We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real home from home.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanberis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plas Coch Guest House
Ranked #1 of 14 Llanberis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I can't recommend this place highly enough. Admittedly, after four nights of being rained on in a tent anything with a roof and solid walls would have been a welcome sight, but from the moment we arrived at Plas Coch we were made to feel welcome and treated as guests rather than simply customers. Jim and Eryl could not have been more welcoming hosts, with tips on walks, local pubs and restaurants to help make the most of our time in Llanberis.
Our room (number four) was spacious, clean and had the added benefit of a bath rather than just a shower.
The breakfasts were fantastic, with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, pastries and a choice of cooked options - smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was a particularly indulgent way to start the day.
In terms of location, Llanberis is not Las Vegas (thankfully) but Plas Coch is almost directly opposite The Heights, a great pub for an evening drink and meal, and close to the village's shops and restaurants.
An easy walk will take you to the National Slate Museum, on the shore of the picturesque Llyn Padarn - a complete circuit of the lake will reward you with great views of Snowdon if the weather's clear.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 478 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2012

My son and I stayed for one night to climb Snowdon together. We had the warmest of welcomes, the room was very clean and warm ( despite the weather) and breakfast was great. Everything you want in a first class guest house. We totally recommend.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Although we only stayed one night, Eryl and Jim's guest house was exactly what we were looking for. A luxurious and comfortable stay at the foothill of Snowdon. We had a great big room, which had been recently refurbished- we were the firsts to sleep in the big new bed. We had an extraordinary view of the mountains, thanks to Jim's handy gardening skills!!

The breakfast was superb, Eryl's eggs were perfect! They have a great variety on offer from fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals, to smoked salmon and poached egg or an amazing full Welsh cooked breakfast with delicious local produce.

Whilst Eryl cooked, Jim gave us insider info about the best paths to take and where to stop for a great cup of hot chocolate to warm us up!

Charming couple, thank you guys, you made us feel very welcome and we look forward to going back!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AzulDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

we have spent a memorable easter as plas coch guest house.The location couldn't be any better.we reached the guest house at 9 am whereas the check in time was at 2 pm.We were worried whether we would be denied entry ,but was surprised with the wonderful hospitality of Jim and Eryl. Eryl assured that the room would be made available to us from 11 am and Jim gave us detailed description of how to explore the area.
The room was cosy and we did had a sound sleep after an entire day of activity.
We were touched by the incredible welcome of Jim and Eryl and on the departure day, Jim even offered to help with our luggage.
Would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moubanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed here with my parents and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were lovely and each unique and the owners were fantastic. Great breakfasts and great location.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This guesthouse was a real find for us and we would definitely recommend it to couples and families - everyone!

Jim and Eryl have been running the guesthouse for 9 months and they have renovated it to very high standards. It really felt like coming to stay in their own home.

The whole place is beautifully decorated and the furnishings all of a high standard. The rooms are spacious and the beds very comfy! We stayed in Room 1, the Family Room with our 2 kids (10 years and 8 years) - there was a comfy double (very big!) and 2 foldaway beds with good mattresses for kids.

We were right next to the lounge which was great to spill over in to - kids enjoyed watching a DVD after a busy day walking!

The dining room is lovely - and is where breakfast is served - great choice - full 'Welsh', haddock, eggs - plus amazing choice of cereals, pastries, toast, crumpets, waffles etc.! Erly even cooked me a kipper as a special breakfast one day. There is also a microwave in the dining room, which we also used to heat our kids 'wheatbags' up and make popcorn for our movie!

Round the back is a lovely garden, with a small brook running along the edge. There is a table and chairs and also a swing seat to relax in. Our Easter egg hunt worked well!

Jin and Eryl were so welcoming - Jim dropped us off for a walk back down to the lake one day and was so helpful with his local tips and advice. It was lovely to come home to homemade cakes by Erly each day too!

There's lots of parking outside and it's a great location to walk to restaurants or the snowdon railway, electric mountain or down to the lake.

We had a bit of a disaster with a thank you bottle of red wine on our departure, thanks to a clumsy child on a bed, and they were so great with dealing with it. Luckily they have a good washing machine too. Thank you again Eryl!

Don't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Just talk to Jim and Eryl. Room 1 great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We have spent an absolutely wonderful Easter at Plas Coch Guest House. Eryl and Jim are wonderful and very welcoming couple. Every morning Eryl prepared a very tasty breakfast with a wide selection of local produce while Jim rushes between the kitchen and dining room chatting to the guests, giving recommendation of hiking trails. There is also a great buffet of cereal, fresh fruit, selection of yoghurts, different types of bread, absolutely divine!
Home made cup cakes are a wonderful touch while coming back from the entire day of hiking!
The house is very tastefully decorated with a modern touch. I got a tour of all the rooms from Eryl and I can't wait to be back! Please guys do not change anything! It is a paradise!

Room Tip: All the rooms have recently been renovated so it really does not matter in which you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamyczek27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
0.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
6.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Llanberis Lodges
Llanberis Lodges
#3 of 14 in Llanberis
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
585 reviews
12.7 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#3 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Snowdon Llanberis
YHA Snowdon Llanberis
#1 of 6 in Llanberis
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Coch Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Coch Guest House

Address: Plas Coch High Street, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4HB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Llanberis
Price Range: $40 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plas Coch Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, fully en-suite Guest House with garden in Llanberis. Extensive breakfast menu using organic or local ingredients wherever possible. The menu features a range of meat, fish, egg, vegetarian and vegan dishes. All diets catered for. All welcome including children of all ages. Tea/coffee, TV, hairdryer in all rooms. Internet access free at all times, including wireless access in all rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plas Coch Guest House Hotel Llanberis
Plas Coch Guest House Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing