We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super stay”
Review of Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super stay”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Very warm welcome, we shown to our two rooms looking over the lake. Both rooms very nice and clean. We had two bikes with us which they where able to store safely for us. The couple were very helpful in telling us where to eat and drink. On our second day two of us went for a ride up and down snowdon, this took us a little longer than planned so had to cancel the restaurant booking. The chap at alpine said we could bring take away back with us and even opened the dining room for us to eat and have a drink. On the day of departure we packed the car with cases etc but was still able to leave bikes in b&b and the car in there carpark as we went back up snowdon on train and walked down with the boss (wife). If/when we return we will definitely be booking back at the alpine

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank prino76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    63
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
139
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Not terribly attractive from the outside but standard of service and friendly atmosphere more than make up for this. We had room 4 on first floor which had a good sideways view of the Snowdon range and over the lake opposite. Room was large with double bed and two armchairs. Storage provided by wardrobe and chest of drawers was more than adequate. Bathroom was large and had shower and bath. Water was always piping hot. Plenty of soaps, shampoo and lotions were provided. We did have a problem getting the free wi fi connection for a couple of days but think this was an external problem as it affected other guests as well. Some noise from room above and bathroom next door but not a major problem. Bedroom curtains do not keep out much light as room faces East so be aware. The mattress is also on the firm side.

Excellent breakfast provided in large room on ground floor. Help yourself to cereals and fruit and owner takes your order for any cooked items required. No set menu just ask for what you want. He also comes round several times to make sure everything OK and ask if you need anything else like more coffee or toast. Full English (Welsh produce) was excellent in both quality and quantity.

Owner very helpful about walks and recommended taking the bus to Pen-Y-Pass and walking up one side of Snowdon and down the other back to Llanberis which we did. He also chilled some Champagne I provided for our Wedding Anniversary and tried several times to get the wi fi reset. Hotel is on outskirts of Llanberis which is a good central base for exploring the area.

Room Tip: Go for rooms at the front as they have views over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallavanting Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed one night to climb Snowden and what a lovely room we had at the front, modern and spacious including the bathroom and as it was easter had a lindt chocolate bunny each along with a packet of crisps, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Breakfast was fantastic the full monty inc black pudding if you wanted it all in a lovely dining room , thought it was well worht the money and within walking distance of the bus to drop you off to climb snowden and very short walking distance to the restaurants and pubs on the high street, would stay here longer next time

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cassabells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We arrived at 11pm but this wasn't an issue for the hotel. The bedroom was was very nice with unique features reminiscent of a boutique hotel. The bathroom was small but modern and immaculately clean. The breakfast was a good selection of cereal and fruits and and a really well cooked breakfast. The service from the waitress was very friendly and warm. We would definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

A very comfortable and friendly place to stay in Llanberis. Large clean rooms with spacious beds and attractive artwork. Owners take care of you very well especially in the mornings with a large breakfast to start the day. For an evening meal I would recommend you try the Heights just a short walk from the Hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidMStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The rooms are luxurious, comfortable and clean, perfect to come back to and relax after a long day of walking. We were made to feel very welcome and looked after with a huge breakfast served each morning. Some of the rooms have amazing views of the mountains. Overall I was very impressed and would like stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

After booking this hotel as a last minute thing we are so glad we did. We didn't get there till 9.45 pm but we were still greeted by a warm and friendly gentleman who showed us to our room. Our room was emaculate and we could not fault it but the best was yet to come in the morning when we woke up and the views we had from our windows were amazing. At breakfast we were not kept waiting and there was awide range of food to be had with again lovely service. We are already planning our next trip back there and this time for a longer stay

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yecart728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
0.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
14.2 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
663 reviews
14.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
13.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
724 reviews
11.9 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Property: Alpine Lodge
Address: 1 High Street, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Llanberis
Alpine Lodge Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing