We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not very well staffed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #35 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
england
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“not very well staffed”
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for a single night while visiting wales. overall the hotel was ok nothing special.
on arrival it was difficult to park up. the only parkin available required someone to wake up at 8am to pay the money on the parking meter. on arrival to the hotel, walked into the bar area, and was told to go to the hotel recepton in another room. this was not initially staffed but employee did turn up relatively quickley. the staff were friendly and very helpful.
The room was okay very tidy with TV and on suite bathroom. there were only a few channels available. The room had a few appliances that didn't work (lights + kettle in one of the rooms). it was difficult to get hold of staff at the hotel. often had to spend 25mins on the phone before anyone answered.
the location was close to all the bars in the town centre and about a 5min travel to the national park. the bar at the hotel was lively at night and was good for a drink. the bar also did food although i never tried it

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 511915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    72
    75
    41
    42
See reviews for
44
134
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2010

A beautiful Georgian building with some original features a bit dated but room was clean & comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked and arrived at our table piping hot.
Staff very friendly and helpful - only negative is the lack of guest parking, but long stay pay & display only a five minute walk away.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClemSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

From previous comments it's clear people take many things for granted. You think you won't get a bug in the most posch 5 star hotel in London ? If you do you can sue them - that's why you pay 700 a night !! Wellington Hotel is great value for money. If you want 5 star hotels and 5 star rooms, be prepared to pay 5 star rates. Why didn't you go to a 5 star B & B ? I'm a foreigner vsisting UK and Wales and I can tell you - be happy for what you get at this price !! Luckily for Wellington Hotel we aren't all snobs and can only afford quality hotels like yours (because at 40 a night, this is quality for me !!). Yeah sure, it isn't 5 star - but for my pocket ? It is 6 star !!

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Firstly, just from looking at the other reviews it seems to me that all the +ve reviews happen in peak season and all the -ve ones in the off season, maybe the Wellington has reduced house staff then??? Anyway, I'm about to buck that trend here.
In any case, we stayed 1 night in Oct 2009 and couldn't of had a much better experience. On check in we were given the keys to 3 rooms and asked to look at all before making our choice. The room overlooked the main street but didn't get too loud for us. The bathroom and bedroom were all clean though maybe the carpet is a little tatty and some unevenness in the flooring but hey, it was 40punds!!! Easily the best value of our 6 weeks in the UK, Ireland and France. We had an excellent dinner, basic food but very well cooked with quality ingredients. The staff were very very friendly, I had a 10min chat with the guys serving at the bar re Welsh and Aussie beers etc I asked for a recommendation and they offered my the chance to try a small portion of the 3 local beers they had before selecting which pint i wanted. Maybe because it was a quiet night they were able to do this but so what? they made the night thoroughly enjoyable and I ended up buying 2 pints because I liked 2 of the 3 I tried.
On return to the room I slept fine on the bed.
The only issue with this Hotel is parking. There is no Hotel guest parking and like another review said you have to run the risk of a parking fine unless you want to keep moving your car. Its prob almost worth the hotel buying 1 space per room just up the road near the church????
All in all we loved our stay in the Wellington, the staff and the food were first rate and the room was the best value of anywhere we stayed. When we return to explore the Brecon Beacons more we will def return to the Wellington.
Just as an aside, we did have 1 -ve experience, about 3 days later I realized that we had most likely left an item in the room ($250 sunglasses), but upon emailing them and asking about it we never ever got a reply. A little disappointing but doesn't detract from our stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2009

I did not have high expectations at £40 per night. We arrived at the Wellington Hotel for a two night stay (to attend a friend's wedding in the area). It's an old building, so I will forgive a few issues.
The first problem was lack of parking. Street parking was available for 30 minutes, then the car had to be moved to various public car parks nowhere particularly close or cheap. Every morning we had to be up to move the car by 8 so we didn't get a parking ticket.
The restaurant/bar area was busy and maintained relatively well. We had a room on the second floor. The door looked as if it had been kicked in at some point, and could have easily been opened if anyone wanted to. The bottom of the door was sawn off in a jagged way, leaving a big gap. The room was spacious, with views over the street area. The carpets were very old and dirty. The bathroom was dirty and had exposed holes around the sink/bathtub area (looked as if the fiberglass tub had been kicked in). A double and a single bed were in the room. The sheets were very old. The mattresses were quite old and worn. Night one - killed a spider on the pillow before attempting to sleep for the night. 3 am wake up call by the Welsh Rugby team existing a local bar singing for 30 minutes or so. Attempted to get back to sleep, however felt as if our skin was itching, thinking it was another spider. My wife awoke with a few bites around her neck, however we assumed it was from a walk earlier in the day. We attended an all day wedding, to return to night number 2 - Got into bed and noticed spots on the sheet where bugs had been killed. Attempted to sleep, however itching was getting worse. We peeled back the duvet in the morning to find bed bugs and another unidentified bug. My wife is covered in bites and looks as if she has hives. We packed up as quickly as we could and checked out. I raised our concerns to a young member of staff at reception, who said he would tell housekeeping. I am assuming it is the same housekeeping team that didn't vacuum or provide new towels, soap, or toilet paper. I have had more pleasant stays at youth hostels in my younger days. The Wellington is a dire place - do not stay there for any reason.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brecon hotels

Gwendraeth Valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Great central location. Would cost double this price in most town centres.
Room basic, but clean and comfortable.
Service good, except no daily change of towels.
Staff and Management not only friendly, but good fun.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2009

I couldn't disagree more with the previous review. We arrived at the last minute on a Sunday night, past 9PM without a reservation. The staff went out of there way to help us, and charged a very reasonable price for the room. I can only assume that the previous comments where written about the wrong hotel, because the room we stayed in was clean, quiet and comfortable. Both my wife and I want to return, when we are in the Brecon area. Thanks alot guys!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klutzhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.2 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beacons
The Beacons
#32 of 43 in Brecon
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Markets Tavern Hotel
Markets Tavern Hotel
#22 of 43 in Brecon
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#4 of 43 in Brecon
58 reviews
10.4 mi away
Castle Coaching Inn
Castle Coaching Inn
#16 of 43 in Brecon
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#2 of 43 in Brecon
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Property: The Wellington Hotel
Address: Bulwark, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're situated in a prime position in Brecon Town Square, within easy reach of the beautiful surrounding Powys countryside and Brecon Beacons National Park. You'll find plenty to do and explore locally. Why not take a leisurely walk along the canal, or maybe a trip on the Dragonfly Barge taking in the stunning scenery. If you fancy an energetic day out, pursuits such as canoeing, mountain-climbing, biking or kayaking can be arranged with Black Mountains Activities, or alternatively you could give Cradoc Golf Club a visit - an excellent club for those golfers amongst you. And of course, in August during the Brecon Jazz festival, the Wellington provide a perfect base for you to enjoy all the musical revelry. Whatever you're looking for, you will find it here in Brecon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Hotel Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing