We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Nearby Hotels
$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Menai Bank Hotel(Caernarfon)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Alpine Lodge(Llanberis)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Dol Peris(Llanberis)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake View(Llanberis)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Port Dinorwic(Y Felinheli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,713)
Filter reviews
1,713 results
Traveler rating
455
642
360
137
119
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
642
360
137
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach housebar mealsall inclusive dealcoach partycontinental breakfastlarge hotelthird floorevening mealhotel is situatedmain buildingmountain railwayllanberis pathshort breakboth nightselectric mountainexcellent value for moneyfantastic location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,542 - 1,547 of 1,713 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2010

i read this after returning from a weekend at the royal victoria and couldn't believe how similar the reviews were to our comments! the hotel was very comfortable. there were 5 of us (adults) and they managed to find a family room which was big enough to fit us all in comfortably and with plenty of space. the room was nice and warm - although the towel rail was dangerously hot! we were very excited when we read the menu but the quality of the food was SO POOR we found ourselves in stitches throughout the whole meal. the free (and probably cheap) wine definitely helped this. the starters were ok but the mains and deserts were dreadful, microwaved, re-heated package meals. they should be serving big, basic, hearty meals and not trying to do fancy which they are obviously not capable of. breakfast was much better (apart from a hair in the mushrooms incident) and dinner on the second night was a (very slightly) improved version of the night before. the comment someone else made about fawlty towers made me laugh in particular because that is exactly how we described the experience. the waiting staff, the bar staff and the reception staff could not do enough for us. they were clearly not trained very well and the restaurant staff in particular had no idea what they were doing but they tried very hard and sorted out every request. when we were still hungry after not eating much of the first night's meal we headed to the bar in search of crisps and nuts. sadly there had been no delivery that week so there was nothing, not even a snack machine in reception. bless the bar man who then gave us 5 orange club bars from his personal stash - that's customer service!
for pure entertainment value i cannot reccomend this hotel enough. we paid £58 per person for a two night package including a 3 course meal on each night, breakfast both days, free tickets to a castle and half a bottle of wine each. at that price in a beautiful location you can afford to eat out if you don't like the food

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becmeadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

We booked a two day stay at the hotel through travelzoo, we were not sure what to expect as there are mixed reviews, but from our experience we were very pleased with our room, which was clean, and looked freshly decorated. The bathroom was new and we had a LCD TV on the wall with all terrestrial channels. The bonus for us was that from reading a previous review we found out that they are a dog friendly hotel and more than welcomed our little terrier. First of all when we called to ask about our canine friend they said it would be £10 extra per night, but when we arrived they did not charge us, not sure if they made a mistake or not. The food in the evening is average, but after a hards days walking and exploring it was fine and filled us up. For the money we paid we were not expecting to much. The breakfast was good with a decent selection and pretty good fresh coffee.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay at the hotel and friendly staff and a mix of young and old. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay, just dont expect the ritz.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jongriff72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

This hotel has everything going for it - a fine building (and grounds) in a beautiful location, much in demand for weddings and grand occasions. Our room was warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean, and the bathroom was something to envy.

But, oh! the food! The dinner menus are masterpieces of hype, whose creativity is not matched by the grub when it eventually arrives, sometimes lukewarm and sometimes dried out for being kept too long under hot lamps. It might look like nouvelle cuisine on the plate, but people don't eat with their eyes. The meat was tough and the vegetables were undercooked, somewhere between raw and almost al dente.

And the service at meal times! The waiting staff are probably lovely young people, but they haven't a clue (not their fault - they are just not trained properly, and management is to blame.)

There is a 300% mark-up on wines, but no sommelier. Wines come from the bar, where there is a big telly, presumably in case the bar staff get bored between customers. Your £20 bottle of house white to accompany your "Fillet of Pangasius with Pommery Mustard Mash" will be dumped on the table without benefit of ice bucket or any other form of cooler. But there is no excuse whatsoever, even during am exciting football match, for apologising to a customer because the next bottle of house white hasn't been properly chilled and asking if he'd like an ice cube in his £6 glass thereof.

I repeat - this hotel has everything going for it, but its management people haven't quite caught up with it yet.

God help them if Michael Winner ever decides to drop in.

PS a delightful entertainment of Welsh song on our last evening, by a local women's choir, was very nearly brought to nowt when the hotel's front door was unaccountably locked at 8:55pm. And then, having surmounted this obstacle and started off in song, they found themselves competing with piped Radio 2 in the lounge and reception staff didn't know how to turn it off.

And you thought Fawlty Towers was fiction!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bumthunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

represents excellant value for money,friendly and helpfull staff,decent rooms and good food,highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Arrived late one evening and greeted by the friendly reception staff. Only paid £39 for a double room but was delighted to find we had been given a four poster suite! Very large impressive room, if a bit dated in decor but this is in keeping with the style of the hotel. Did not have the dinner but other guests we met said it was excellent. Breakfast was very good with a large choice of hot options. Especially impressed with the friendly bar staff in one the hotel bars. Unfortunately the hotel had stopped serving food at 9pm when we had arrived (would be useful to have a later bar dining menu) however, the bar manager did give me his crisps from his lunch box!! Excellent stay, just 5 minutes from pen y pass for some serious mountain climbing!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsApril09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews