We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

the positive is that this place is well located fro Snowdon and the bed was comfortable. staff are unfriendly and unhelpful, have no clue about the area and the standard of cleanliness is embarrassing. the bathroom was actually still "stained" and dirty form the last guest. The public areas are run down and tired. worst of all is the price, representing extremely poor value for money. there are very significantly better b&b's in the area at far lower prices - I know that from personal experience. this is a great building and a good business opportunity that is taking the customer for a ride. dirtiness should not be sold at any price! management should be ashamed.

Room Tip: choose a room somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpl5t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We will investigate your comments and take any remedial action necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    583
    337
    127
    112
See reviews for
207
804
61
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Arrived into Llanberis for a family day out to the many tourist attractions in the village, the Royal Victoria has a very large non tarmac car park attached to it which it obviously encourages non residents of the hotel to use.
There are no obvious car park charges before you commit yourself to turning into the car park, on stopping to pay the attendant he asks for £7!!!!! WHAT!!! SEVEN POUND - NO THANK YOU! A quick U Turn was made out of that car park.
I recommend anyone visiting Llanberis for the day to park in the many Council car parks in the village.
The council car park charges are per hour we paid for 4 hours for £2.50 or you can park all day for £3.50

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bermo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Just to be clear on the car park charges, the tariff is very visible at the entrance to the facility. Also the full day £7 charge includes a £4 redeemable voucher at the Hotel. Most of our customers use this for teas/coffees at some point in the day. The £4 covers tea or coffee for two without the requirement of any extra purchase.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llanberis hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Staff were awesome, friendly. Rooms were good and comfy. Food excellent! Only criticism is the bar prices even for a Hotel! Wi-fi only any good near reception and intermittent at that. Room was of a good standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabber88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We got this hotel by chance , from a women at a travel agent , she said its £88 . At first I thought that was per night , but it turned out it was for the whole 3 nights we wanted !!! So we grabbed it . Not expecting or bothered to much what it was like , as we were , and like most people just in that area for walks and visiting the area . This included breakfast but only a Continental . But when we got there we found out we could pay a small fee and upgrade to a full English ! ! The hotel was old but fitting , a modern hotel would not look right there . The place had a lot of dark wood about which made it look slightly dull , but it was in Character with everything else .. But I think it made things look dirty , but it wasn't . The only thing was it made the carpets look dirty , but then I think it was because the carpets were dated as well . We had an attic room which was small but ok , it was clean and the bathroom was modern . It was just right for what we wanted . The breakfast was lovely , not buffet but only a short wait for it to be cooked .. Now for my Moan . Parking was tricky , the bays weren't big , but that was because they had to fit lots in . And it was hit and miss whether you got a bay .. But we always managed . ... Well that's it really . We had a fab 3 days And would stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Slates59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Considering some of the reviews we didn't have high expectations but we thought it was good value for money. Our main reason for visiting Llanberis (like most others) was to walk Snowden, and the hotel is ideally located. Our room was pretty good, the bathroom was modern and clean, the only gripe would be that I wasn't convinced the carpet was that clean, so stuck to walking around in it in flip-flops. Because it is an old hotel, the floorboards are very squeaky, so we we're woken each morning by people walking down the corridor to breakfast - indeed the hotel generally needs some TLC as it does look shabby which is a shame as it has potential to be an amazing place with some investment. Breakfast was good, although you have to get their reasonably early as they did seem to run out of the pastries - if that's what you like. Staff were very polite and welcoming. There is also a drying room, which would have been handy for us after our walk, but we didn't know it was there till we passed it when leaving, so a little more promotion of it would be useful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lcatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments which have been passed to the relevant teams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A dilapidated grubby hotel, mediocre but aiming at poor.
Some good staff (eg Kim) but some serious training in customer service needed.
Food average but avoid anything deep-fried (whitebait, scampi) unless you want it nearly black.
Had to make own bed one day since they missed doing our room - and then no staff available!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David-Henman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We currently have a refurbishment programme in place for the hotel and the management and staff of the hotel strive for good customer service, it is therefore disappointing to read that we have failed in this area, we thank you for your comments which have been relayed to the team at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herstmonceux, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had 3 nights B&B here for £72, Single Room en suite. Room was fine, comfortable, good shower, clean. Only slight grumble would be plumbing noises. Breakfast was fine, a good selection of cereals, juices, yoghurt + the full cooked breakfast to order.
Staff were all pleasant and smart. Location of the hotel is perfect.
The only real drawback is the bar. It has no atmosphere and no Real Ale. However ther is a great bar 10 minutes walk away (The Heights).
Yes the hotel has seen better days but it is still great value!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. The comments relating to the bar have been passed on to our Bar Manager and his team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
724 reviews
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
738 reviews
11.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Y Gwnnedd Inn & Bunkhouse
Y Gwnnedd Inn & Bunkhouse
#8 of 8 in Llanberis
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Property: The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing