We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter 2012 Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 1 Rhyd Ddu B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I stayed with my partner, plus my sister and her husband for three days over Easter. We had the two double rooms with shared bathroom and shower. The B&B looks simple and cosy but it is the welcome and 'home from home' experience that makes this place five star! My only complaint is that I put on an extra few pounds with the lovely breakfasts and packed lunches (Magic Flapjaks that just dissapear).

Rhydd Ddu is the quiter side of Snowdon and out of the way of the usual tourist traffic. The routes up Snowden start over the road and no further driving was required over the weekend (we ate dinner in the pub down the road), we were straight on the hills each time.

We loved it! and will be back xx

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Te51WEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 105 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Ty Mawr - excellent from start to finish! There is nothing not to like about this little Welsh B&B. The location couldn't be better for walking, our room had everything we needed and the food was great in the B&B and the local pub. See you soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshSmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Emma and Menno quickly became good friends as we entered Wales. We are able to stay 2 nights and enjoyed the inn, the peacefulness and delicious porridge. Emma and Menno provided great directions to locations we were headed. We will most certainly stay there again!
David and Cindy
USA

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cantwell61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed at Ty Mawr for two nights over easter and had a great time in Snowdonia. We (Myself, my Wife & two teenage children) booked the small but very comfortable double bedrooms which shared a bathroom/shower. Rooms were very clean & comfortable with WiFi access. There is also a larger Double ensuite at the front of the B&B. The breakfasts (including Menno's Dutch Pancakes) were excellent. The tea room is lovely with a real fire/stove. Emma & Menno were very helpful & knowlegable about the area & walks etc. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alraygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Ty Mawr was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there many times before, and we were certainly not disappointed.

The owners, Emma and Menno, are welcoming, friendly, helpful and so accommodating, but never intrusive. The tea room is lovely - great food and cakes during the day ance a nice place to chill out in the evenings. The breakfast is absolutely amazing, whether you have a full Welsh breakfast or superb dutch pancakes.

Our bedroom was as good as they get, spotlessly clean, spacious, comfortable and it even has a view of the mountain (if the weather permits). There's a TV and wifi for when you don't want to venture outside.

Another huge selling point is the location. If you want to experience the best of Snowdon, and keep away from the crowds of walkers going up from Llanberis then Rhyd Ddu is absolutely perfect. Ten minutes walk and you are surrounded by fantastic scenery, and a few more hours and you can be on top of Wales' tallest mountain. There are several different routes accessible from Rhyd Ddu to cater for anything from families with small children to those who want a bit more of a challenge. Emma and Menno are very knowledgable about each of the routes and I'm sure will be quite happy to help you decide where to walk if you are unsure.

We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QPQP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We arrived late Friday night around 22:30 No cell phone or sat nav reception available. Menno was still up to welcome us to this charming B&B about as close to mount Snowdon as you can get on the south side. Very comfy room with sat tv wifi and and we had the room which shared bathroom with adjacent room. Bath and shower with hot water at all times (me and my son used it at several different times). Breakfast was from 8-9 am in the tea room a very cozy room with walking and hiking books to browse and maps to scan. Good choice and flexibility of menu my son was very keen on the Dutch pancakes which were huge and I had full English both days. Quality of food, friendly service and location I would rate as superior for any b&b. Emma and Menno add an extra dimension and really go out d their way to welcome each guest - even drying our wet clothes (welsh rain is harder to dry) and boots. Menno's knowledge of all the local trails and scrambling areas is very comprehensive we will definitely be going back to test some of his recommendations.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thorborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Everywhere was clean and tidy - including frontage which is a shop window for the tea room. Tastefully modernised with 3 star decor, furnishings and furniture.

Friendly helpful encouraging couple born to run a B&B. We stayed for 7 nights, having booked by cheque which took a couple of days although paid the balance by card on departure, so maybe card deposit would provide quicker certainty in the presumably relatively rare event of such last minute bookings. Nothing mentioned about cancellation policy, although on website. We rang the bell and were quickly taken to our room and given the keys to the room and front door. You pay your bill at the till just inside the kitchen and there is no separate registration area. On leaving the landlady tried to help me struggle with an expedition bag until I talked her out of the task and the landlord caught me on the way to the car with one last item I overlooked in the room. Although not normally expected for a B&B, greetings by name, offering assistance with luggage and refreshments on arrival would take it closer to five star standard. On departure a more expensive guest house might have a formalised bill waiting and pre-emptively suggest directions. A guest information pack might add value, eg with details of local pub grub which guests would have to find on dark wet winding roads while finding their bearings.

There was a selection of continental and proudly presented fresh cooked breakfasts to power you up mountain. Breakfast 8-9 but no rush necessarily if tea room not busy. Can recommend the Full One or banana pancake. Prompt clearing, being able to choose on the spot and hot drink offer and toast is 4 star quality. Didn't try packed lunch but the tea room which doubles as the dining room has received a good review in a local paper and the pub next door has a log fire and wide menu for dinner. Little treats appeared on tray daily. We chose a bench as "our" breakfast spot and although had the pull the table to us this seemed OK. Eggs would doubtless be cooked to order but not asked. Mars bars are for sale at 50p.

Room has extra bit which takes a couple of massive cases out the way, and bed has access both sides. Good height ceiling and could open cupboard doors without banging each other. I'm someone who likes their own bed so the mattress was a bit soft or thin to take the weight of my aching bones although the bed was well presented. Bedclothes changed after couple of days, always made smart. Duvet had cover and sheet although could have been a few inches longer to snuggle round a six footish frame's toes. Two pillows and a cushion each. Not sure how often bed would normally be made as we left it hidden under our junk some days. Wardrobe, dresser, chair and bedside drawers plenty, plus hooks. Biggest room is ensuite at front but usually no traffic 10pm-6am. Other two rooms at back share bathroom and may hear babbling brook at rear. Walls two foot thick slate and double glazed so snug if you want it. Windows tilt inwards either vertically (can leave ajar although no stay to lock it to your position) or horizontally (all or nothing). Bit of guest traffic on landing to listen to around 8am and 10pm as they parade in and out of bathroom and arrive back at night. Bedside lamps and alarm clock. Heating came on 7am and was fine for autumn. Thermostat by headboard. Seemed to be 24h hot water. Kettle on tray. Could do with more hangers to make most of wardrobe although we had so much stuff we lived out of cases anyway. Glasses were sparkling. Bin. Hairdryer. Fridge, which would be great for chilling water bottles in summer. With today's gadgets an extra four gang adapter might be worthwhile behind the TV and under the dresser. Basic channels on Sky. Blackout liners are the only improvement I can think of. Flowers and fruit in the room would increase the price but maybe the former not so suited to a mountain base camp.

Ensuite had heated towel rail, enough good towels and clean soap dispenser. Shaver light. Extractor fan didn't seem to be working in a room with no window. Shelf would be handy to expand on sink space. Ensuite has room for two. WC refills quickly. Although the other two rooms share a bathroom it is right next door so no padding through rooms or corridors. The ensuite had all the expected facilities. Probably like most houses, without special valves and pumps the shower has to share the pressure with other water users in the morning rush.

You can dry clothes by log burner in slate inglenook in dining room. The layout allows you to come and go without bothering the owners but equally to stick your head in the dining room to catch them in the kitchen where they are usually on hand for an update or mountain gossip. Not sure how we would have got hold of them out of hours with no signal, although their accommodation is through the kitchen so probably would have got them easily enough. There is a guest phone on the landing but I don't remember seeing call charge details. There might be a case for a card displayed about phone charges and summoning owners out of hours for newly arrived guests. We seemed welcome to come and go with our key, eg we underestimated the rain one day and had to change when we got off the Highland Railway which is a minute up the road. Parking is outside if you don't need to open one side's door against the wall or a few yards along opposite the pub. The 80p Snowdon path guides might be a handy addition what with being at the foot of the Rhyd Ddu path.

I see it as equivalent to a 3 star guest accommodation, technically held back at 2 stars by two rooms sharing a bathroom, but with 4 star hospitality and breakfasts. Judging only my room, if the bed was upgraded and the menu locally sourced and explained it would be heading for 4 stars (technically only if the other two rooms could be knocked into the bathroom to make ensuites). A few pounds worth of gadgets in rooms, literature, choice of egg and a welcome/departure routine ought to just about get them the rest of the way. I would recommend it for any drivers looking for a reliable B&B near Snowdon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room

Address: Rhyd Ddu, Snowdonia National Park LL54 6TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rhyd Ddu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rhyd Ddu
Price Range: $94 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr B&B And Tea Room Rhyd Ddu, Snowdonia National Park, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing