We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Weekend Away”
Review of Grove Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grove Guest House
Ranked #2 of 14 Wrexham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Weekend Away”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Don't have too much time spare at the moment, but thought i would quickly chip in with my gf and I's opinion on the Grove Guest House. I am originally from Wrexham, and i've spent most of my life there, so when returning for a wedding/occasion we usually book a hotel room and make a weekend of it.
Previously we have stayed at other hotels in the area, and last weekend was our first time at the Grove Guest House.

STAFF: very friendly and welcoming, great with explaining everything for our stay, helping us get our WIFI set up, details about dinner etc. Diner staff were very accomodating and helpful also. One thing i wished i had taken advantage of was the fact that staying at this hotel entitles you to 20% off at some of the restaurants in town (Nandos, Frankies and Bennies etc, check with staff for exact details)... We had a great meal on Saturday night there and completely forgot to present our key to get the 20%! So if you stay here, make sure you remember

ROOMS & FACILITIES: we booked relatively late so we were luckily booked into a three bed large family room. This was great, bed was very comfy, normal mod-cons etc like TV, tea making facilities etc. Decor was nice and rustic, nothing out of the ordinary but for the price was superb. Fantastic brand new bathrooms. There is no lounge area, and the rooms are spread across 2 complexes i believe, but its very easy to find your way about. Also, the dining room was terrific in the morning when the sun actually came out for once :)
WIFI is very easy to set up, fast and reliable

FOOD: a full english cooked breakfast was included in the cost of our room, this was very tasty indeed. Nice ingredients, no cheap brands etc, and was nice and hot when served. Staff very accomodating for toast/tea etc also, and breakfasts can be made to order if you dont like one of the foods. Normal breakfast serving time is till 8.30, after which its cereal/toast etc, so you have to get up early for the cooked breakfast. This is made very clear to you both in the pack in your room and when welcomed by staff, so no complaints there

Overall, my girlfriend and I had a stress-free time staying here, everything was top notch and the establishment seem very commited to improving their services and facilities (as evidenced by all the reviews on this site). I would not hesitate to stay here again, and the location is great (10mins walk to town). Highly recommended!

Cheers,

Dewi & Amra

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dewijones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groveggh36, Manager at Grove Guest House, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review it will help to fill in the gaps that we may have left out on our web site, but most of all we are pleased that you took the time to write and seemed happy with your stay.

Kindest regards
The Team at Grove Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    35
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
35
35
26
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at The Grove for one night in a twin room with breakfast. Room (No 5 ) was adequate for our purpose and breakfast in morning was of a good quality. The price paid was good value for what we received and the staff were very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JangoSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stay here once a year for a Wrexham event and have always found it fine. No frills, but comfortable rooms and a decent breakfast. On my last stay there was briefly confusion as to whether I'd paid for breakfast or not, but soon resolved, so no problem. Recent extension to dining room has cut out the queues / congestion at breakfast time. All in all,I'd thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Some may find 1st floor rooms a little small - worth asking for ground floor room if you need more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhys J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This accommodation is very well organised and professionally run. This is without cost to a personal touch. The owners and staff were welcoming and lovely people. The room was very clean and breakfast was excellent. The price was very reasonable and we would certainly recommend the Grove to friends, particularly mountain bikers. It's a stones throw from Llandeglla and there is secure bike storage for piece of mind.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I booked into this B&B through the late rooms website and payed £43 for one night. It was a business trip. The place is almost new and very clean, no problems there; but there were some concerns. For starters, the room was TINY (single, ensuite) and to give you an example, the coffee table where I pretended to put my laptop in, would not fit it!. There was no soap or shampoo in the bathroom either, although it was spotlessly clean. Main problem was that the velux window in the roof (I stayed in the 2nd floor) was partially opened and IT WOULDNT CLOSE; It was late when i came from the pub recommended to me by the landlord (which I also have written an unfavourable review of it here) and there was nobody around, so I had to pack the towels in the gaps so it wasn't too cold. Early in the morning, I got wake up by other guests as my room was by the stairs and you could hear them up and down the wooden staircase. Breakfast was ok. Another downside is that you have to checkout by 10.30am, which is rather early really. Will not stay again.

Room Tip: avoid rooms by the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mistermeandmyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groveggh36, Manager at Grove Guest House, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
We are sorry that you do not plan to stay again but would like to thank you for your review and offer a response to some of the points made.

The room is advertised as a small single room and offered at a lower price than our standard single rooms. I think for the purposes of the advertising on the market players like Late Rooms we may consider the removal of our smaller rooms from sale all together. Although we have many customers who are very happy in a smaller room with a smaller price it still has an en-suite, kettle, Tea and Coffee and a TV and of course the price includes a cooked breakfast.

Toiletries are offered at check in and they are on view in Reception and are free... This offer is also mentioned in our room Welcome detail and you and fellow guests are more than welcome to these products.

We believe there is a lot of waste when left in guest rooms as most of our guests do not expect toiletries and very often bring their own.

All of our Velux windows are in working order and do close; I think that perhaps you were not shown how to operate as we do so with many check-ins. We will make sure ALL guest are shown how to operate the Velux window in future.

We agree that the stairs can present some foot traffic and it may be best to carpet them or provide wide nosings. We will put this in the melting pot for consideration.

Kindest Regards
Grove Guest House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The GGH set-up is more like a small hotel than a B&B, in that the buildings are spacious and you don't feel as though you're always being watched or that you're imposing on the owners. I stayed in a double room (No 4) on the ground floor of the main building which was larger, more spacious and better appointed than those in the main hotels in Wrexham, which I have stayed in previously. It was good value for money and I had single occupancy of a double room as it was only £5 more than the single room rate. It was still cheaper than the rates charged by the local hotels. The cooked English breakfast on Sunday morning was adequate, rather than good, and it took longer to arrive than expected, even though the dining room was less than half full, However, overall, it was a pleasant stay and I intend to stay there again when I next visit Wrexham.

Room Tip: No 4 was on the ground floor and side of the main building. The view is of a wall and the roof of n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salsa868, Manager at Grove Guest House, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your review and pleased you found it to be value for money.
In our opinion we are a hybrid of between a Guest House and a Hotel in style..

We cannot be a Hotel according to the assessors because we do not have a bar area or offer room services.

Again we have noted the wait time for breakfast and as per another review have now picked this comment up for discussion to improve.

The Team at Grove Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Not sure how The Grove Guest House gets its 4 star rating. Most definitely in the 3 star category. The rooms are large with clean en suite, but breakfast was disappointing, my daughter waited for over half an hour for her meal. How long can it take to cook a sausage, one slice of bacon and an egg.

On the plus side, location is good and parking is not a problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salsa868, Manager at Grove Guest House, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we will certainly look at the waiting time for breakfast. We do cook everything fresh to order and time will be impacted by the order type at any given time as we have one cook and usually at least one waitress.

However on the management side we do have a relatively new team who have already improved their speed and we will have a team update on progress.

We have considered going back to pre-cooking and leaving for self serve as is done at many places already.

On balance we think our customer will bear with us to prepare fresh and have a little wait albeit we need to improve on this wait time

Thank you for your comments and we will monitor
The Team at Grove Guest House



Thank you for your comments

The team at Grove Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wrexham hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
#3 of 10 in Wrexham
594 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Wrexham
Travelodge Wrexham
#5 of 10 in Wrexham
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lemon Tree Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South
3.1 mi away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
380 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rossett Hall Hotel
Rossett Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rossett
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Guest House

Property: Grove Guest House
Address: 36 Chester Road, Wrexham LL11 2SD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Wrexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star private and established accommodation provider located only 5 minute walk to Wrexham Town Centre. Grove Guest House is a charming 1930's Dormer Bungalow set in a leafy and very desirable residential area of Wrexham Town. Our Hotel style service is managed to high standard. Our single, Twin, Double, (QUEEN size) and Triple rooms are en-suite and have been re-furbished tastefully along with a re-furbished Dining Room, newly built conservatory to relax and drink your coffee and a garden area with seating in the sunny times. Local attractions and services,Our Food Hygiene rating has been awarded at the top grade of 5. Our LARGE Car Park is offered free of charge with very easy access. FREE wi-fi. Only a short walk to Yale College, Glyndwr University, Wrexham General Railway station and Bus Station. A short car ride to Llangollen, (home to the Eisteddfod) and the historic walled City of Chester are located only a short car ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grove Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Guest House Wrexham, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing