We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location but noisy at weekends”
Review of Padarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Padarn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Llanberis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed at Padern Lake at the last minute having phoned the same day on the off-chance that they had any rooms left for the night. They had only the family room left but kindly offered it to us at the double room rate of £70.

There was a note in the room to say that the hotel had recently been taken over and the new owners intended to refurbish all of their rooms. Our room (no. 417) was certainly in need of refurbishment - the en-suite was old, had chipped units and a tiny shower with a nasty plastic shower curtain. Despite this, the room and en-suite were both very well cleaned, with crisp white sheets on the bed and clean, fluffy white towels.

Our main gripe is that the staff failed to warn us that the room would be over the entrance of the main bar (a locals’ pub, distinct from the hotel bar) where there was a live band on that night, with a 1am late licence. Because we were situated over the entrance there were smokers below our room and the closed window was not able to keep out the noise (including swearing and breaking glass) or the smell of cigarette smoke.

The hotel owner said that he was aware of the problem but was otherwise fairly unapologetic – pointing out that other hotels have the same issues and that we didn’t enquire at time of booking about the location of the room.

Overall, we did not enjoy our stay. If we had been given some notice that the room might be noisy past midnight then at least we would have been prepared to stay up late. Since we were struggling to find a room last minute on a Saturday night, we would very likely have taken the room anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxwellBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Padarn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 292 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2009

Stayed here after reading the newest reviews- never fancied it before. Had a great time, staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming, the food for breakfast and evening meals was very good- big portions and very tasty. My room was fine, spotlessly clean and comfortable, and very spacious; the bathroom was also spotless and the water was hot, when I eventually figured out how to turn it on!! I was also very impressed by the fact that although I was here over a Bank Holiday and the hotel was obviously full, I was only charged a single occupancy for a twin room- a pleasant change from the places that charge double if you're on your own. I would definitely stay here again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others. Just a shame they couldn't do anything about the wonderful Snowdonia weather!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Stayed here with 9 friends for a Birthday Surprise and a walk up Snowdon.
Hotel was superb, great location, extremely friendly and accomodating staff "nothing was too much trouble".

Breakfast was great and the evening meal was very tasty with enormous portions,

Excellent value for money all round. We also particioated in a little dancing with the live singer in the function room.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Happened by great good luck on this hotel; recently under new management and looks likely to thrive. Friendly welcome, lovely spacious room, nicely furnished and spotlessly clean. The bar had a couple of real ales and we enjoyed lunch, dinner and breakfast. Good selection of food, veggies won't starve! Meat eaters should do very well too.
Easy to find, on High Street, good parking space and just a short walk from both stations (Snowdon and Lake side). Can't fault find - we would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timidimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porthcawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwanseaWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
0.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
3.9 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
749 reviews
6.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Y Gwnnedd Inn & Bunkhouse
Y Gwnnedd Inn & Bunkhouse
#8 of 8 in Llanberis
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View
Lake View
#6 of 8 in Llanberis
199 reviews
13.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padarn Hotel

Address: High Street, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4SU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Llanberis
Price Range: $101 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you upon your arrival to our family-run hotel, under new management since June 2016, and set in the stunning beauty of the Welsh countryside and the Snowdonia National Park. The Sports bar and Restaurant have been completely refurbished and we are now working on upgrading all of the bedrooms. Our sports bar has four screens, showing Sky sport and BT sport, in our unique bar, come and see our unusual light fittings, canoe on the ceiling, bike wheel tables and sofa made out of a Gymnasium Horse! Our new Bistro restaurant is made up of 100 covers in three rooms with a boathouse room, garden room and film room (with posters of films made in the area). New menu with all our food being cooked from fresh in our Grade 5 food hygiene rated kitchen. Excellent quality at affordable prices with friendly staff. Sunday Carvery is now available every week from Noon to 3pm. Bistro is open 7 days a week, Noon to 10pm, all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Padarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padarn Hotel Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing