We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views of Snowdon”

Llanberis Lake Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$655.66*
and up
Private Guided Snowdonia and Conwy Day Trip from Conwy Valley
Ranked #5 of 22 things to do in Llanberis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Beautiful views of Snowdon”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Great little train ride, the kids loved it. Take a break half way and enjoy the cafe in the woods. Great views across the lake towards Snowdon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank M0JMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    198
    85
    22
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Lovely little train journey”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Caught the train by the cafe in the Slate Mine Visitor Centre on Good Friday. They had an Easter egg hunt for the children, and they all seemed to enjoy it. The ride lasts about an hour and you have some amazing views across the lake and to Snowdonia. £7.50 adult fee, The train was quite busy but not cramped and was a very pleasant way of spending and hour. Staff very friendly, worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank toni t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
617 reviews
220 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Scenic ride in the snow”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

On a cold frosty March day, we only had to share the train with a family of four, so plenty of room. We had seen the train on a previous visit to Llanberis and it was quite full. As other reviewers have noted, the railway only goes round part of the lake. At the end of the line you can't get out, but there is a 5 minute stop while the engine moves to the front for the return journey. There is a stop shortly after where you can get out, take pictures etc. We did talk to the guard and the driver who were both friendly. The driver was showing us a digital picture he had taken of the lovely icicles hanging on parts of the route. ITV Wales had shown an interest and we viewed it again on TV that night as part of the local weather forecast.

At this stop at certain times there is a "cabin " cafe open a short walk away up the hill. One can stop for coffee and cakes and catch the next train back. If this is crucial to your visit do check the opening hours in advance as I believe it is not open every day. On a previous visit we found it open - delicious coffee and cakes and other refreshments.

The train will stop at the slate museum for 10 minutes or so, where you can get out. The engine fills up with water here I believe. Again you can break your journey for the free museum and cafes.

On this visit the views were spectacular with the snowy landscape and the towering mountains. It doesn't seem to be a long journey and it doesn't go very fast, but it was rewarding to experience a bit of our heritage in a glorious location.

For the price conscious, it was £7.50 per adult. As an alternative to riding the train, you can walk the journey. Again spectacular views. I haven't tried this yet, but I am informed that it is possible to walk completely round the lake. On a previous visit to the area, we walked from the centre of Llanberis to the cabin cafe in well under two hours, stopping many times to admire things and take little detours.

It was worthwhile to experience the ride, the scenery and know you are doing your bit to help keep part of our history running.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cecil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely train ride”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Lovely train ride. The lake is beautiful and there are fantastic views all arround. Would reccomend a trip here to anyone that likes beautiful scenery and a relaxing day out.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark9554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good time!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Approx 2 hours train ride along the shores of the lovely Llyn Padarn. The train drivers are fun & friendly, the company often organises specials at Easter, Halloween, Christmas etc. Highly recommended!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Llanberis Lake Railway also viewed

Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
 

Been to Llanberis Lake Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing