We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Alpine Lodge Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Alpine Lodge Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend in Wales. We climbed Snowdon and stayed at The Alpine Lodge afterwards. It was lovely and clean and in a great location at the end of the high street opposite the loch and with lovely views over the mountains on the far side. The room was spacious and very clean and the shower was brilliant.. just what was needed after the climb up Snowdon! The mini mars and twirl bar on the tea and coffee tray were a nice touch. The views from our room were great.. we were at the top in the front of the hotel. Warm friendly welcome and some good tips on where to eat. We chose The Heights, about a 10 min walk away and it too was excellent, food was plentiful and very nice indeed. The breakfast was also excellent, cereal and fruit etc to start followed by a full cooked english brekky.. lovely! Nice thick bread for toast and a large pot of tea finished it off nicely before the journey home. All in all very good little place to stay, can't fault it.. clean, friendly, good location, reasonable price.. will defo stay there again.. hopefully for a little longer next time.
Thank you...

Room Tip: The front of the hotel has great views over the loch and out to the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    51
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
32
106
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

A very pleasant stay - the young woman who checked us in was very pleasant and friendly. The room was a good size and very clean. Bathroom lovely and spacious and very clean. Lovely view from room even in the rain! Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Room number 4 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I booked this hotel for 3 nights for a relaxing break in Llanberis, the beds were comfortable, the shower was amazing and Maltesers & Biscuits on the courtesy tray.
My room was suppose to be a premier room with Wifi, Unfortunately I had no Wifi access unless I sat in the breakfast room on hard chairs.
The carpet was frayed, the radiator was dirty and the view outside my window was the back yard which was full of rubbish.

BUT... After speaking to the manager/owner about the lack of Wifi, he allowed me to just pay for one night and I left the next day for a hotel that did have wifi.

I would stay here again if I were in the area but only if I planned on being out all day and just wanted a bed and a hot shower.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bridget_jones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

10 of us stayed in 3 double and 2 twin rooms from Friday 3rd August for 3 nights. Not 1 of the party had any complaints, bar 1 small 1 which I will return to. All of our party where very happy with the rooms. Mars bars are a nice touch. Bathrooms or Showerrooms where all great and well stocked. Breakfast was plentiful and a great choice. 1 of our party asked the first morning was there black pudding but there was none, next morning it was on the menu. The location was great and staff very friendly and helpful. All of our party would recommend the Alpine Lodge. Back to the 1 small complaint, breakfast was only served for 1 hour between 8 - 9. We all felt it should be a 2 hour window.
Tony Maguire. Dublin

Room Tip: Ask for room in front for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I will just start with the best points for the accomodation.
It was very clean and friendly,the shower was very good,we got biscuits and Maltesers in addition to the courtessy tray of the usual tea and coffee although there was only 4 milk.
The Breakfast was fine apart from the sausage tasted funny and was over cooked.
We also had fried potato on the breakfast, i don't know what that is about? fried potato for breakfast isn't my cup of tea, whatever happened to fried bread?

The view from our window was rubbish and old buckets a rotting dresser and a rusty old disgarded gate in a dirty yard.
The carpet was torn by the door to the room very badly,very low cealing with beams so a tall person would not be recomended to stay in room 9.

There was no wifi in our bedroom after specifically requesting it and had to sit in the breakfast room to access it, not very comfy or practical.

Room 9 was su[osed to be a premier room as that is what we booked and even though the view wasn't up to much the room had a postage stamp size tv and paint flaking off the radiator crackes in the walls and cealing.
There was no lock on the bathroom door and even if there was we couldn't have used it because the door was to big for the frame and wouldn't close properly.

Good point for them though was, we had booked a 3 night stay, but we left after the one night and they only charged us for that 1 night :)
If you want an Hotel this is not the place for you, it is just a B & B to describe it as an Hotel is wrong in my opinion as there is no Hotel facilities at all.
We have stayed in Hotels for the same price or cheaper in the past.

Room Tip: My tip if you don't want a veiw of rubbish from your window is ask for a front room. And if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DogFriendlylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here for two nights and we could not fault it in any way. Shower was fantastic just what we needed after a long day walking up Snowdon, we WILL be staying here again. P.S. Watch out for the low beams in room 9. Best B&B in Wales!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scrumhalfRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, what can i say, what a lovely room and friendly people. We were allowed our 2 dogs to stay with us with no trouble, and for no extra fee.
Room spotlessly clean, modern and fresh, evrything we could want from the welcoming Mars bar, biscuits, tea, coffee and hot choc. Tv on wall had a dvd player in. Our room (no 2) had an excellent view of Llanberis, the lake and the mountains.
Bathroom very clean, just had a shower but no bath, lovely fresh fluffy towels, handsoap,bodylotion, showergel and shampoo provided.
Breakfast was excellent, fab selection of cereals, fruit juice, fresh fruit and yogerts. Full english provided with tea, coffee and toast. Can not fault this lovely little B & B. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake and mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah71_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
0.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
7.8 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Y Gwnnedd Inn & Bunkhouse
Y Gwnnedd Inn & Bunkhouse
#8 of 8 in Llanberis
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
16.6 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Property: Alpine Lodge
Address: 1 High Street, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Llanberis
Alpine Lodge Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing