We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nags Head

Nags Head
Ranked #8 of 248 Restaurants in Wrexham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Nag's Head in Wrexham is a traditional pub steeped in history, indeed the building itself dates back to 1661, and holds a great town centre location on Mount Street. Here at The Nag's Head you can always be sure of a friendly welcome! Our extensive pub food menu offers something for everyone, from lighter meals to your traditional pub classics, including a great Sunday roast and a great selection of specials. Come along and sample our menu with your choice of tipple from our array of wines from around the world or a carefully selected real ale. We look forward to welcoming you to the Nag's Head soon!
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

good old pub food in a very traditional old style pub. good great in the sun. toilets need TLC tho. overal good experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sain w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    57
    19
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wrong Nags Head but not complaining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I have been to this pub several times while on assignment to Wrexham. The first time I mistakenly took it for the other Nags Head which features high on the restaurant list. However I have not been disappointed. The staff are very polite, the ales are excellent and well described in their alcohol menu and the food is good by pub standards. They have good daily meal packages for food and a drink. The premises are clean. I shall continue to go to the Nags Head for the rest of the time that I am in Wrexham. I haven't been to the other Nags Head yet as it is a bit far from where I am staying.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MonyetS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“LOVELY TO HAVE THE NAGS BACK AT LAST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

It has been a pleasure and a delight to have the lovely Nags Head back as the best pub in Wrexham after Chris and Steph have taken over as the new managers. They are pleasant, helpful and very efficient as well as being incredibly hard working, leading by example to their staff. They are both always smartly dressed and you can tell who the managers are. It is noticeable how the trade has picked up with many 'old faces' returning since they took over. It is a busy and bustling pub again which is lovely to see. We have observed them having to deal with some very testing moments, in a calm and professional manner. We are most impressed!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peterburrOws2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

I visit the Nags head regularly and can I just say that since the new managers have taken over the atmosphere is wonderful and service excellent. They should be applauded for offering an environment that suits oaps, family's, couples and sports fans. The food is excellent as is the drinks range and the pub is clean and tidy. Keep up the great work guys!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank likeyourlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Management appauling!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I chose to visit the nags a few weeks back on rugby day as I have been there in the past and it has been a pleasure to watch the rugby in such a busy pub with an excited and happy atmosphere, I was waiting at the bar to be served, when I over heard a conversation with the new manager and a customer, the woman had asked for her strongbow to be changed and the young girl on the bar was more than happy to change it for her, when over came a male who I hadn't seen there previously and can only assume hes the new manager was arguing with the woman about nothing being wrong with the pint and she then asked "what happened to the customer being right?" and then this man came out with the most sexist unprofessional comment I have ever heard which was "ITS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE CUSTOMER BEING RIGHT, ITS YOU WOMEN WHO ALWAYS THINK YOUR RIGHT". I was shocked to the core and left immediately. What once was a lovely friendly local pub is now a sexist unprofessional establishment which I will not be returning to. Its such a shame that such rude arrogant people are in charge now driving regular customers away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nags Head also viewed

Wrexham, Wrexham County
Rossett, Wrexham
 

Been to Nags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing