We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, shame about the service”
Review of YHA Snowdon Ranger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Snowdon Ranger
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, shame about the service”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here the night before climbing Snowdon as part of the Welsh 3 peaks challenge.The location is great for the ranger path. The showers were a lovely treat when we got there- powerful and warm, great after a long day walking. It was far too warm to sleep (a lack of windows to open) and very noisy early in the morning (it would have been impossible to sleep in past 5.45!). The cooked breakfast portions were pitiful but there was a great selection of fruit, teas and some cereal choices.

Pretty poor, even for a hostel, and the staff didn't even greet you with a smile!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowdonmanager, Manager at YHA Snowdon Ranger, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that as we were fully booked you were probably in one of the rooms most in need of refurbishment. Please get in touch and next time you book we will try to place you in another room.
I will tell the staff to smile more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    42
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
29
14
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

It needs upgrading, it was cold and draughty. Noisy was awoke at 05.20 each morning by other hostellers. Food for cooked breakfast was rationed and for £4.99 we could have gone to morrisons in Caernarfon and had better for £3.00.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgb1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowdonmanager, Manager at YHA Snowdon Ranger, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. The building is overdue for refurbishment and hopefully the YHA will be able to do this at some stage in the future.
The cooked breakfast is good value as it includes 7 hot items as well as toast, cereals, yoghurts, pastries, fruit juice,hot drinks etc. There is usually no problem with having seconds and I will make sure the staff are briefed on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

hard to argue with a private room for 4 people at £15 each (shared toilet and bathroom) breakfast for a fiver and even a 2 course evening meal for a tenner.

bear in mind this is a youth hostel, don't expect too much and you wont be disappointed. this is after all about the location, with a fabulous 3hr sparsely populated trek to the top of Snowdon commencing more or less from the front door. the lovely village of Bedgellert is also just a couple of miles down the road with a great selection of pubs cafes and craft shops.

yes, this YHA is in need of a refurb and the staff do have an air of amateurishness about their manner but in a funny way this lends itself to the experience. go with the flow and you'll be fine, everybody is trying to do the right thing and by and large they succeed.

there is a reasonably priced bar (wine by the bottle - £9),that they games room, lounge and kitchen area as well as drying room for clothes if you get caught in the lovely traditional Welsh weather

the only serious thing i would suggest is that they should change their policy of charging for wireless internet access. there is no telephone signal in the area and £5 for 24hrs seems mean minded and more akin to RyanAir than YHA which is a national treasure. Cmon powers that be, sort it out...

Room Tip: dont worry abouit it, these are bunk rooms, one step up from camping. be glad of the hot water, clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VolcanicFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowdonmanager, Manager at YHA Snowdon Ranger, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for your review. We're glad you had a good stay. We would love to offer free Wi-Fi and I think the powers that be are considering this. Hopefully some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is in a very convenient location for Snowdonia. The staff were very friendly and helpful but the hostel is clearly due for a refurbishment. Some rooms are OK but some a far too crowded. The lounge is a dismal room. The dining room is cheerful but the chairs are ridiculous! The hostle was fairly full and it was impossible to move around the tables. The meals were OK but I have had much better in other hostels.

Room Tip: Come when the hostel is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alders13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here on Easter weekend in a shared dorm. Beds were comfy, duvets were very warm. The hostel was clean and warm. There is parking on the side of the road but it is a little limited. We managed to get a space when we needed one though. We didn't purchase any meals at the hostel but did make use of the kitchen. There's also a dining room and small lounge available to use.
Due to the weather, we were unable to go up Snowdon but the hostel had a book of other walks in the area (copies can be requested at reception). We enjoyed the Aberglaslyn Gorge one which started in Beddgelert.
Having not stayed in a hostel for a long time, I was pleased with the Snowdon Ranger and would consider staying there again. Just a tip - bring earplugs - sound in the corridors really travels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcburton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddleworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Snowy weekend added to the excitement & challenge of the walking, as expected. Some may describe Snowdon Ranger as an old style hostel, but it is just what you want for a walking trip. Staff very friendly and helpful, we saw them out on the snowy hills as well. Hostel was warm (perhaps too warm), breakfast was good. Good self catering kitchen as well. Effective drying room was definitely needed. Our room for 4 (which was actually 2 rooms) was decent size, with en-suite toliet & good shower. Enjoyed sitting in the hostel lounge with a brew after returning from the walks. Good hostel, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 1A for 4 people consisted of 2 rooms with separate toliet and shower inbetween. Well worth book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hostel was very clean and everything worked. The man who ran hostel was awful, really bad with people and I couldn't see why he was doing that job. The other member of staff was female and she was really nice. We had a great stay for 3 nights, saw an amazing side to Snowdan, awesome! Would go again but not to that hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSf1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyd Ddu
3.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
5.1 mi away
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
#2 of 21 in Caernarfon
200 reviews
2.9 mi away
YHA Snowdon Llanberis
YHA Snowdon Llanberis
#1 of 5 in Llanberis
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
YHA Snowdon Bryn Gwynant
YHA Snowdon Bryn Gwynant
#11 of 21 in Caernarfon
85 reviews
6.2 mi away
YHA Idwal Cottage
YHA Idwal Cottage
#2 of 4 in Bethesda
66 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sygun Fawr Country House
Sygun Fawr Country House
#1 of 11 in Beddgelert
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Snowdon Ranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Snowdon Ranger

Property: YHA Snowdon Ranger
Address: Rhyd Ddu, Snowdonia National Park LL54 7YS, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rhyd Ddu
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Rhyd Ddu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Snowdon Ranger 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your YHA Snowdon Ranger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Snowdon Ranger Rhyd Ddu, Snowdonia National Park, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing