We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location - but needs money spent on it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
205man
1 review
“great location - but needs money spent on it”
Reviewed June 20, 2009

we stayed here for 1 night and we did only pay £50 for the room so wasnt sure what we would get
first impression whe you arrive is that someone has been playing with photoshop etc on the photo on their website , as the building is clearly not white, but a dull tired looking off cream colour and is in desperate need of some paint and work.

walking into the building is abit like stepping back in time and you wonder if you arrived at a hotel or a museum

reception staff were ok and fairly pleasant if a little pre occupied with finishing their conversation they were having

our room was on the 2nd floor (number 210) and after walking up 2 flights of very creeky stairs and corridors we found it and were very pleastly surprised as the room was a large one that was obviusly one of the ones that has been modernised.

it was clean and tidy with a large flatscreen tv and modern trendy fittings, then we looked in the bathroom and this to was very well finished and had very modern fancy fitttings and sink etc

the dining room on the other hand is another thing although we had a window table with very nice views the actual room is very old and tired looking as is the bar.

the food is very good with a decent menu well cooked.

the problems lie with the staff who all appeared to by applying for roles in a remake of fawlty towers , dont get me wrong they were all plesant enough and try and mean well , but the all seem in experienced and out of their depth and panic when they have larger numbers of people to deal with. I blame alot of this on poor management.

ths hotel could be a stuuning and special place with in fantastic setting and location, but whilst it does the job , it needs time money and someone to take proper control of the staff

havng said that we would possibly use it again, mainly due to its prime location to snowdon

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 205man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    569
    325
    124
    108
See reviews for
199
782
56
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
solihull
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Stayed 2 nights and enjoyed our stay.I think it needs the management to train the staff to a better standerd,tidy up the hotel generaly then you could have a wonderful place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Well where do I start.....the hotel appearance was shabby to say the least...The reception staff especially the older lady of the two was extremely rude !!! We was then given the key to our room....which was awful...dust and inch thick along the top of the curtain, the bathroom was filthy, a pillow which was about a centremeter thick and a bed too match...the TV was as old as mount Snowdon !!!!! Then we had dinner, which was disgusting we sent back the wine as it was warm and come in filthy dirty wine cooler....the food was just as bad....the waiters manners where awful !!! in the end none of our table ate the food and we did not have to pay for it , no that i would of done anyway !!!! I had no option but to get drunk that night in the bar downstairs to numb my disappointment !!!! Then for breakfast we had to wat half an hour for a pot of tea, which was then poured over my friends leg, with no apology at all !!!!!!!!!!! When we got our breakfast it was under cook.ed.......I have never stayed in such an awful hotel as this...I am also writing a letter of complaint direct to the hotel !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellWEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llanberis hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
South West
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

There are other reviews on this site which sum up the hotel and it's surroundings - a beautiful location., but the hotel itself was a bit tired. Our room (shared between 3 of us) was acceptable. However, what was not acceptable was the fact I now have lines of bits along my back and midriff. Mosquitos do not bite in lines, and neither do Midges. I can only conclude that I was bitten by Bed Bugs. I will update the hotel's response to my complaint letter - I'm not happy I paid £49 for a one night stay in third world conditions.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caf1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

The Victoria Hotel is an excellent base from which to to explore Snowdonia National Park. We had four great days here and would return without hesitatation. It occupies a commanding position at the foot of Mount Snowdon and has an air of graceful maturity, slightly old fashioned, with a hint of Victorian values, polite ,helpful and ready to please from all the staff. The meals were generous and the food very good. The room was very nice and we had all the facilities we needed at the right price.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaybe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Obviously used to be a fantastic place but now a bit run down and surviving on trade from coach parties. the staff are friendly enough but service in the restaurant just can't cope with the bus loads of pensioners. The restaurant menu looks nice enough but the food provided on the full board package was dreadful, obviously done to a budget and brought back memories memories of school of school dinners. (Not ina good way)

Single room is incredibly small

And the promised Internet access wasn't working. The hotel needs a total refurb and new management

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David7894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Pefect location for Snowdon but a tired (exhausted) once grand Victorian hotel. Some rooms newly re-furbished (paint still damp). Food - terrible and dis-interested management. At breakfast we waited 35 minutes for a pot of tea and 55 minutes for breakfast. Still, at least we had a table. As the staff failed to clear any tables, guests arriving later queued for a breakfast table.

Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnieBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View
Lake View
#6 of 8 in Llanberis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
13.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Property: The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing