We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
UK
1 review
“Great value short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

We took advantage of a special offer paying just £25 per person per night for Dinner, Bed & Breakfast, we travelled with friends.

Our room was in the early 300's our friends were in early 200's but were moved to early 100's. Neither of their rooms measured up to ours unfortunately for them. Having said that, both were en-suite, clean, comfortable and well equipped.

For us the worst aspect were the warren like volume of corridors and staircases that needed to be travelled along and through to get anywhere in the hotel and the claims of 30 acres of garden and woodland - 29 acres is completely unusable!

The best aspect were friendly staff at Reception, in the Bars (there are two plus a lounge with bar service. One bar is for locals the other for residents, the locals bar is very basic, big and bright) and in the restaurant. The food was acceptable rather than outstanding and was plentiful. We never had to wait to be served, or for an additional pot of tea, rack of toast etc. Requests to make minor changes such as the potato type, ice cream flavour etc were met with smiles and were never too much trouble.

Overall we had a great stay, I don't know if I'd have been quite as happy had we paid full price to be frank though!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1333100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    547
    312
    123
    108
See reviews for
188
744
51
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2009

For us the room was good, well maintained and clean. We were in the 300 series of rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bad bit for us was the breakfast service. There appeared to be a low level of staff numbers who were doing their best to cope with the large numbers of the coach parties.
We did not require a hot breakfast and had to ask twice for some toast which we finally gave up on as it was obvious it was not going to appear.
The ugly part is the only bar which is very dated and lit by bright lights and no atmosphere.
We were told we could sit in the restaurant or get a bar meal. It appeard that the bar meal menu was the same as the restaurant menu at restaurant prices ! All in all a good place to stay but it definitly needs a better bar to relax in.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeallsports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

saw some of the reviews and we worried
but really didnt need to
had a beautiful room very clean and modern our bed was huge and very comfortable
food superb good sevice very nice staff nothing was too much trouble
we will come back again and next time we will bring the family

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrywak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2009

Good value for money, would return for the excellent location
Good room, especially the bed, does have that tired feeling, but reading previous reviews things do seem to be changing. Breakfast good, sevice improved as the days went on. Two coach trips in, but that did not affect our enjoyment.Fel the could improve the standard of the evening meal in tms of price, choice, and quality, as the is vey litle competition in Llanberis.Vey good location, but it is an area for walkers, nearby towns rather disappointing

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolly98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2009

The Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel was the perfect location for a break, set in picturesque grounds at the foot of snowdonia. There is ample car parking in the grounds which proves very convenient when wrestling with the luggage!
On arrival, the young man at reception offered first class service. The room was very good value for the price, although could have benefited from a little attention to detail. There were visible signs of damp near the window and the net curtain was slightly stained. That aside, the rest of the room was of a good standard and was clean, as was the en suite bathroom.
The restaurant staff were excellent and offered first class, friendly and professional service, as did the bar staff.
The menu prices were about average and the meals nicely presented although a little salty. The wine to accompany the meal was very good and there was a fair selection available.
The breakfast was of an excellent standard. Waiter service for toast and hot drinks and a buffet which included a wide range of hot items such as eggs, bacon, tomatoes etc. There were also croissants, pains au chocolat, an array of cereals, fruit, yogurts and fruit juices. There was something to cater for all tastes and plenty of it. The restaurant staff were constantly checking the food and ensuring that the items on offer were hot and fresh.
There were comment cards in the bedrooms and I detailed the damp patch/curtain to the management so that this can be rectified. I also highlighted the many positive aspects of my trip.
All in all, a very enjoyable break. I shall definitely be returning and have already recommended this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theFatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2009

My husband and I were climbing Snowdon and wanted a cheap hotel to stay in. A good hearty breakast and a comfy bead were all we needed for this trip. The hotel was very old fashioned, peeling paint and wallpaper and very dated soiled carpets. I was very surprised to see a sign saying a wedding would be held there that weekend! Thank god it wasn't mine!

The room was really smelly due to a mouldy bathroom. We kindly asked reception if we could have a new shower curtain as this seemed to be where the mouldy smell was coming from. They said they would find one for us, but no new curtain was received and when we returned that night the room smelled even worse than before! We're not the moany type and just slept with the window open both nights.

The room was spacious but the kitchen bins were outside our window and the cleaning ladies seem to meet in the corridor outside our door for a chat every five minutes!

There seemed to be a lot of B&B in the High Street which would have been much better accommodation. Please also bear in mind that there are not many places to eat out so it would be an advantage if your B&B serves evening meals too.

The breakfast was okay. Table service asks what hot food you would like, then they bring it out once it's cooked. You can help yourself to standard cereals, rolls and fruit. The only disappointing thing here was they forgot my hot food order and as it takes ages I didn't bother with it in the end.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Dead bugs in the breakfast room, they were everywhere! Clearly didn't clean.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToHoliday82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llanberis hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2008

Having done lots of research and read all the comments about this hotel we decided to check it out for ourselves. After all, at £40 including breakfast we couldn't go far wrong. All in all this is a lovely hotel. The decor is 1970's and the tone low brow but for the money it's a great bargain. The room was clean and the breakfast tasty. Llanberis itself was suprisingly busy for late December.

  • Liked — The price and location
  • Disliked — The wallpaper.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totoschillaci90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake View
Lake View
#6 of 8 in Llanberis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
13.3 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Property: The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing