We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
173
20
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
20
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh milkwelsh whiskylansdowne hotelbank bargreat selection for breakfastfour posterlovely lounge areastreet parkingfriendly coupleguest loungerecommending walksarrived earliersmall touchesdry roomfull english breakfastcentral locationstayed here for three nights
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 194 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

Ty Helyg Guest House is a great place to stay, good sized rooms and personal service.

Received a handy text on the morning of arrival to confirm our arrival time and also received An upgrade to a larger room which was appreciated after a long drive.

Check in: met by Christine, very helpful and cheerful. The key situation was explained well and made to feel more than welcome at their b&b.

Rooms: are a great size, beds nice and comfy plenty of space to put your clothes too and the bathroom is ok though certainly on the compact side. I myself had a room on the road side, this did quieten down at night and traffic noise does come through from around 6.30am, it’s not terribly bad if you are a light sleeper it may disturb you.

Very helpful at suggesting local places to eat, the bank was a top recommendation.

Breakfast: couldn’t ask for more ! Well looked after, great breakfast and good way to start the day.

Highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Thank you so much Dean for your really thorough review of your stay with us, we're so pleased that you had such a good stay and are grateful for all your lovely comments. We are on the main road into town and the downside of that is that through our charming old windows the traffic noise can drift through a little bit but in general for most people it's really not too much of an issue, if you come again be sure to ask for a room at the back of the house.

Thank you again and very best wishes

Christine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017

This is a truly lovely place to stay, the couple who own it are friendly, helpful with the local amenities / restaurants and just to have a chat with. The rooms are beautifully maintained, clean and comfortable, and my bed last night was 'Just Right' (to quote the 3 bears)
Breakfast can be anything you want from fruit / yoghurt and cereal to the full English (welsh) and is lovely.
I would very much like to return here again as a break rather than an overnighter for a work meeting.

Room Tip: Room 5 at the top is lovely is you're up for the stairs
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Thank you for your lovely review Tracey, it's much appreciated - love the 3 bears reference. Do come and stay again for a couple of nights - such a great area to wind down and relax.

Very best wishes

Christine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Our room was comfortable, the breakfast delicious and the house is just a very short walk into the lovely town of Brecon. Our hosts, Christine and John couldn't have been more considerate and accommodating. We'll definitely stay there again next time we visit.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Dear Gordon,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. It was real pleasure to meet you and we really look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards

Christine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

This B&B is a real gem in the heart of Brecon. Excellent, clean bedrooms in a charming building. The honesty bar is a great idea, and the lounge perfect for relaxing after a day outdoors. I have stayed at the B&B twice; once with a mate on a walking weekend, and the second time with my family. On both occasions the owners have been very accommodating and provide helpful advice for local restaurants etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

It was so lovely to see you again this week and it was lovely to meet your family when they visited too. Hopefully it won't be too long before we see you again. We love the fact that our guests can enjoy a drink from the honesty bar by the log burner in the lounge.

See you next time
Christine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

Stayed with my son for one night in a twin room. The room was well appointed and clean. It's in a good location for the town centre and restaurants are in walkable distance. The welcome was great and you felt the owners couldn't do enough for you.

Breakfast was great, good quality ingredients rather than quantity and poor quality.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Rogerstone-Newport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

We have worked hard to get the breakfast ingredients just right and are always delighted when our guests can appreciate that - we're glad you enjoyed it and your stay too. Thank you for your recommendation, it's very much appreciated.

Best wishes

Christine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews