We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,814)
Filter reviews
1,814 results
Traveler rating
478
687
381
146
122
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
687
381
146
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach housebar mealscoach partyall inclusive dealthird floormain buildinglarge hotelhotel is situatedevening mealmountain railwayllanberis pathcooked breakfastelectric mountainexcellent value for moneyshort breakboth nightsfantastic location
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 1,814 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2017

Just spent three nights here. It's a quaint, quirky place, but on the whole we enjoyed it. Some of the structure looks like it's been the product of DIY, like the bridge/corridor from the coach house to the main building. Quite amusing though.
Good points:
Great location for Snowdon, the railway etc. Warm, clean, comfortable rooms. The gardens are nice. Pleasant staff. Decent meals.
Bad points:
Seems to be a stopover for busloads of pensioners. No disrespect to them, but it changes the ambience of the place dramatically, and even affects things like speed of self service at breakfast, as some are confused.
The public areas seem to be over-heated; maybe related to the above point?
The single lift from ground to 2nd floor is slow and inadequate when there are large numbers of older people.
The layout of the place is complex and the internal signage is poor. It wasn't until the 2nd day that we could find the internal route back to our room in the coach house!
In our room in the coach house the room was compact but nice enough, but there was poor water pressure, making the shower a bit pitiful. WiFi a bit patchy.
On the whole though, the hotel was nice and we'd use it again.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Thank you for your detailed and fair feedback. We are working on the water pressure issues in some of the rooms. A local consultant is coming up with a plan ! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

Wanted to stay within easy reach of Snowden and this hotel certainly ticks that box! Plenty of car parking and a cheerful welcome from reception staff made for a good start. The room was pleasant enough and the bed was comfy but the view was dismal. We took an evening meal in the bar area that was served quickly and was good value for money. Breakfast the next day was good with plenty of choice. This is the first hotel I have ever stayed in which did not supply toiletries....the hotel blurb does say reception may be able to help (I didn't test this out) but I was surprised that there wasn't even a tiny block of soap for hand washing.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank jd372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Toiletries are available in all rooms every night, so not sure why you did not see any. Reception always have a back up stock to replenish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

Stayed here 3 nights while travelling around the area. Very clean and welcoming. Everything you could want in the hotel rooms and bar, etc. Only thing is that we thought more notices should be on the corridors as we failed to get to our room a couple of times. The fire alarm went off one night and fortunately we were eating in the bar at the time - don't thing we could have exited the building quickly had we been in our room.
Our only fault with the breakfast was that there were no tomatoes offered (only beans), so my breakfast seemed a little dry. Eggs were not replaced on a regular basis and no one available to request poached alternative.
Evening meals in the bar were OK - although Portobello mushroom burger was disgusting - two mushrooms and failed to spot the cheese and caramelised onions - stick to the fish and chips and welsh beef burger which were excellent. Apart from the niggles on the bar food we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank sashasax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Thank you for your detailed and constructive feedback, especially regarding the bar food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

I stayed for 3 nights and could not be happier with this hotel. It still has the elegance of the Victorian age but so friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is superb with all you could want and the other meals were beautifully presented. My bedroom was a double facing the courtyard, not a great view but very, very clean and comfortable (even though staff door outside banged a lot at 6 in the morning). I would recommend this hotel very much.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marguerite W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Great review, thank you very much. We will investigate the banging door, and resolve that. Come back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017

We stayed here along with around 140 others on an organised trip.
The hotel is old and sprawling but was absolutely fine.
Our room had been refurbished recently and was lovely, clean and quiet.
The restaurant is particularly well run and service was second to none considering how many people needed serving at once.
The buffet service breakfast was nice with helpful staff on hand.
This hotel served us perfectly and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Excellent review, thank you very much, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews