We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent rooms and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Wrexham
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I travel to Wrexham for a week every year with work and have stayed at this hotel 3 times now. After a long drive, I have always been welcomed by very polite and friendly staff who check me in quickly.

I've never had a problem with rooms - they all seem pretty much the same. Fairly spacious, a comfortable bed and decent shower. They've always been very clean.

Breakfast is decent with a good selection of hot and cold foods. The restaurant downstairs does some really nice dishes in the evening. The bar menu is quite expensive, but the food is fine. Room service menu is not quite as good but not bad either. Only once have I had a problem with a curry I ordered (it just didn't taste right and I'd had the same curry two nights before so could quite easily compare) but the staff were very apologetic and sorted it quickly. Aside from that never had a problem.

My only real complaint is the cost for using internet - it should be free for the price of a room (especially seen as breakfast isn't included in the price).

Definitely seems to be one of the more comfortable places to stay for a visit to Wrexham. Will be staying again next November and would have no problem recommending it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McKenzieSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartMackieGM, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Wrexham, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us here at the Ramada Plaza Wrexham. It was pleasing to read that you had such good comments about a number of our facilities and apologise for food standard the second time you had the curry dish, please be assured I shall discuss your comments with my Head Chef. I trust that we will be able to welcome you back to the Ramada Plaza on your next trip to Wrexham.
Stuart Mackie
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 646 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Booked into hotel early hours of this morning as travelling, Booked as ok price £75 for a four star hotel.
On arrival porters welcomed us and checked in no problem and breakfast (at an extra cost of £8) would be until 10:30 am. Paying cash seemed to panic the staff a little also. The hotel is very clean and set out lovely. Sttrange gum like marks on floor in reception which lets it down.
Our room 127 was a lovely size with a massive tv, the bed however was so un comfortable it was like lying on bricks. I was so tired it now being 3 am I just didn't care, however my back is in agony today !!!
I had a shower in the morning ( bath mat nearly killed me as cheap thing that has no purpose apart from making the bath even more slippery) the bathroom however was very nice with all the nice little touches.
I went down for my breakfast at 10.05 to find that I had missed it and it finished at 10am.
The nice waiter advised he would make me a breakfast and I could have it in the bar.
Check out was at 11 and reception let me but bags in a safe room so I could go out and have a look around.
All in all needs a few improvements but a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hevbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartMackieGM, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Wrexham, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us here at the Ramada Plaza. I was overall pleased to read your feedback although overall we have received only positive comments regarding the Hotel beds. I was pleased to read that our staff accommodated your breakfast needs and dealt with this efficiently. With regards to your comments about the 'strange gum marks' on the reception floor this is a natural pigment which comes out of this Welsh slate and is natural in its appearance. There is a large slate plaque next to the front door which explains this appearance. I do thank you for your feedback and trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again sometime in the future.
Stuart Mackie
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Room was fine for business, good light and workspace. Shower great. Bed reasonably comfortable but very squeaky and the bed springs close to the surface in places.
Service in restaurant was mostly efficient but no smoked salmon for breakfast on first or second day, they claimed they were waiting for a delivery the first day and the second but it didn't appear until day 3. Also don't rely on an early morning call from reception, mine was 30 mins late. Use the TV instead.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Realfoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartMackieGM, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Wrexham, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us here at the Ramada Plaza. I shall be speaking to my Head Chef to ensure that all food stock that we advertise is in stock in the future and I apologise that your early morning call was very late. I trust this will not deter you from retuning to the Ramada Plaza again in the future.
Stuart Mackie
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a lovely hotel, everything sparkling clean, the rooms a good size, well equip with everything you need, nice bathroom with bath and shower, fridge, hairdryer there is even an ice bucket and u can fill up with ice on the 2nd floor. We only had breakfast in the hotel, very good selection hot and continental. The staff were helpful and cheerful. There is a gym and spa but we didn't try these out - maybe next time. Also, its only 20min drive from Cheshire oaks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitKatMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartMackieGM, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Wrexham, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us here at the Ramada Plaza. I has pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular so many aspects of the Hotels facilities and offerings. I trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the near future.
Stuart Mackie
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
StuartMackieGM, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Wrexham, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We held a seminar at the Ramada Plaza - the room was laid out just the way we wanted and looked great.
Staff were polite, courteous and attentive - ensuring we were well looked after.
Would definitely use them again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartMackieGM, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Wrexham, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your seminar which you held at the Ramada Plaza. I was pleased that you found the conference room to your satisfaction and that the staff were helpful. I trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Ramada Plaza sometime in the near future for another seminar.
Stuart Mackie
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Good sized room, excellent facilities within the room, shame the restaurant food was disappointing. We were upgraded to an executive room, lovely decor, robes, slippers etc well recommended. Good location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartMackieGM, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Wrexham, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us here at the Ramada Plaza. Overall it was a pleasing review although we have noted your comments regarding the food and I shall be discussing your comments with my Head Chef although overall the feedback regarding the Restaurant recently has been positive. I trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Ramada Plaza sometime in the near future.
Stuart Mackie
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wrexham hotels
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Wrexham
Travelodge Wrexham
#5 of 10 in Wrexham
191 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lemon Tree Restaurant with Rooms
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham North (A483) Hotel
5.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South
4 mi away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Wrexham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Wrexham

Address: Ellice Way, Wrexham LL13 7YH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Wrexham
Price Range: $82 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Wrexham 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada Plaza Wrexham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Wrexham Hotel Wrexham
Ramada Wrexham
Wrexham Ramada
Ramada Plaza Wrexham Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing