We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Travellers Rest
Ranked #17 of 44 Brecon B&B and Inns
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

On first arriving here with a group of girlfriends on a walking weekend, I was slightly concerned that the bar was no longer open (currently being renovated) and that the Traveller's Rest appeared to be more of a restaurant than an inn, but by the time we'd settled down to dinner, we knew that we didn't want to go anywhere else!! The food was amazing, so fresh and delicious without being pretentious, and Joy the owner was the perfect hostess, ensuring we had whatever we needed to make our stay comfortable. The rooms were warm and spacious with good bathrooms and our suite was lovely; I'd happily return with my family. And as for breakfast - well, what a treat, gorgeous platters of fresh fruit followed by perfectly cooked platefuls of whatever you fancied, very generous portions and no shortage of coffee refills. This place really made our weekend something special and for an amazingly reasonable price. We're all looking for an excuse to return!

Room Tip: All the rooms are large enough to share but the suite can sleep 5 at full capacity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules118_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Joy and Doug Browning have been providing wonderful hospitality here for many years. Until recently the establishment was an Inn with a bar in front, dining room in the back and rooms above. Now the Brownings are gearing down a little and the face of the Travellers (as it is now to be called) is changing.

Joy says that henceforth Travellers will be a "restuarant wih rooms".The bar has been closed and there is a new dining room overlooking the patio and fish pools. Upstairs there are three excellent rooms, well appointed and with very good baths. Each room (one is a studio with a living areas as well) has two beds, a double and a single. If you have a choice ask for the Blue Room.

The new dining room is almost a conservatory so there is lots of light, so Doug's very good cooking can be seen to advantage. Over two mights we had smoked slamon, mussels,prawns, roast pork (lots of crackling!), sea bass, skate wings--all of it very good. Portions are large and come with heaping bowls of vegetables. The only beef I have with Doug is that I find his veg to be undercooked. I know it is the rage these days, but I prefer veg to be slightly soft, not squeaking under the teeth.

So another very pleasant experience at this welcoming place. For a room each for two nights, two great cooked breakfasts, two dinners and three bottles of good wine we paid around $250 each. Very good value.

Room Tip: The Studio room has more space, but I like the Blue Room best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed the travellers rest for explore the local MTB area. Great rooms with own access, lovely breakfast. Was being renovated but looks like it being finished to a high standard. Lovely log burner.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petefreshland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We have just had a lovely evening here. Starting with drinks by the fire. The food was fantastic., beautiful melt in the mouth steak with lovely sauté potatoes. The standard here is extreme high and well worth a visit. They have still not finished the full renovation but the restaurant is beautifully done. Will be going back again that's for sure!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Sadly we can't comment on the B&B as we only visited for dinner. Our meal was sensational and the restaurant is lovely. We sat on a comfy leather couch by the log burner while we looked at the menu. We both had a large bowl of delicious mussels for starter and then probably the best fillet steaks we have ever eaten in this country - tender, tasty and cooked to perfection. Lovely vegetables to accompany. The owner was very friendly and welcoming and the service could not be faulted. If you are visiting Talybont this is definitely the place to eat - especially after the bad meal we had the night before in one of the village pubs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbp010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Thank you Joy & Doug for a fantastic meal. The roast rib of beef cooked exactly as I had asked and my Creme Brulee with fruit crunch scrumptious. All for £14.95 for 2 courses, excellent value. Looking forward to staying with you in May.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

During our travels it was recommended that we see Talybont-on-usk. Without booking and arriving late afternoon we were very fortunate to find The Belvedere B & B on Station Road where Pat made two Aussies feel very welcomed. Pat gave all options for dinner and we decided to dine at the Travellers Rest which was a short walk from The Belvedere and at 7pm in September still very light. The approach to the restuarant was promising and on opening the front door that was confirmed. We immediately felt welcomed and absolutely enjoyed the feel of being inside a very old cottage (which is why we travel to the UK). The service was great and the young lady was wonderful with her lively approach. We felt at home and decided that we would be there for a while and therefore relaxed. The food was first rate, so much so that I enquired with the owner, Joy as to who the chef was. I was pleasantly surprised to learn it was her husband with 20 years experience. I recommend the fish/Plaice and any of the desserts. After ports and irish coffees we waddled back to the B & B with the thought, that is what we want from the UK. We were not aware that the restuarant had accommodation as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozzie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
5.9 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
0.2 mi away
Usk Inn
Usk Inn
#23 of 44 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#2 of 44 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.4 mi away
YHA Brecon Beacons Danywenallt
5.5 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#5 of 44 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Travellers Rest

Property: The Travellers Rest
Address: Talybont-on-Usk, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7YP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run B&B set in beautiful Brecon Beacons alongside Brecon canal with more than usual bed and breakfast facilities ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Travellers Rest Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing