We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pluses outweigh the minuses” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trevor Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trevor Arms
Ranked #6 of 15 Wrexham B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pluses outweigh the minuses”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

13 aug 2012
Apart from needing an urgent update to the annex (bathroom in particular) and the rubbish and weeds outside the room window the pluses outweighed these points. The beds were comfortable; the room spacious, it was quiet and the TV reception was good. My compliments to the chef on the great food.
My stay was to cover my husband’s hospital admission that went pear shaped and took longer than planned. Clive was very helpful with the problems this caused as were the staff. Due to my extended stay I had to vacate the room as it was already booked for the Saturday night. I moved to another hotel a few miles away and unfortunately had a fall there. The following day my arm ended up in plaster which complicated matters for me as I was unable to drive. However, with help, I then returned to The Trevor Arms where Clive kindly held the room (I had previously been in) for another week should I need it. I felt at home at The Trevor Arms during a very difficult period. My thanks to Clive and all the staff for being so friendly and helpful. We would visit again but for different reasons!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    8
    7
    13
See reviews for
12
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at the Trevor Arms for 1 night last week I really wish we had looked at the room before paying, although the bedding was clean the bed was terrible to sleep in my wife and I kept rolling together in the middle and it was very springy, the blind in the rooflight was broken there was no plug in the bath, the shower was only a dribble and I ended running the hot tap trying to get the hot water which took ages but when we did get it it was very hot, the Pelmet was falling off one end of the rail at the window and the TV was an old one with a Freeview box attached.

On a positive note the evening meal and breakfast we had in the restaurant were very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarpAngler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wrexham hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed 1 night as we had a wedding to attend just down the road. The staff were very friendly and helpful providing us with taxi numbers and letting us check into our room early.
The rooms do require an update but the room was very clean and the bed comfortable. For £48 for the room you can not complain

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dpg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

A bit shabby!bathroom was like something out of george and mildred lol

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxo cube 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed for one night on our way to visit friends. The room was better equipped with chairs tables TV, bedside tables etc than either a Travelodge or a premier inn. The beds were comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was a little tired and needed decorating.. Coffee and tea making facilities good. We did not have a meal in the restaurant although the menu seemed quite reasonably priced.. The location of the hotel was ideal for visiting Chester or Wrexham and parking facilities good. The rooms are separate from the hotel more like a motel . Although fully booked we were not disturbed by noise or traffic noise. Will use this hotel whenever we visit the area again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

After needing a room at short notice and with travelodge and premier inn and the like being booked up, we decided to stay here, well I would of rather of slept in my car
The room was tired and dated there carpet looked like it had been there for years on end, there was cobwebs all over the place and coffee spillage stains all down the built in cupboard and bedside drawers. and upon opening one of the drawers there was mouse droppings all inside it!! The television was constantly losing signal and was a very tiny tv so could hardly see it from the bed! Talking of the bed it would of been comfier sleeping on a bed of nails!
The bathroom was dirty and mouldy, the bath panel was hanging off the bath and the toilet seat was dirty as well, shower screen was full of mould and mildew at the bottom and quite obviously hadnt been cleaned properly for quite some time
The staff werent all that friendly when we arrived basically taking my payment for the room and tryed to explain where the room was, never being here before actually taking us outside and showing us would of been better!
We didnt eat or drink at the pub so cannot comment on the food
Certainly wont be staying here again

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nortyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOLTON
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

As another reviewer has more or less said, the quaint, friendly pub where you check in (a former coaching inn) raises hope that are quickly dashed as soon as you get to your room.

Basically, the accommodation is in two annexes built or converted in the 1980s, which have apparently not been touched since. Our room had a shabby carpet, patched with gaffer tape, and equally tired-looking furniture. The bathroom, complete with feebly dribbling Mira shower and basin plug with snapped chain, presented a similarly jaded appearance.

Breakfast was OK - one sausage, one bacon rasher, one egg, etc - you get the picture. However, like (I suspect) the majority of people on a weekend away, I personally would have preferred proper coffee in the morning, rather Nescafe sachets and a hot-water geyser, and a choice of juices would have been nice.

At £59 per night including breakfast, this was not expensive, but then neither is your local Travelodge, which is at least normally less delapidated.

In short, come here for a cheap stay, but don't expect country-inn ambience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedRoseRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrexham
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham North (A483) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Rossett Hall Hotel
Rossett Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
#3 of 10 in Wrexham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevor Arms

Property: Trevor Arms
Address: Marford Hill, Wrexham LL12 8TA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Wrexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished in the summer of 2014, the Trevor Arms is a delightful 16th-century pub, a focal point within the village of Marford on the North Welsh Borders equidistant between Chester and Wrexham. Marford is a very attractive area in a picturesque and peaceful setting, covering some 750 acres, where the hills of North Wales meet the vast plains of Cheshire. Distant landmarks that can be seen clearly from Marford include Eaton Hall, Chester Town Hall and Cathedral. Beyond that on the low broad plain, the Peckforton hills form the skyline with the outcrop of rock at Beeston crowned with its castle. The hotel backs on to a site of special scientific interest, Marford Quarry, and is an ideal start point for outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Trevor Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevor Arms Wrexham, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing