We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not recommend Royal Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Reviewed July 5, 2013

It's a shame the inside of the hotel does not match the lovely gardens and the facade. The bedrooms were ok although the bathroom floor was dirty and stained and the mirrors had not been cleaned from the previous occupants. The floorboards outside our rooms constantly 'squeaked' every time anyone walked passed which was extremely annoying at 6am! The rest of the hotel was old and sad and desperately needs a clean and a paint. I wanted porridge for breakfast but it was a congealed mass and when I asked one of the waiters if he could do anything about it, he merely suggested adding some water. Fresh porridge might have been nice. The reception staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jilly1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, please accept my apologies that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Our maintenance team are currently working through an inhouse refurbishment programme and signs of this should have been evident during your stay. Your feedback has been passed on to all departments concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,681 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

A very warm welcome after our mountain climb.
Check in was chatty and quick and our room was perfect. Spacious and warm with a huge bath that we sat drinking champagne in.

To the people moaning about it being old. ( stay in a new travel lodge then )

To the people moaning about it being busy and hectic at reception ( go and stay in a 3 bed bnb then ) it's a Grand hotel and like us you more than likely got it at good deal

Loved the whole experience and we will be back

Alex hanson and sonya turner

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexhanson225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The hotel and area is very popular for mountain climing and it is good to hear that you received a warm welcome. We look forward to welcoming you to Royal Victoria again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

For my first ever venture into Wales I could not recommend The Royal Victoria more highly. Fantastic location for everything that was required. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful with a smile at all times. Rooms were great lovely and clean, the hotel is old so there are bound to be a few out dated areas but that is what you expect with age!! Rather quirky! It comes to us all!
The duty manager on last weekend was exceptionally helpful with all our needs, great wit !!! I am sure the hotel was grateful for the cabaret that we put on for the locals !!
Great value for money and hopefully we would love to return at a later date, be warned!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_Jones_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

read some of the negative reviews before booking,decided to take a chance ,turned out to be excellent value for money £69 per room per night for three course dinner and continental plus full cooked breakfast, and two bottles of wine included on two of the dinner nights,( £278 for four nights for two people) food was great.rooms were ok although decor a bit dated but clean and tidy.bigest asset the hotel has is the location ,and the staff were superb ,would definitely stay there again,if you want the ritz then book the ritz ,if you want value for money then book the royal victoria.the hotel grounds are lovely ,even had a couple of sheep grazing on the lawns.go for it

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your break and found it to be good value. We are proud of our location and friendly staff and feel that the sheep add to the character of the hotel and area. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A quiet well run hotel that is at present being modernised.it is situated in a lovely spot only a short walk from the village centre which has places to eat and drink if you need a change from the hotel.
It is situated immediately opposite the tram station which takes you up Snowdon.There are plenty of local walks for all abilities,and the hotel provide you with printed local walks.

Room Tip: All bedrooms seem to be good but the best view is from the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review regarding the hotel and stunning location. We are pleased to be able to suggest walks for guests of all abilities. The hotel is currently working through an inhouse refurbishment programme and I'm really pleased that you saw evidence of this during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel has a dream location with mountain peaks and a lake outside your window. spectacular gardens with stunning views. Close to restaurants and bistros.
the hotel itself is old with caricature, yet some rooms in the annex building needs re-decorating.
we arrived for one night had a double room, reception was welcoming a pleasant young man, he gave me key and directed me to R504 but could not get hot water and was shabby, so we was moved to main hotel block R101,this was a much modern clean and all round better room with a double and single bed (a family room). but no extra cost. we had a pleasant sleep in a comfortable bed. Breakfast was plenty and we had ours on the balcony looking towards the peaks. but the there is always a down side although small, house keeping needs tweaking. And bar needs decorating. but all staff and management are friendly and go out there way to help and full of info, be prepared to be engulfed by there native lounge, don't be offended as it adds to the couture and surroundings, once all rooms are brought up to standards I am sure it could make 4****. We would return....

Room Tip: ask for a room in main hotel not annex. plus don't follow sat-nave when see sign for village tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to hear that you were offered an alternative room and apologise for the problems encountered in room 503. The hotel maintenance team are currently working through an inhouse refurbishment programme and I hope that you will see evidence of this if you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had two nights at The Royal Victoria and enjoyed it very much. We arrived on a wet and windy morning and were greeted in reception by a cheery young lady who, on seeing how wet we were, asked if we would like her to find us a room within the hotel, apparently we were booked into the annexe and it would save us going back outside. Well, obviously we said yes and what a good move. The room was large overlooking beautiful countryside, with a lovely four poster bed that was extremely comfortable, tea and coffee making facilities and a large bathroom with complimentary toiletries and white fluffy towels. Breakfast was plentiful, served by cheery friendly staff who did their best to please. We didn't eat in the restaurant but had a bar meal in the lounge area. It was good value, hot and tasty also served by very cheery staff. Actually all the staff we encountered at the hotel were courteous and cheerful.
The Royal is well placed in Llanberis for several attractions, some of which are walkable from the hotel and well worth a visit. We would certainly stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cymraes191267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break at Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, despite the weather. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
803 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
4.3 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,373 reviews
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
815 reviews
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range: $90 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, bedfinder AG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing