We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One for the end of your walk up Snowdon”

Penceunant Isaf Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Llanberis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We serve Hot chocolate, Tea, Coffee, beer wine, and a small selection of light snacks. Open all the year round we are dog friendly and walkers can eat their own food on the premises. Taxis are arranged by request.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One for the end of your walk up Snowdon”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We passed this on the way up and called in for hot chocolate and bara brith on the way back. Mine Host was very friendly (and opinionated!) but very welcoming and dealt wonderfully with a lost dog situation for some walkers daft enough to let a toy dog wander off his lead. Will call again and savour the welcome...may try the Penderyn this time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    807
    22
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Welcome break after a lovely walk up Snowdon”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Situated at the beginning of the popular Llanberis path, a 9 mile walk up and back to Snowdon, we spotted this on the way up and promised ourselves a stop here on the way back, especially as the halfway cafe and the one at the summit were closed due to recent snowfall.
We had a lovely welcome, warm fire was lit and dog got a bowl of water and some biscuits! The host was welcoming and chatty, the tea and coffee was excellent and the inclusive welsh tea bread was gorgeous! Very recommended is a look around the house and some lovely artwork too.
We will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank Ktjk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

stopped here today coming back down from Snowdon as we got just above the snow line and with the wind we were a bit cold and decided to have a quick cuppa to warm through. Brilliant welcome with lovely little rooms. Nice cup of tea for me and proper coffee for my lad. The owner was full of chat but left you alone to have your cuppa and two pieces of welsh cake in with the price which we hadn't asked for and very nice it was too. Will call in again next time we visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharon1964190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bara Brith”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We visited Penceunant Isaf Tea Rooms at the beginning of March 2014 on the recommendation of friends. It was a cold and foggy day and a lovely pot of tea and buttered Bara Brith was just the ticket to help warm us up in front of the open fire. Stefan was a delight and gave us a warm welcome. We will be going back again and again and we will recommend him to all our family and friends who visit Llanberis. Thanks Stefan.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm and friendly cafe and owner.”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

After attempting the summit and being turned back by the winters snow, we popped into Pen Ceunant for a hot drink. The owner could not have been more friendly and attentive, the hot chocolate was excellent, the welsh cake delicious and the scones lovely. Everything was excellent, and the burning fires, attentive owner and original decor makes it somewhere I will definitely return to when we re-attempt Snowden.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penceunant Isaf Tea Rooms also viewed

Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Penceunant Isaf Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing