We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best pub in Snowdonia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cwellyn Arms

Cwellyn Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Rhyd Ddu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably the best pub in Snowdonia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We visited the Cwellyn Arms twice on our recent walking holiday and it was undoubtedly the best pub we found during our holiday. The staff were friendly and we were made to feel very welcome, as was our dog who curled up in front of the lovely log fire. There was a great choice of real ales, nine in all, and the fact that food is served all day meant we could still get lunch despite arriving around 3p.m, We returned for dinner the next day and the evening meal was superb - restaurant quality at pub prices. The desserts are to die for. Will certainly return

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarneyC51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    86
    34
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kazuno, Japan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good pub food with local ales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went twice for dinner as we were staying in Betws Inn up the road.

Good food and local ales with relatively quick serviced. Can feel slightly crammed and info on their screen as you walk in looks a bit old and can be annoying while on the slide show.

Eton mess was a bit too sweet for my liking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Y0Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful pub and wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed in a cottage in this lovely village from the 10th to the 17th of May 2014 and spent a few evenings in The Cwellyn Arms. What a wonderful place and location.The owners and staff are wonderful and go out of their way to fit you in for dinner,which the food is so very good.It is what it is,a place with food out of this world and where you can just sit and chat with other people with no music or TV to spoil it.Hopefully we will be back.Annette & Chris Plymouth.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteInce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Ate on the Friday and Saturday, and also visited on Saturday afternoon. Appriciated being asked what we'd like to eat when we arrived early on the Saturday evening, to make sure we didn't miss out. First class pub/restaurant!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank swan_notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“wet weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have just come back from a wet weekend in Wales. The Weather didn't matter the pub was warm and welcoming. The food was excellent and the staff helpful and friendly as was the owner.. The campsite is first rate with five star toilet blocks. Looking forward to going back soon

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cwellyn Arms also viewed

Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
 
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Cwellyn Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing