We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge the book.....”
Review of Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Have to admit that I wasn't all that hopeful on arrival as the exterior could probably do with a lick of paint. That said who looks for that long at the outside of where you're staying, especially in such stunning surroundings.
We were met by Martin who was very friendly and of course knowledgeable of the area.
Our rooms (8 & 9) were on the 3rd floor and 8 in particular had a wonderful view of the lake and mountains. The rooms were really nicely decorated, and the en suite very modern. Great shower, nice and powerful. The rooms were clean and stocked with the usual tea and coffee, but also a bag of crisps and chocolate. The breakfast was very good, although the young lass cooking and serving it wasn't overly friendly and I did feel we were inconveniencing her a little by being there. End of a long season though I'm sure.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 267 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

All in all this place is alright. The location makes it a good base for hitting the hills. The full Breakfast was ok but nothing more. When we asked for poached egg on toast though it was spot on, so maybe steer away from the standard. Unfortunately the bed smelt of stale sweat when we got in on our first night but this was sorted out when we asked. I'd probably go back.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BrummiePedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at this B+B 3 nights last week and found the room clean with a comfy double bed. Although I would have preferred a bath in our room, it did have had a powerful shower which was needed after coming back from Snowdon.
As others have already said there was Tea/ coffee facilities in the room (with crisps) and the owner was happy to top up the teabags etc I was a little worried about the room being close to the road but this was not an issue, heard very little noise.
The owner was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area, making some good recommendations on where to eat / avoid
Would recommend staying here if you want reasonable priced b+ b with a good breakfast

Good choice of breakfasts from yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals and toast to full Englishhe full breakfast kept us going most of the day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyc305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

From the outside and entrance hall doesn't look that great but well worth the money as the rooms are lovely and breakfast was great. Would definitely recommend. Owner was very friendly and location is ideal as close to snowdon and a very short walk to pubs etc for drinks and dinner in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucieCatchpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed Fri - Sun and summited snowdon on saturday with a group of friends for charity.
The alpine lodge was easy to find, lovely homely place, very comfortable beds and fab hot power shower which was much needed after a very cold and windy day on the mountain!
On Saturday morning we wanted to leave by 8am to catch the shuttle bus and although breakfast is usually served from 8-9am, the owner got up early to make us a hearty breakfast of bacon and eggs before we set off. Great location just a few mins walk along the high street to the local pubs / restaurants and bus stops. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Superior Room on second floor overlooking the lake was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very good B&B, large modern family room which looked newly refurbished, lovely bathroom with spacious bath and shower, tea/coffee facilities with an added treat of chocolate and crisps! Clean and tidy throughout. Good choice of breakfasts from yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals and toast to full English. Friendly staff and very obliging when we asked for extras like milk for our room. We had a room on the top floor with great views of lake padarn. Overall a very comfortable and enjoyable stay, will be returning next year.

Room Tip: Gets room on the top floor for great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vixlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

really good hotel,we booked two nights at the alpine lodge hotel in a superior room.the room was on the top floor with 3 large windows at the front of the hotel looking over padarn lake and the mountains.really good price for £70 per night and that includes the most delicious breakfast ive ever had.cooked perfectly
the hotel is a clean and friendly and the owners martin and rhian are perfect hosts ,always there and on hand to answer any questions
so if you want a perfect little hotel 10 mins walk from the foot of mount Snowdon........book the alpine lodge hotel
we will most definitely be returning

Room Tip: we chose a top floor room for the fab views but any of the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenh1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
0.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
13.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
791 reviews
3.6 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
37 reviews
8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,074 reviews
0 mi away
Lake View
Lake View
#6 of 7 in Llanberis
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Address: 1 High Street, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range: $94 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Llanberis
Alpine Lodge Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing