We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just back from short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just back from short break”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Booked this with Travelzoo for our 50th wedding anniversary. Food was not bad but our first night in the dinning room was a bit chaotic. We had decided in advance what we would be eating but the menu we and other guests were presented with was different from the one on display. We were then given correct menus and I ordered a pork steak dish. When it arrived it was chicken and when I queried this with the waiter I was told that the chef had changed the menu!! I agreed to accept this but it turned out to be awful, so tough I couldn't cut it let alone eat it. The manager later asked my husband if there was a problem and he just advised us to come earlier on the following night as there was a big function on. The second evening was better and we did appreciate the complimentary bottle of sparkling wine on our first evening. We did have a couple of other problems which were addressed as soon as we reported them. (no tv remote control in our room, we had to collect one from reception, and at one point all of our lights went off). The hotel is in a great location, our room was small but functional and clean as were most of the public areas, but some parts of the hotel need refurbishing. The staff were all polite and helpful but they seemed a bit disorganised which we put down to the management. Overall it was good inclusive value break for what we paid.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    569
    325
    124
    108
See reviews for
199
782
56
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful old hotel full of history and mystery. Wonderful staff service. 24 hour guest bar, pool table and fancy dining. Onsite parking available here as well. The breakfast was a mix of coldbuffet and hot menu, for full english breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vera O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your feedback is valuable to us and has been shared with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My wife ,Myself, & a friend have just spent 3 nights at this hotel , which can only be described as very good indeed. The staff were very polite & helpful, & very accomodating.
The food was really excellent with many good choices on the menu.
The rooms were very comfortable & clean.
This hotel is ideally situated in the town, & very close to all the amenities & attractions that llanberis has to offer. It is certainly excellent value for money.
We would certainly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevor r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Our room was ok, it was reasonably clean and the bathroom was huge and very nice.
There was a wedding reception on so it was very noisy and someone set the fire alarm off by accident at midnight which meant we we all had to go outside in the pouring rain.
Hotel is quite dog friendly although all dog rooms are in the annex which is a long walk thru the tunnel to the main hotel.
The public rooms are a bit tired and look as tho they need a refurb and redecorating.

Room Tip: All dog friendly rooms in the annex are twins but the beds are easily pushed together to make a que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley0960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, all feedback is valuable to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel is in a lovely location for using as a base to travel around the area and the Snowdonia mountain railway is just 2 minutes walk away. There is a large car park. My room was clean and tidy with tea making facilities. The tv had around 20 freeview tv and radio channels. 3 G mobile phone cover is a bit hit and miss presumably due to all the mountains etc but there is free wi-fi in the lounge. All the staff seemed to be friendly and obliging although they could be a little inexperienced when it comes to meal times. The food was very tasty and a regular bar type snack would cost around £8 in the bar and a single course meal in the restaurant £12.There were one or two places around the hotel which could do with painting or the odd threadbare carpet replacing. The hotel really is great value for money and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Setch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and positive comments regarding your recent stay. The hotel is currently working through an inhouse programme of refurbishment and hopefully next time you stay you will see more evidence of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludlow uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Booked an all inclusive 2 night break with all meals included and free bar in the evenings. Nice relaxed atmosphere, you could even take your free drinks into the restaurant or your room (unheard of on other inclusive deals). The hotel is a little scruffy in areas but our room 321 was newly decorated and very clean. Finding it was a little tricky as its a large hotel, but great orienteering practice.
Staff were really friendly and said hello in the corridors and reception areas.
There is a lovely quiet lounge opposite the public bar with tables and club chairs, ideal for tea & coffees.
If you go expecting a 5* hotel you may be disappointed, but for a beautiful area where you will be given a packed lunch to fuel you, you cant beat it.
Give it a go, its cheaper than camping!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namaste123LudlowUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
namaste123LudlowUK
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are working to a comprehensive programme of refurbishment throughout the Hotel with some big changes planned for 2014. Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

If you're thinking of a wedding reception at this hotel, DON'T.
Junior staff were great, as for management, they were most arrogant people I have ever met.
Come the morning after the management was missing, no one could deal with any complaints.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Denis W.
With due respect the Duty Manager spent most of the morning after the Wedding day with the Bridal party who were concerned as to why the fire alarm had been activated during their celebrations. We still do not know who caused the problem. Furthermore the party were very pleased with how they had been looked after by all the staff apart from one individual. We have been working closely with the family to ensure a resolution to this and a happy ending.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llanberis hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View
Lake View
#6 of 8 in Llanberis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
13.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Property: The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing