We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely hotel in Llanberis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llanberis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Lodge
Save
You added Alpine Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in Llanberis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A very pleasant stay - the young woman who checked us in was very pleasant and friendly. The room was a good size and very clean. Bathroom lovely and spacious and very clean. Lovely view from room even in the rain! Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodland5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    53
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
112
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife & I decided to visit Snowdon for our 20th wedding anniversary. We chose the Alpine Lodge after reading the reviews here, and we were'nt disappointed! The room was lovely, spacious and comfortable, the view gorgeous and the staff welcoming and helpful. The owner (martin) was friendly , informative and easygoing. The breakfast was great and the decor very tasteful. We found the village very friendly and would thoroughly recommend the accomodation to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankdem63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Alpine Lodge for a hill walking break. The B&B was easy to find and is well located in the town. The owner checked us in and was very pleasant and friendly, and gave us really helpful information about where to eat. We had booked a "superior room" through Late Rooms and it was large, clean and comfortable with a great bath/shower (admittedly in a very small bathroom). The bed was comfortable and we slept well. We were, however, disappointed with the breakfast on our first morning. Given comments by others, perhaps we were just unlucky but it meant we turned down a cooked breakfast on the second morning. As others have also stated the choice of fruit and cereals is good, but our bacon and scrambed eggs were swimming in ? water and were just not very nice, and it has been a long time since I have had tinned tomatoes at breakfast. Generous portions but ...! Overall though very friendly and good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend in Wales. We climbed Snowdon and stayed at The Alpine Lodge afterwards. It was lovely and clean and in a great location at the end of the high street opposite the loch and with lovely views over the mountains on the far side. The room was spacious and very clean and the shower was brilliant.. just what was needed after the climb up Snowdon! The mini mars and twirl bar on the tea and coffee tray were a nice touch. The views from our room were great.. we were at the top in the front of the hotel. Warm friendly welcome and some good tips on where to eat. We chose The Heights, about a 10 min walk away and it too was excellent, food was plentiful and very nice indeed. The breakfast was also excellent, cereal and fruit etc to start followed by a full cooked english brekky.. lovely! Nice thick bread for toast and a large pot of tea finished it off nicely before the journey home. All in all very good little place to stay, can't fault it.. clean, friendly, good location, reasonable price.. will defo stay there again.. hopefully for a little longer next time.
Thank you...

Room Tip: The front of the hotel has great views over the loch and out to the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

A very pleasant stay - the young woman who checked us in was very pleasant and friendly. The room was a good size and very clean. Bathroom lovely and spacious and very clean. Lovely view from room even in the rain! Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Room number 4 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I booked this hotel for 3 nights for a relaxing break in Llanberis, the beds were comfortable, the shower was amazing and Maltesers & Biscuits on the courtesy tray.
My room was suppose to be a premier room with Wifi, Unfortunately I had no Wifi access unless I sat in the breakfast room on hard chairs.
The carpet was frayed, the radiator was dirty and the view outside my window was the back yard which was full of rubbish.

BUT... After speaking to the manager/owner about the lack of Wifi, he allowed me to just pay for one night and I left the next day for a hotel that did have wifi.

I would stay here again if I were in the area but only if I planned on being out all day and just wanted a bed and a hot shower.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bridget_jones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

10 of us stayed in 3 double and 2 twin rooms from Friday 3rd August for 3 nights. Not 1 of the party had any complaints, bar 1 small 1 which I will return to. All of our party where very happy with the rooms. Mars bars are a nice touch. Bathrooms or Showerrooms where all great and well stocked. Breakfast was plentiful and a great choice. 1 of our party asked the first morning was there black pudding but there was none, next morning it was on the menu. The location was great and staff very friendly and helpful. All of our party would recommend the Alpine Lodge. Back to the 1 small complaint, breakfast was only served for 1 hour between 8 - 9. We all felt it should be a 2 hour window.
Tony Maguire. Dublin

Room Tip: Ask for room in front for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
0.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
7.8 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Y Gwnnedd Inn & Bunkhouse
Y Gwnnedd Inn & Bunkhouse
#8 of 8 in Llanberis
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
6.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
13.8 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Property: Alpine Lodge
Address: 1 High Street, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Llanberis
Alpine Lodge Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing