We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Luvly”
Review of Padarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Padarn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Llanberis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just returned home from a two night KGB break everything was exellent the staff very friendly couldn't do enough for us, food was very good gold star breakfast. exellent value for money would definitly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_jones789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 309 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed in the Padarn Lake Hotel as wanted to tick Snowdon climb off my bucket list. Arrived at the hotel on Tuesday to be greeted by the friendly and extremely helpful staff. We had upgraded to the four poster bed room that was spacious and spotlessly clean. Tea/coffee making facilities were also provided.

The hotel is an old traditional hotel but has been modernised in mayy parts however, retaining it's olde worldly charm.

The food in the restaurant was excellent quality and I can highly recommend the mixed grill served on the lava stones that you cook at the table! The quality of the meat was very good and must admit I have never had duck breast as part of amixed grill- it was exceptional.

All the staffare extremely attentive and couldn't do enough for us.

A fantastic hotel to expore North Wales with Portmeirion and Bedd Gellert, Portmeirion etc within a short drive away.

While at the hotel- say hello to George the parrot for us!

Finally, the climb to Snowdon- we left Llanberris on a beautiful late summer morning having had a hearty breakfast. Stopped for a cup of tea at the halfway house Cafe, and arrived at the summit at 12 noon to a very windy, misty cafe. A well deserved break before the trek back. Well worth the 5 hours of my life!

Room Tip: We upgraded for £15 per night to the fourposter bedroom that was largerthan the average room we have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhosBoxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights recently and found a treasure! Comfortable, homely,relaxed, great food (try the Hake) ALL the staff were so welcoming and helpful and fun, perfect location, nice beer garden, parking, clean comfortable large room with views, delicious breakfast, even George the parrot is cute! I could go on but you get the idea; PDL is perfect and I couldn't give less than 5 stars. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was a quaint old fashioned hotel that was spotlessly clean with very friendly staff. The breakfast was very good as was the food in the bar and restaurant.The veggie options were a bit limited in the restaurant and don't expect a smart boutique hotel- this is a family run establishment where the service is more important than modern decor. We went on a KGB deal and this was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have not been to Wales for a break for some years and what a pleasant surprise to return to a hotel that was both friendly and with helpful staff ,cask ales and great surroundings. We visited using a on-line deal and after talking with the owner the hotel was likely to be booked for some months ahead. Great place for a short break.

Room Tip: happy with our room so don't know what a bad room was!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phidel4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Having mucked up dates (my fault, I think) we arrived a day early. As it was a KGB deal we thought we'd get turfed out to a Welsh bunk house but the owner couldn't have been more welcoming, even though the hotel was full. They made up a newly decorated, beautiful room for us. We stayed for two nights, ate at the hotel both nights and really enjoyed scrummy food. All the staff were realy friendly. We had delicious breakfasts too. We walked up Snowdon from the path near the hotel so didn't have to worry about driving. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scoffing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I had a great Summer weekend break in August. The staff were very friendly and the room was clean and welcoming, a little tired in the decor but still a charming room. We stayed in room 420 which was double aspect with a lovely view and updated bathroom. Sheets and towels were lovely and clean and good quality.

We stayed on a KGB deal and the limited menu was fantastic and I don't see how people complained as the deal was great value for money. Our favourite place was the bar with the 'chesterfield' style sofas which felt very homely. We spent two evenings with great company ( on the first night a lovely couple from Liverpool and the second a couple from Scotland).

Breakfasts were plentiful and freshly cooked to a high standard served by Cerys who was such a friendly and warm person and made us feel very welcome and comfortable.

We spent time in llanberis at Electric Mountain ( good but my hubby enjoyed it more than me due to the 'engineering' theme of the tour). Having said that I did find it mildly interesting. We took our mountain bikes and kayak and had a wonderful day biking and on the lake in glorious weather.. We have been up Snowden before so didn't bother on this occasion.

On our second night we went to the local chippy and had fish and chips sat watching the sun go down over lake Padarn which was lovely.

We enjoyed the hotel and surroundings so much we have already booked for April, again with a KGB deal.

Room Tip: Room 420 was on the quiet side of the hotel away from the sports bar, which we did not use and had h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teenyStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
0.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
3.9 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
6.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
791 reviews
0 mi away
Lake View
Lake View
#6 of 7 in Llanberis
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Llanberis Lodges
Llanberis Lodges
#3 of 14 in Llanberis
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padarn Hotel

Address: High Street, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4SU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Llanberis
Price Range: $101 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Padarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you upon your arrival to our family-run hotel, under new management since June 2016, and set in the stunning beauty of the Welsh countryside and the Snowdonia National Park. The Sports bar and Restaurant have been completely refurbished and we are now working on upgrading all of the bedrooms. Our sports bar has four screens, showing Sky sport and BT sport, in our unique bar, come and see our unusual light fittings, canoe on the ceiling, bike wheel tables and sofa made out of a Gymnasium Horse! Our new Bistro restaurant is made up of 100 covers in three rooms with a boathouse room, garden room and film room (with posters of films made in the area). New menu with all our food being cooked from fresh in our Grade 5 food hygiene rated kitchen. Excellent quality at affordable prices with friendly staff. Sunday Carvery is now available every week from Noon to 3pm. Bistro is open 7 days a week, Noon to 10pm, all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Padarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padarn Hotel Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing