We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”

Pontcysyllte Aqueduct
Book In Advance
More Info
$701.15*
and up
Private Llangollen and the River Dee Day Trip including Pontcysyllte Aqueduct
More Info
$701.15*
and up
Dee Valley Private Day Trip from Caernarfon with Hotel Transport
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Wrexham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I have wanted to see this for many years and was not disappointed. We (including the dog) took Jones The Boat across the aqueduct. You can't get a better experience than this for a fiver! The only downside was that some passengers hogged the limited outside area of the narrowboat which meant other people couldn't get outside for the view. Afterwards we walked across and back. An amazing feat of engineering.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TerriWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    843
    241
    25
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Worth the walk along the canal path from Llangollen - an incredible experience, walking along the side of this frankly surreal structure. Can't wait to visit again, but next time on a canal boat. Loved the fact that it's really exposed to the elements - just a narrow path and that huge gaping valley below you.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jax T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

To walk across an aquaduct was fantastic, with a beautiful view of surrounding area, just to its side is a viaduct so a picture of a barge and a train going across the valley was special.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BruceBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A tranquil delight”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Since I was a little girl, I have always enjoyed walking along the pobtcysylite aqueduct. Definitely a great family day out

Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Horse drawn boat trip”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We took a horse drawn boat trip on the Llangollen Canal. Unfortunately we didn't cross the aqueduct but had a very pleasant 45 minute sedate round trip. The large horses pull the barge with ease and are clearly well looked after and the seven horses are rotated regularly to spread the workload. It is one of those trips you are pleased you have done. We saw numerous people walking on the towpath and I would think that it could be a very pleasant walk on a nice day. We were so impressed with Llangollen, its attractions and restaurants, that we have made a note to spend a few days there sometime in the future.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pontcysyllte Aqueduct also viewed

Wrexham, Wrexham County
 
Llangollen, Denbighshire
Chirk, Wrexham County
 

Been to Pontcysyllte Aqueduct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing