We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but had better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sleepy Panda

The Sleepy Panda
Ranked #32 of 244 Restaurants in Wrexham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shropshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good but had better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Good food, in contrast to other reviews, I didn't find it that expensive. Had better food at other Chinese restaurants but this did fine and is only 15 mins drive for us. The decor is a bit 1970's Chinese style and could do with an overhaul, but I'd recommend the place for a meal - we'd go back so perhaps that is the best indicator.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lwshrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    45
    30
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice but overpriced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Exceptional good but....so expensive. Great for a treat once in a while. Set menus are best value. Staff are promt if not a little too speedy.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LewisEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Food, service, surroundings, very good . Food exeptionally good quality have never had a bad meal there

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Overrated, pricey slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Been many times with family, dining in and take-away ... food is ok, but compltely overrated and stupidly pricy !
Staff are nice enough and service has always been ok; however, I am definitely on the look out for a nicer chinese place for slightly less ££!
My sister is from Wrexham and always raved about this place, so it's always her chosen place - but gotta say, last couple of times... just so/so.
We bought a take away (2 people) and had appetizer platter for 2, duck pancakes for 2 and a chinese between us ... cost us around £50 ! which is just ridiculous, I know many more places where I can spend that and get amazing food.
Also, previously, there are several instances where we have found hair in our food - this is just a biggie for me as it really makes me feel sick - so never been since then !

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FLICKSTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average food teamed with rude staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Went with my boyfriend, found that staff who led you to the table were very dismissive and unwelcoming, table staff (bar one helpful young man) were equally rude. The food we ordered was essentially slapped before us without a word. The food itself was of low to average quality, and was not entirely as described; for instance I ordered the pineapple rice (it was stated on the menu that it contained meat, but did not specify which, and I was surprised to find an array of seafood contained within it also.) Unpleasantly loud atmosphere. When our drinks ran out, the staff did not come to us, so we had to stop a passing member, placed our order for drinks, which never turned up--until another member of staff asked us (after at least half an hour) if we wanted drinks. The staff CANNOT wait to get you out again, with staff hovering over tables, and taking plates the second you were done. Additionally, when we asked for soup, the staff tried to persuade us to have it to "takeaway," which was unpleasant. Payment was disappointing, with my boyfriend and I having to search for a staff member to pay by card (after specifically telling a staff member we were paying by visa, we were presented with a bowl to pay into only!!) Fairly overpriced.
Thoroughly disappointing. Get a takeaway instead! :)
P.S, you know you've outstayed your welcome when they turn on the air conditioning when it's already cold inside.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sleepy Panda also viewed

Wrexham, Wrexham County
Wrexham, Wrexham County
 
Wrexham, Wrexham County
Wrexham, Wrexham County
 

Been to The Sleepy Panda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing