We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value Short Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Value Short Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We booked a two night ‘special deal’ after staying in another Legacy hotel. Later, we were a little concerned when reading negative comments.
However we had no reason to be disappointed and enjoyed our stay.
The hotel itself is nothing special in terms of ambience but was pleasant enough and warm (very important in Llamberis in the winter!) Our room was modest in size but clean and comfortable and had all the facilities you would usually expect (tea making facilities, hair dryer, iron, TV, etc.) The view was spectacular.
We found the staff to be very friendly, courteous and helpful.
Breakfast and dinner were both served in a pleasant conservatory with views over the town. There was plenty of choice for breakfast including a really good cooked breakfast. The coffee and tea were very good, hot and plentiful.
The three course dinner was from a short limited menu, but in saying that it was well prepared and enjoyable. Service was very pleasant and efficient.
Considering the price we paid, dinner bed and breakfast, complimentary bottle of wine on arrival and free tickets to Caernarvon Castle for about the same price as a standard room charge in one of the lodge chains it represented excellent value for money and would happily return for another ‘offer’ break.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_HLiverpool_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    547
    312
    123
    108
See reviews for
188
746
51
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Stopping in this hotel as a base for New year in North Wales and my wifes birthday.
The staff were friendly and helpfull,our room was clean and comfy. Ok some of the stairs creaked,the place is old,course they are going to creak,
The breakfast each day was hot and a good start to the day.The room was basic but clean and warm and did us fine.
There are a couple of shops in the village, a short walk away and ,a couple of pubs 10 minutes walk away as well.There is a Castle just behind the hotel,worth a look. Easy access to Carnarfon and Bangor from Llanberis and you are at the mouth of the Llanberis pass as well..my favourite drive.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

As the purpose of our three day break was walking we made the best of the accommodation at the Royal Victoria. The hotel, though, needs serious re decoration / modernisation. Our room was small and basic - certainly nothing to write home about. We had dinner there on the first night and unfortunately the service was very slow and the food not great.
Someone else who has reviewed this hotel has commented 'only stay here if you pay less than £50 per night' and I wholeheartedly agree. This hotel is not worth any more.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186368Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llanberis hotels

Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

The hotel is in a great location - we had booked an executive double room with a view, only to discover that we had been given a dirty, dated twin room. It had a view alright - of a service tunnel at the back of the hotel. My partner went straight back to reception to ask for a room change, only to be told that the hotel was busy that weekend and there were no other rooms available. We were tired and had travelled a long way, so decided to stay and make the best of it. The room was not clean - spider webs hanging in the corners and a couple of very large spiders wandering around. Bathroom door had huge gouges in the panelling, and fittings were dirty. The television was a tiny portable. We couldn't wait to get away next day.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsstapleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

Booked this hotel on a deal through Travelzoo. My husband and I were prepared for the worst (having read the reviews in July) but couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at this hotel. Our room was basic but clean with every facility we needed. The staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming. The food was amazingly good value. This isn't a modern/contemporary/boutique/5 star hotel but it does what it does extremely well.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j9p9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

We stayed here on a travelzoo deal and what excellent value for money. My wife is disabled and we asked for a spacious room and spacious it was. When we arrived we were welcomed at reception by Gill who was very helpful. The meals were great and good service in the restaurant. On Saturday morning Gill was the duty manager and she came round asking everyone if they were enjoying there stay and if things were alright. To us this made us feel that she cared about everyone and everything. The rooms were clean and all the staff were great from the cleaners to the managers. The area is beautiful with spectacular views. We have booked to return again in march 2011 and would recommend you go and see for yourself. If you ring ask for gill on reception she is a great girl and very helpful. Excellent all round.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

We stayed last weekend (18th to 20th) for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We are well travelled, both in the UK and Europe, and cannot really fault the hotel or the service.

From the helpful and cheery ladies that manned the reception, the guys that ran the bar, the team in the restaurant and the ladies that serviced the rooms, we met nothing but polite, cheerful and helpful people.

The room was clean, well appointed and met all our requirements and was quiet enough to get a good nights sleep. The hotel bar was welcoming (without the usual rip-off beer prices) and the restuarant at breakfast time well run and with a great choice.

Obviously we all have our own opinions, but I cannot agree with some of the negative remarks about this hotel. It's location, friendliness, layout, price and unfussiness really hit the mark with us and we will return (and we live 350 miles away).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheddarprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake View
Lake View
#6 of 8 in Llanberis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
13.3 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Property: The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing