made it extra special for us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2018
Hi Sakinah,thank you for your review - Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanna P
1 review
“Fabulous getaway cottage”
Reviewed November 28, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had our retreat here and it was a fantastic stay. There are 3 individual cottages all with equipped with their own kitchen and bathroom. The largest cottage is perfect for the gathering of a large group up to 16. This was a great place to getaway and it perfect if you're looking to spend some quality time with friends and family and enjoy the natural beauty that Wales offers.

Ray was a great host and had a great chocolate cake waiting for us!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing