We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another great weekend in snowdonia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“another great weekend in snowdonia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

yet again we have had a great stay at this hotel. The family room had plenty of space for the four of us with a double single and pull out double sofa bed.The view was amazing looking out over the lake. Breakfast was a cooked full welsh and help your self buffet, there was pleny to choose from (shame about the mick taking people making butties up for dinner !!!) The hotel staff were friendly and happy to help.
We had a bar meal in the evening 2 for £8 not massive but good quality. The kids had burgers and they were better than the adult meals.
LLanberis is great for families we went on the lake railway, then for a walk round the slate museum and up to the hospital. My 8 year old found all this fasinating. We finished the day with a trip down electric mountain

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nixs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    547
    312
    123
    108
See reviews for
188
744
51
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I would certainly recommend this hotel.The room was warm and the bed extremely comfortable,the bathroom was well appointed with an excellent electric towel warmer that not only warmed the towels but warmed the bathroom to a very pleasant heat as well.All the staff were most welcoming and helpful and this assisted in making our stay most enjoyable. Both the dinner and breakfast menus were excellent value for money and it was to the credit of both the serving and kitchen staff that they were prepared to allows us to deviate from the set menus when we wished to have a "mix and match" meal. If we have the opportunity we will definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was a last minute booking as our daughter had an assignment in the area and needed to find accommodation in a hurry. We travelled with her to look after our grandchildren whilst she and her husband were working - weren't we the lucky ones! All the staff were so helpful and friendly and went to great trouble to ensure that we had everything we needed. We only ate from the bar menu but it was very good value, as were the rooms, which were warm and comfortable. We would like to come again - and special thanks to reception staff Gwyneth (hope I've spelled that correctly!) and Andrew for their help.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent the last two nights at the time of writing, have never been to snowdonia or n Wales, I had seen some maps had a vague plan for a three day trip one of the most amazing breaks I have had. The hotel itself is situated on a hill on entrance to Snowdonia, in Snowdonia you may find hotels situated to key attractions and this is one of them, the Snowdonia Mountain Railway is by the hotel and in the hotel grounds is doldabarn castle. The town of llanberis is close by. The room itself is functional and nicely decorated in keeping with the fact that most people coming to the hotel are on tour of the region walking or climbing, the room was neat and tidy and had TV tea facilities hair dryer and iron. I would say solid excellent three star room giving the most amazing sleep and lovely surroundings. The hotel in llanberis is good for travelling to all parts of snowdonia and closeby is Anglesey. Ah I forgot the most amazing cooked breakfast seated in a lovely warm grand restaurant and with views from the hill overlooking town.

Room Tip: There's no real expectation to have a swimming pool or gym given the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flowersarenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, B,B&D. We were made welcome on our arrival and were given a bottle of wine on the house as part of our deal.
The room was clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable (for someone who suffers with a poorly back). The only disappointment was that we didn't have a view of the mountains as we were in a room at the side.
The three course dinner was very nice and piping hot. Fresh vegetables and hot plates. The waiting staff were very efficient and polite.
Full breakfast was wonderful, a large variety, something to suit everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HCM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just returned from a lovely weekend staying at the Royal Victoria,this is the second time me and my partner have stayed here. We had originally been booked into another hotel in a near by village because we couldnt get a double room in the Royal Victoria as it was fully booked. We had travelled 5 hours to get to this hotel and within ten minutes we left as it was that BAD! On the off chance we drove to Llanberis to see if we could get a room for that night and the only room left was a twin so booked it, how lucky were we. When we woke in the morning we asked if they had any cancellations on a double room for that night and guess what!! They did, what a result.
This hotel is in the heart of Llanberis and everything you need is is walking distance. The hotel is clean and tidy all though a little dated. The Rooms are very clean and the beds are very comfortable and they are supplied with everything you need.
Would definately recommend you to stay here, book early though as it gets fully booked really quick. the staff are friendly, the food is good, what more do you want.
We are booking to go back for a long weekend in May :) Overall this is a fantastic hotel and very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over Easter weekend. It's a magnificent old hotel in a fantastic location in the heart of Llanberis. It could do with a little bit of modernising but it's kept a lot of it's old charm. The staff were brilliant and really friendly and efficient.

Breakfast was cheap and served in a beautiful room but the food wasn't great. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but the menu seemed good.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and we'd definitely stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake View
Lake View
#6 of 8 in Llanberis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
13.3 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Property: The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing