We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Head inside a mountain - felt like a James Bond set!”
Review of Electric Mountain

Electric Mountain
Ranked #2 of 22 things to do in Llanberis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Head inside a mountain - felt like a James Bond set!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is a very interesting experience! A surge power station hidden inside a mountain - quite an unusual experience. It felt like a movie set!

You start with a video which explains the power station. Then you head onto a bus and are driven a short distance into a mountain. The road inside the mountain leads to caverns where the electricity production process is explained. It is a very interesting insight into this energy source - and educational for kids. The staff were very knowledgeable and friendly, and the exhibits were informative.

A couple of things to bear in mind - you must wear a hairnet and helmet inside the mountain, all your possessions need to be stored in a locker, so you will need a £1 coin for each locker, which you get back at the end.

I'm not sure if there were bigger lockers available, but my backpack only just fitted inside the locker.

The whole thing lasted 1hr 10 mins, (we got the final tour at 4pm) so we made use of the café, shop and loos beforehand.

It was a shame we couldn't take cameras/phones to take a photo inside the caverns, but I assume this was for safety reasons.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hezel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    223
    77
    23
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mablethorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't just go up Snowdon”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Make sure you go into the electric mountain if you get the chance! Fascinating engineering and a brilliant way of using water for renewable energy. Excellent access for wheelchair users.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Stumbled across this gem....”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

If you, like us, are the sort of people who would drive past a sign that says Electric Mountain and then make a fast U-turn and go back to see what it is, then you are in for a treat! The tour was informative and easy to follow. The staff are enthusiasts about the engineering feat within the mountain. Cafe was delicious and a bargain. My only regret is that we took the last tour of the day so we didn't get a chance to look around the shop! I'll think of this place every time I switch on the kettle from now on...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank WhamBarQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“fantastic day”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

we went to the electric mountain and on the tour inside mountain. It was really good, something different for kids and they learn something as well as having an adventure.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

What can I say its a power station in a mountain, you have to go it's just too amazing not to be missed loved every minute of the experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Electric Mountain also viewed

Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Electric Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing