We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice way to spend New Years Eve...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roberto's Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

Roberto's Italian Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Has closed and has been replaced by Casa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice way to spend New Years Eve...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Quick and friendly service, tasty food, good varied menu. A nice place to eat. Tables slightly too close together but shouldn't stop you from enjoying a tasty dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    71
    20
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brecon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

The restaurant had changed hands some time ago and this was our first visit since then. We were a party of four booked for a birthday meal over the phone very easily. We were warmly welcomed by the new owner, Alina, and shown to our table. The restaurant was lovely and warm with well spaced tables, fresh decoration & interesting artwork on the walls. There was background music but it was not intrusive and all the diners joined in a song at one point.
An interesting range of reasonably priced wine was available and an extensive printed menu with specials on the wall which we all chose from. All the courses were delicious and in man-sized quantities so we were full by the close of play. With two bottles of wine, coffee and a Limoncello the bill came to £130 which was very reasonable for the quality, quantity & service we received.
We were all delighted with this little gem of a restaurant in a town with lots of alternatives. Thank you very much Alina and your chef for one of the best eating experiences any of us has experienced. We will return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BreconTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian in Brecon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

My first visit to Roberto's was on the recommendation of my 20 year old niece. As it was an hour's drive for us, I hoped it would be worth it. It was - in bucket loads! A wonderful, authentic Italian restaurant with an extensive menu, relaxed, cheerful service and really tasty, well cooked and plentiful food. It's very good value, too. I spend quite a bit of time each year in Italy, so I'm into good Italian food. This place is great. Visit soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieNicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west london
Level Contributor
134 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Firstly, I would have to agree with other viewers that the restaurant does not look promising from the outside. Apparently it used to be an old post office sorting office before being a tile shop and then a restaurant. However, on entering it looks lovely inside, Roberto's has changed hands recently and has a new enthusiastic owner who has redecorated recently. It was early when we ate, and therefore quite empty, But I can see how it can be very crowded if it were busy. However we both had very enjoyable meal, the starters and main courses were very good. I had the meat and fish planks and my partner had a slow cooked pork dish from the specials board. We were served by the manager, service was good and prompt. All in all a very pleasant dining experience which I have no hesitation in recommending. The only negative point is that according to our B&B owners, Roberto's is the only restaurant in Brecon to add on a 10% service charge to the bill. Although we gladly paid this, I do prefer to be given the choice

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cleocat46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little star amongst the Beacons.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Frustrated by the lack of anything more exciting than Harvester or KFC in my father-in-law's home turf of Ebbw Vale and driven by our mutual love of all things Italian - we headed north to Brecon with (based on hard worn experience) little in the way of expectations, but hope never dies! What a reward. Good food, from this century, and the friendliest of welcomes backed up by faultless service from Alina and her team. Saturday night saw a full restaurant so be sure to book. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charles e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberto's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing