We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice short walk and tea”
Review of Caffi Padarn - CLOSED

Caffi Padarn
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Description: This is where Menter Fachwen originated. Originally a derelict cottaged called Bryn Peris, it is located within 10 acres of land in Fachwen on the edge of Snowdonia. It has now been transformed into a seasonal cafe serving homemade cream teas and light snacks. Its main customers are those walking through the forests of Fachwen or those who have taken a ride on the Llanberis Lake Railway; which stops at the bottom of Padarn Cafe's site.
Katsushika-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice short walk and tea”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had been this little cafe walking forest passage from the Cei Llydan station of Llanberis railway after the railway ride to Snowdon. At first, we worried a little if this is the right way up to Caffi Padarn, but my daughter found a little plate of slate with pretty illustration of cupcake under a tree. As we climb up, we found next plate painted teapot, and the other, sweet tea cup on them. Without any words but just a illustration of those, but they encouraged us and made us smile.

The view and welsh tea cakes, scones with clotted cream were very nice. Quiet atmosphere with birds twittering, cool fresh air of the forest, wonderful view of Snowdon and lake. As others mentioned, it is worth to go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gospeldancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This cafe is so off the beaten track it always amazes us. We come across it on the walk around padarn (which is well worth the effort) the coffee is perfect and the cakes are lovely. We always get a warm welcome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a location”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Follow the posts with the white bands from Llanberis and eventually you reach this little gem. It has a view to die for. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The cafe is run as a social enterprise and is just fabulous. Read the folder telling of its inception and building and feel humble. Watch the webcams of birds feeding at feeders around the site and be educated, but best of all just appreciate the location and the views. This is a wondrous place. It is so worth the effort to get here. If you are feeling brave you can drive here, but that might miss the point.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidewinder4504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrhyndeudraeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We stoped for coffee”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stopped for coffee at this lovely café the lady was realer nice and friendly and the view from here over Llanberis was outstanding, we looked at the menu and next time we walk round the lake we will definitely have lunch here. You can come half way with the train and walk up for lunch a bit steep but well worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwilphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfectly placed”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Take a walk around Llyn Padarn starting from Llanberis. Follow the white trail markers. About half way, on the opposite side you will come to Caffi Padarn - go in! Warm welcome, good food, fabulous views to Snowdon, and a charitable social enterprise so you will be helping local people. Could you wish for more? I always go for the poached eggs but the cakes look good too. Worth getting your boots on for!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidyarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffi Padarn also viewed

Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing