We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family weekend/birthday celebration”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Glass House

Kitchen and dining area next to pond and fountain
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen and dining area next to pond and fountain
Decking, outdoor seating, gas barbecue, large hottub and garden TV/AV room opens onto decking and lawn with views towards the mountains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Kitchen and dining area next to pond and fountain
Decking, outdoor seating, gas barbecue, large hottub and garden
TV/AV room opens onto decking and lawn with views towards the mountains
Large hottub in private walled garden
View from Ty Gwydr towards the Allt and Llangors Lake
Kitchen
Dining area overlooking fields and Llangors mountain
High specification TV/AV room with large L-shaped sofa
Living area
Living area overlooking garden
Lawn and pond with fountain
Constructed using traditional and ecological materials such as sheeps wool insulation and lime morta
4 high specification bathrooms
2 twin rooms (one with changing room)
2 king size rooms. This one overlooks the lawn and has patio doors opening to decking and hot-tub in
Master bedroom
View from Ty Gwydr towards Mynydd Llangors
Ty Gwydr is on Ty Newydd Farm next to Llangors Lake
Ty Gwydr is on Ty Newydd Farm over which access can be gained on the public footpath at the end of t
Four poster bed with spectacular views towards the mountains and lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicole H
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family weekend/birthday celebration”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Glass House has been the perfect location for a family get together and birthday location.
I cannot recommend the house enough; stunning location, extremely spacious, modern interior and a very special feel. The pictures do not do the house justice, it is beautiful. A perfect place for a large group to relax and enjoy one another's company with plenty of space for everyone.
The house has everything you could need including towels, milk, tea, coffee, wine and even fresh flowers! The house is within walking distance of Llangorse lake and two very nice pubs.
We enjoyed the garden area including the family games available for use. As well as the spacious hot tub which really is the icing on the cake.
The whole family slept well and thought the beds were very comfortable, we only wish we had stayed longer.
Thank you Deri for making our family get together so special, we will definitely be back.

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2016
Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate it - I know the pubs do as well. We're very fortunate to have such good pubs in the village.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B
Great Amwell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Walking Holiday in Brecon”
Reviewed March 6, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Thanks for a wonderful stay at the Glass House. There were 6 of us on a walking trip, and this house was perfect accommodation. Fantastic scenery, extremely spacious, perfectly maintained, the pictures don't do it justice. I could not recommend this house highly enough.
Kitchen facilities were perfect, every bedroom was immaculate, living area and TV room ideal and the garden had stunning views and tranquil. A prefect trip - thanks soooo much.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So much space
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2016
Thank you for the very kind review. Really appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIXSTER2...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding in every way”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A superb holiday in a stunning location. Views are incredible and the accommodation was beyond expectations. The house was very well equipped with a hairdryer in every room, plenty of towels, baby gate, tea, coffee, sugar and even a very nice bottle of wine. Deri was also fantastic and took time to give my parents, me and my two young children a guided tour of the farm where the young calves and lambs were housed. The local pubs were nice, although with young children we would recommend the Red Lion (closest) as it has a games room for them to use. The hot tub was a nice extra and was very clean. One twin room was also converted into a very comfortable super king size double for us before arrival. There are lots to do close by for young and old in all weather conditions. We recommend the Dan yr Ogof Caves and Dinosaurs as something for everyone and only 30 mins away. Overall the location and accommodation was perfect for our large family holiday and we would be happy to return and recommend.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2016
Thank you so much for the great review. Really appreciated. For seeing the lambs and calves it was a great time to visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walesjoey
wales
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed February 1, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Thank you for a wonderful weekend in the GlassHouse,stunning accommodation, amply room for 8 of us,well laid out, plenty of room for all of us and lovely hot tub to relax after long walks from the doorstep with two pubs in the village that were excellent.Thank you Deri

Date of stay: January 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2016
Thank you for taking time to write the review. It's very much appreciated. I'm sure Mike at the Castle and Kate at the Red Lion are also grateful for the endorsement!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing House!”
Reviewed January 26, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautifully located with a lovely view of the hills and Llangorse Lake.

The house itself is stunning, modern and fully equipped with everything you need.

A couple of great pubs within minute of the front door and some excellent walking routes.

Really enjoyed our stay and the owner, Deri, was very quick to respond to any of our enquiries.

Looking forward to staying again!

Date of stay: January 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2016
Thank you very much for the review. You were a great group and I really appreciated you leaving the house in such good condition.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex-Vi...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Welcome retreat”
Reviewed January 25, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is located in a wonderful location, amazing views all the windows have uninterrupted views of mountains (snow cap'd during our visit).

We were 3 family's together, not overrun as plenty of space and areas for children to play, adults to read / watch TV. lovely garden, which would be nice in the summer with BBQ area and a hot tub for the parents to relax.

The house was very child friendly coming with a stair gate. The only fault would be the oven takes exceedingly long to cook anything if its quite full. Excellent facilities otherwise, very large fridge/freezer plus extra fridge storage in the main kitchen area, washer and drier and dish washer.

Well worth using as a home base to explore the Brecon area.

Date of stay: January 2016
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Scenic Views
Liked least: The oven not working at its fullest potential
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2016
Thank you for the great review. It is very much appreciated coming from such great guests. I'm very sorry about the oven. It took a while to figure out what was wrong with two trips from the engineer - essentially the hinges had been bent a little so heat was escaping during cooking. This issue is now fixed and the oven is working on full power once again. Best wishes,
Deri
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“mrs”
Reviewed January 18, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

we visited the beautiful house at the weekend for 3 families all together we all felt the size was great we didn't feel on top of each other great that there was ground floor rooms aswell...the house was well catered for all age groups use of hot tub gardens and stairs gates was fantastic well equipped kitchen and amazing views from all rooms. would highly recommend this as a place to stay and the children loved they could see chickens and sheep at the bottom of the drive too.

Date of stay: January 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2016
Thank you for the great review. Very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing