We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant family-run hotel”
Review of Padarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Padarn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Llanberis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel is ideally situated on the main street of Llanberis which is perfect for exploring the Snowdonia region. We checked out various available rooms on our arrival and selected one on the second floor as it was slightly larger and equipped with a bath rather than a shower. Although in need of some re-decoration which I understand is soon to be carried out, the room had all the facilities you could wish for with clean linen, towels, and as much piping hot water as you could wish for. The only minor problem was a lack of electricity sockets - there only seemed to be 2 to run the TV, clock, hairdrier, kettle and any additional equipment that guests may bring along. However, the room was warm with radiators in the room itself as well as in the bathroom.
The lounge bar (presided over by George the talkative parrot) was very comfortable, and the restaurant provided a good selection of good value meals catering for all tastes. Breakfast was served in the conservatory - help yourself cereals and toast, with the cooked items being served fresh from the kitchen.
There are a couple of other bars within the hotel - a sports bar which seems to cater more for the locals, and another large bar/restaurant where entertainment or bingo takes place periodically..
Outside is a beer garden, but as the weather was autumnal no-one was taking advantage of it. Car parking is adequate right outside the door.
The owners and staff were very welcoming, polite and friendly, and seemed keen to ensure that the guests were happy.
It is important to note that we gathered that the owners have only taken over the hotel a couple of years ago and they are working hard to get all the work done that needs to be done - we would wish them every success in building up the business and would certainly recommend the Padarn Lake Hotel to future travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Padarn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 293 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

just got back from staying in padarn cant fault it,staff very friendly room comfortable,was a little chilly in evening food lovely and fresh,and the lady who serves breakfast is really friendly and always smiling,and george the parrot is a handsome man.:)

Room Tip: 420 ,quite room four poster bed
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greengrass150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in a Bed and Breakfast in Llanberis for 2 nights, and went to the Padarn Lake Hotel for something to eat in the evening. Had a drink in the sports bar, which is very basic, but the real ale was very good. We then went into the hotel which is signposted cocktail bar and restaurant. The cocktail bar is a lounge bar, presumably for residents and diners. We sat in the conservatory and had a very good, reasonably priced meal. In the background we heard the sound of a bird. Finally saw George, the parrot, in a cage in the lounge bar. Very talkative, and very lively. Visited again the next night. Although we were not residents, I would recommenf this place for somewhere to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here on a two night KGB deal which in our opinion offered great value. The hotel is on the main street in Llanberis, a good location and an ideal base from which to explore the sights in the Snowdonia area. We had a top floor family room, which was clean and comfortable, with a flatscreen tv, and well provisioned tea and coffee hospitality tray. Bathroom was probably in need of redecoration, but a good range of crisp clean towels provided each day.The breakfast is very good with locally sourced quality produce, and served by very pleasant lady. We dined in the restaurant on the first night as part of the kgb deal, and both enjoyed our meals so dined in the conservatory on the second night and again very good meals. There's a comfortable lounge bar with some sofa's or table and chairs and is ideal to enjoy a drink and relax after a meal, or a long day. A bonus is the good car parking area, as you can leave the car at the hotel and walk to many of the local sights.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mxcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Currently sitting in room 403 at 22:45 and I might as well be sitting directly in a Karoke bar, worse still a Karoke bar filled with X-Factor wannabes. Room is less than great, it is old and dated but having to endur such loud music after a long drive in a hotel that claims to be relaxing and family friendly orientated is no joke. If you want peace and quiet, expect a good night sleep and want value for money then this hotel is not for you if you like Karoke wihout having to leave your bed then you will love this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on a KGB deal. We had a great stay. The hotel was ideally located, about five minutes walk from Snowdon mountain railway and the steam train ride around the lake. Also the trip to Electric mountain which was also quite fascinating. The Hotel room was very comfortable, the staff very friendly, there was also a very friendly parrot in one of the lounges who enjoyed a chat. The food was very good and served with a smile, and they even served "real chips" which I found a treat. Would definately stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank two-taffies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have just stayed at the Pardarn Lake Hotel on a two night KGB deal. The hotel is in need of an update with the decor, however for the price we paid £69 for two nights b&b full breakfast, you couldnt really complain. This also included a free bottle of wine if you ate in their restaurant and 10% off the food bill. However if I was to have paid the full price without a KGB deal of £150 for two nights b&b and no offer then I would honestly say the hotel was not to standard with that price tag. It is close to all ammenities, and within easy walking distance of Snowdon Mountain and the slate mines! We stayed in room 421 which was a family room, which was on the top floor, so not ideal for the faint hearted or after a few drinks climbing the stairs. There are no lifts in this hotel. One thing I will say is the food is absolutely lovely, takes a little time to come out in the evenings but everything is cooked fresh or you have the hot stone to cook it for yourself. The evening menu is of splendid choice and not to costly. During the day there is a snackbar menu and the sandwiches are to die for, and also the chicken and mayo hot baguettes! oh lordie these were yummy! You can dine in the dining room or the conservatory in the evening we preferred the dining room. The breakfast is exceptionally good, local produce, but could do with a little traditional Welsh black pudding and some mushrooms. Coffee is perculated, lovely and a fine choice of everything to eat in the morning from fresh fruit to grapefruit segments, cereals, yoghurt and honey and then of course the cooked breakfast. Staff are really lovely, I cant understand a few comments on here about staff being rude, I sometimes think people expect the world for next to nothing! if you want 5* treatment pay the price and stop being tuppenny snobs! Beds were comfy and the bedding spotless, pillows were fine and comfy and the towels were crisp white and changed daily. And last but not least George the parrot, he is so wonderful except a few of his chosen words! I will leave that to the imagination! So if you are looking for somewhere close to all the amenities, quality food, good hospitality then this via the KGB deal is a must.

Room Tip: If you can get a family room haggle that you will eat in the restaurant each night then you wont hav...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BowlerClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
0.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
3.9 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
750 reviews
6.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Y Gwnnedd Inn & Bunkhouse
Y Gwnnedd Inn & Bunkhouse
#8 of 8 in Llanberis
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View
Lake View
#6 of 8 in Llanberis
199 reviews
13.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padarn Hotel

Address: High Street, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4SU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Llanberis
Price Range: $101 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you upon your arrival to our family-run hotel, under new management since June 2016, and set in the stunning beauty of the Welsh countryside and the Snowdonia National Park. The Sports bar and Restaurant have been completely refurbished and we are now working on upgrading all of the bedrooms. Our sports bar has four screens, showing Sky sport and BT sport, in our unique bar, come and see our unusual light fittings, canoe on the ceiling, bike wheel tables and sofa made out of a Gymnasium Horse! Our new Bistro restaurant is made up of 100 covers in three rooms with a boathouse room, garden room and film room (with posters of films made in the area). New menu with all our food being cooked from fresh in our Grade 5 food hygiene rated kitchen. Excellent quality at affordable prices with friendly staff. Sunday Carvery is now available every week from Noon to 3pm. Bistro is open 7 days a week, Noon to 10pm, all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Padarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padarn Hotel Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing