We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
englishman
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“value for money”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

read some of the negative reviews before booking,decided to take a chance ,turned out to be excellent value for money £69 per room per night for three course dinner and continental plus full cooked breakfast, and two bottles of wine included on two of the dinner nights,( £278 for four nights for two people) food was great.rooms were ok although decor a bit dated but clean and tidy.bigest asset the hotel has is the location ,and the staff were superb ,would definitely stay there again,if you want the ritz then book the ritz ,if you want value for money then book the royal victoria.the hotel grounds are lovely ,even had a couple of sheep grazing on the lawns.go for it

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your break and found it to be good value. We are proud of our location and friendly staff and feel that the sheep add to the character of the hotel and area. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    555
    321
    124
    108
See reviews for
191
771
53
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A quiet well run hotel that is at present being modernised.it is situated in a lovely spot only a short walk from the village centre which has places to eat and drink if you need a change from the hotel.
It is situated immediately opposite the tram station which takes you up Snowdon.There are plenty of local walks for all abilities,and the hotel provide you with printed local walks.

Room Tip: All bedrooms seem to be good but the best view is from the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review regarding the hotel and stunning location. We are pleased to be able to suggest walks for guests of all abilities. The hotel is currently working through an inhouse refurbishment programme and I'm really pleased that you saw evidence of this during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel has a dream location with mountain peaks and a lake outside your window. spectacular gardens with stunning views. Close to restaurants and bistros.
the hotel itself is old with caricature, yet some rooms in the annex building needs re-decorating.
we arrived for one night had a double room, reception was welcoming a pleasant young man, he gave me key and directed me to R504 but could not get hot water and was shabby, so we was moved to main hotel block R101,this was a much modern clean and all round better room with a double and single bed (a family room). but no extra cost. we had a pleasant sleep in a comfortable bed. Breakfast was plenty and we had ours on the balcony looking towards the peaks. but the there is always a down side although small, house keeping needs tweaking. And bar needs decorating. but all staff and management are friendly and go out there way to help and full of info, be prepared to be engulfed by there native lounge, don't be offended as it adds to the couture and surroundings, once all rooms are brought up to standards I am sure it could make 4****. We would return....

Room Tip: ask for a room in main hotel not annex. plus don't follow sat-nave when see sign for village tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to hear that you were offered an alternative room and apologise for the problems encountered in room 503. The hotel maintenance team are currently working through an inhouse refurbishment programme and I hope that you will see evidence of this if you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had two nights at The Royal Victoria and enjoyed it very much. We arrived on a wet and windy morning and were greeted in reception by a cheery young lady who, on seeing how wet we were, asked if we would like her to find us a room within the hotel, apparently we were booked into the annexe and it would save us going back outside. Well, obviously we said yes and what a good move. The room was large overlooking beautiful countryside, with a lovely four poster bed that was extremely comfortable, tea and coffee making facilities and a large bathroom with complimentary toiletries and white fluffy towels. Breakfast was plentiful, served by cheery friendly staff who did their best to please. We didn't eat in the restaurant but had a bar meal in the lounge area. It was good value, hot and tasty also served by very cheery staff. Actually all the staff we encountered at the hotel were courteous and cheerful.
The Royal is well placed in Llanberis for several attractions, some of which are walkable from the hotel and well worth a visit. We would certainly stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cymraes191267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break at Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, despite the weather. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a weekend climbing snowdon.place was lovely however now we come to the review.the actual hotel is nice situated just at the bottom of train ride. I booked the room many months ago and on arrival look pleasantly surprised how it looked .given key and told directions of how to get to room. I started to question it when I started walking down a corridor leading away from hotel . eventually I got to room in a separate part of hotel.room was very basic but livable. The main complaint would be the showers to there was hardly any water coming out.i asked people next door and they had same problem. Possibly use again if assured I would be in main hotel.otherwise I.d look elsewhere

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent 3 days last week at this hotel and were very pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews on here. The best description would be 'faded elegance', but that is only cosmetic. The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

We had a room on the third floor which was fully equipped with a tea and coffee tray, flat-screen TV, a large very comfortable bed and a re-furbished bathroom. The view was over the mountains and the car park below.

The weather undoubtedly was a bonus as it was gloriously sunny and warm, but we wouldn't hesitate to go back to the RV again. As soon as it is smartened up it will be more expensive, but will also have lost some of its character.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BootscooterCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your positive comments about our staff and food are much appreciated. The hotel is currently working through an inhouse refurbishment programme, concentrating at the moment on our public areas, but we do hope not to loose the charm and character that is Royal Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Albury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Vic, particularly to go up the Snowdon railway, and this is just next door - most convenient. There's also a good walk through the hotel grounds to Dolbadarn Castle (13th c), returning to the village via the former slate mine.
There was good tourist information available in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Royal Victoria is fortunate to be located in a stunning part of the country with lots of attractions in the area, we are also fortunate to have Dolbadarn castle situated in our grounds. We hope that you will choose to stay at Royal Victoria on any future visits to north Wales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
685 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake View
Lake View
#6 of 8 in Llanberis
181 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
920 reviews
13.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Property: The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing