We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage, Warm welcome”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hen Bwthyn Ficerdy

Front door of cottage and driveway.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front door of cottage and driveway.
Small and perfectly formed! Cosy sofa bed in the sitting room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Front door of cottage and driveway.
Small and perfectly formed!
Cosy sofa bed in the sitting room.
Original feature, our range will provide a cosy fire in winter months if required.
Fully equipped kitchen with ceramic hob and microwave.
Shower room.
Bedroom
View from Old Vicarage Cottage back garden.
Secluded side garden
Guests are welcome to share our garden area and patio.
garden
gardeb
summer garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wrexham, Wrexham County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
BereniceR...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely Cottage, Warm welcome”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A very nice stay at the Hen Bwthyn Ficerdy. We had a warm welcome from Christine and her husband. Hosts were very helpful. The cottage is clean, light, quiet, everything you need is in there. We will definitely go back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Thank you Karen and John for your review. Loved your two little furry friends Lexi and Poppy! Thank you for leaving the place so neat and tidy. Hope to see you again in the future. Warm regards from Christine and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rs32016
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A superb stay in a peaceful environment”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a super few days staying at Hen Bwthyn Ficerdy with our young baby. The cottage was cosy and clean and set in a peaceful location. It has everything you need for a few days away on holiday. The kitchen is compact but is well equipped and we were provided with a welcome pack of food on arrival. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Thank you for this lovely review. You were superb guests. Best wishes to you both and your dear baby son.
Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LibbyLouC...
County Durham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My husband, son & I spent 3 nights here visiting the area. The cottage was cosy and had everything we needed. The owners Christine and her husband went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay. Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review Liz. We enjoyed having you stay with us. Hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindendry...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Little Cottage near Wrexham”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This cottage was quaint but so suitable for a solo traveler or a couple. Great location to base yourself to travel around North Wales, Shropshire or Chester counties. The hosts David and Christine very lovely people who provided me with a wealth of information and even supplied some supplies for my stay. Quiet location with a rural feel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No clothes washing facilities but a lovely launderette in the local town
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2016
Hi Linden
Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you and we wish you all the best for the rest of your adventures in the UK and Europe. It would be great to see you again if you are up this way. You were a perfect guest. Best Wishes from Christine and David (and Wilf and Willow)x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig O
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not as advertised.”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We found the Old Vicarage Cottage to be well appointed and clean and we arrived to a generous welcome pack.

Unfortunately, our review reflects the fact that the amenities available were not as advertised. The Trip Advisor listing clearly states that internet access and wi-fi were available. To us, this is an essential part of our stay and important when choosing our holiday rental.

We appreciate that to many visitors, an internet connection is not necessary for their holidays however, with us visiting on business and running our own company, we do need to be able to access the internet to work whilst away.

Upon arrival the owners did explain that the walls are very thick and the signal poor but we may be able to pick it up in the bedroom. Further to this, they explained that their signal booster had been stolen by a previous guest and not replaced.

Unfortunately, we weren’t able to pick up a signal on our computer or mobile phone and as such, were unable to work as we needed to. We did explain to the owners that we needed a signal and they said that we were welcome to sit on their veranda where a signal could be picked up. Failing this, we were also invited to sit in their dining room to work should we need to. We didn’t feel comfortable with this, especially later on in the evening, and we didn’t think it appropriate to be conducting our business at their dining room table.

Our main issue is that the cottage is not as advertised, there is no reliable and easily accessible internet connection available and on this occasion, as we were visiting on business, this made our stay difficult.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of internet access
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
It is so disappointing that we have been marked down to a 3 star rating for the quality of our internet access. We were made aware that our guests were having difficulty on the second day of their stay.

We apologised for this, explaining that the access to the internet is sometimes weaker in the cottage due to the thickness of the walls, and sought to solve the problem by offering the exclusive use of our veranda where the signal is always stronger. In addition we offered private access to the internet in our dining room where they would have been able to come and go completely undisturbed through separate entrance. The guests did not complain to us about this arrangement at the time, nor did they say that they felt uncomfortable, instead we were simply told that they no longer required the use of the internet during the remainder of their 3 day stay.
Happy to say we have now solved the problem by moving the router and as of today the internet is fully available within all areas of the cottage. As we live in a rural area however we cannot always guarantee that the internet service is as fast or as strong as may be available at other locations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindaeb19...
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice cottage and friendly owners”
Reviewed May 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our stay was very good
Although as we are of an older generation we found the stairs from the kitchen to the sitting room a little awkward.
Although we would highly recommend to couples It was a bit cramped for 3 adults and a big dog

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area it was in
Liked least: The stairs leading into the sitting room.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2016
Hi Linda and Martin
Thank you for your review. Kind regards
Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis G
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab stay”
Reviewed March 3, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is a great little find, when we arrived the fire was lit and there was a bottle of wine left. Great countryside nearby for walks and plenty to do with Chester only a short car journey away!!! The owners were very welcoming and I would def recommend this to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything you need was all under one roof
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2016
Thank you for yourself very good review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing