We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good value 3*** hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
SW England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A good value 3*** hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Check-in was chaotic which was not a good start to our 3 night stay. Being directed to the 'reserve' car-park as this was closer to the annex room we were allocated. We were not given a key to access the room from the car park and then could not find our way to the room through the dilapidated labyrinth of a walk-way from the main hotel to the annex.
The room was an economy room but well appointed and decorated and with an excellent view of the dustbins and parked coaches.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and service at breakfast time is very good. Bar meals were not particularly special in any sense but an evening meal in the restaurant was excellent.

The hotel is well located for walking up Snowdon along the Llanberis path or for taking the mountain train.

Despite its minor faults I would stay again as it represents excellent value and convenience.

Room Tip: Avoid the annex if you can, It is a long walk and out on a limb and the views are poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silchester_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    556
    322
    124
    108
See reviews for
193
772
54
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Took a recent trip to climb Snowdon with some friends. Set in the ideal location if you are looking to climb the mountain. Me and my brother booked two rooms (one each) for 2 nightd The room was ideal for me on my own. Clean and tidy throughout. There was a wedding going on one of the nights and I didnt hear a thing. I think we must have got a deal on the place as it cost us around £32 a night. The staff were very accomodating especially to all my quirks. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DexterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Let's start with the positives. The hotel is situated about 100 metres from the Snowdon Mountain Railway. So if you're using it as a base for that, the location is great. And the reception staff were freiendly and polite.

That's all of the positives. Now the flip side.

The room had an ill-fitting window that jumped and crashed around causing an absolute racket all night. The heavy blackout curtains blew around as though the window was open. I appreciate that Snowdonia is a very windy region, but surely that's even more reason for the hotel to have fitted decentquality widows at some point? Also, as I have seen in other reviews, there was a horrendous mechanical "blast" every so often when the bathroom light was switched on. What on earth is that?!?!

Even more appalling than the room was the service in the bar and restaurant. We decided to eat in due ot the howling wind and rain outside. As we were not hugely hungry we decided to havea bar snack. We entered one of the bars and waited for an eternity at the bar to place a food and drink order. Twice one of the barmen approached and asked if I was still waiting. Both times I replied "yes" and both times he then wandered off to do something else! The other barmen clearly had his friends visiting that evening as he was only interested in chatting to them.
Eventually we gave up and went to the restaurant upstairs. It was no better! For ages we stood at the entrance, waiting to be seated. Several staff looked at at us but not one even aknowledged us, let alone came over to seat us. In the end I had to enter the restaurant and confront one of them to ask for some attention.

This hotel was one in a 12-hotel UK tour, and by far the worst. If you don't eat, could sleep through any noise at all, and want to use the Snowdon railway in the morning, it's fine. If you don't tick all of those boxes then avoid, it's awful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary_The_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llanberis hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Paid £52 a night B&B for a double room on a recent trip and this is about the right with price.

It's an older hotel which has had an annex added so there are plenty of rooms and when we stayed, lots of guests. The hotel is a hive of activity with lots of walkers, cyclists etc. and is a very good base for covering some of the Snowdonia National Park. It is located across the road from the railway which goes up Mt Snowdon and is an excellent location for wandering around the town or for starting a day's outing. A definite bonus is the hotel's large car park.

It is an older hotel and is a little rough around the edges, but nothing a lick of paint couldn't sort out and it is my understanding that it has recently undergone a change of management. Since they were working on some parts of the hotel during our visit, I am assuming that they are getting to grips with some of these problems, which is good news.

We had a great room - good size with a large en suite which was spotlessly clean, so no problems there.

Food was good, but better value for money with the bar meals (a selection of two meals for £12) than in the main restaurant. There was lots of choice at the continental breakfast (cooked breakfasts are available, but would have been extra on our deal).

All in all a very good visit and somewhere I would stay again and be more than happy to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stenolass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for a trip up Snowdon as it was perfectly located for the Llanberis path. Overall a good stay, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our room was a bit disappointing - miles from the reception through several corridors (one which smelt of mould) and doors and wasn't very clean - I had to ask for the floor to be vacuumed. Tap in bath came off in my hand. That said the beds were clean and very comfortable and we weren't in the room very much anyway. It is what I would have expected at the price. Breakfast was plentiful. Getting food at the bar on the Saturday night took a very long time but the food and drink was good value. Overall I would stay again but would ask for another room.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Lancashire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We went on a special 2 nights DBB deal for £65 each. Although our room was a long way from Reception, Dinning Room and Bar we could not really complain. All the staff were very helpful and the food was very good, the breakfasts especially. Llanberis itself has nothing very much to offer but we used it as a base to have a full day exploring Anglesey which we found delightful. (We can understand why Prince William and the Duchess enjoy living there. Red Wharf Bay is as bonny as Cornwall beaches)

Room Tip: For access to a lot of the rooms the use of TWO lifts and long walks are needed so ask for a room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keswickman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Royal Hotel Llanberis

Having just spent 5 days at the Royal Victoria Hotel, We would like to say how friendly and helpful all the staff were. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with tea/coffee making facilities. The restaurant again was roomy and the food excellent, well cooked and presented.

Evening entertainment was again excellent, we had a talk the first evening on the locality which was very informative and with slides very interesting. After that we were entertained by a pianist, a singer and last of all a male voice choir all very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View
Lake View
#6 of 8 in Llanberis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
13.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Property: The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing