We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a great location”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just returned from a lovely weekend staying at the Royal Victoria,this is the second time me and my partner have stayed here. We had originally been booked into another hotel in a near by village because we couldnt get a double room in the Royal Victoria as it was fully booked. We had travelled 5 hours to get to this hotel and within ten minutes we left as it was that BAD! On the off chance we drove to Llanberis to see if we could get a room for that night and the only room left was a twin so booked it, how lucky were we. When we woke in the morning we asked if they had any cancellations on a double room for that night and guess what!! They did, what a result.
This hotel is in the heart of Llanberis and everything you need is is walking distance. The hotel is clean and tidy all though a little dated. The Rooms are very clean and the beds are very comfortable and they are supplied with everything you need.
Would definately recommend you to stay here, book early though as it gets fully booked really quick. the staff are friendly, the food is good, what more do you want.
We are booking to go back for a long weekend in May :) Overall this is a fantastic hotel and very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    568
    325
    124
    108
See reviews for
199
781
56
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over Easter weekend. It's a magnificent old hotel in a fantastic location in the heart of Llanberis. It could do with a little bit of modernising but it's kept a lot of it's old charm. The staff were brilliant and really friendly and efficient.

Breakfast was cheap and served in a beautiful room but the food wasn't great. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but the menu seemed good.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and we'd definitely stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My partner booked the Royal Victoria on a B&BD deal for two nights. We were put in a lovely, third floor room with a very comfortable bed, quality bedding, TV, tea and coffee, The bathroom had been fitted with a new suite and the water was piping hot for the shower and bath. From the window the mountains could be seen.

The food in this hotel is superb both at breakfast and at dinner. Plenty of choice on both the breakfast and dinner menu. Vegetarian option is included. Service at both breakfast and dinner is excellent. The staff were interested in their guests' plans and attentive at all times.

The hotel building itself, apart from the new part of the building, is old so one can expect the floor to creek, and parts of the decoration to look slightly tired but this is part and parcel of this
lovely hotel. The surrounding grounds and position of the hotel affords it a top rating.

We would definitely return to the Royal Victoria again.

Room Tip: First choice would be a room on the top floor for a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnW295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is the first time I have written a review on this site & felt the experience was well worth writing about. We are just back from a 2 night stay at this hotel on their new All Inclusive package. We arrived after a snowy journey to be greeted by a very friendly receptionist who explained how the All Inclusive worked. We had a lovely room, nice & warm which was much needed. The food was great, the staff were the friendliest we have come across in a hotel for many a year & the location at the foot of Snowdon is perfect. We will definately be returning in the near future & would recommend this hotel to anyone, and it doesnt cost the earth. Keep up the good work guys.

Room Tip: Ask for a classic room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just back from a 4 day stay at a first class hotel with first class staff. On Thursday night the snow fell heavy and the wind was gale force. There was a draught from my window which I reported the next day, within 15 minutes the maintenance man arrived and suggested I move rooms as he would have to replace the window. I was moved to a fantastic family room which overlooked the village. I have been in many hotels but none as yet can beat this beautiful hotel. Many thanks to all concerned, food first class. Beds and cleanliness first class.

Room Tip: If not satisfied tell them why and get it fixed immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend. Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and a fantastic location but could do with updating. Location makes this a great place to stay but hotel shouldn't rest on its laurels and some attention to details could turn this from a good to a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artegall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

just came back from a two day visit. stayed here many times but not with the snow falling!! and very harsh winds.but made the most and had a good time.requested same room 205 and had are lovely view of the snow filled mountains. went for a walk around lake padarn which is about 5 mile long through the woods and along some paths. there is a lovely little tea shop just through the woods which does a lovely cup of hot chocolate and food. llanberis village was quite think this was because of the weather but had a walk round and went to petes eats for a drink. lots of walkers visit this well known cafe. then went to have a look at the waterfall which is easily found as its sign posted in the village. over all another great stay. food at the hotel was nice had a three course meal on the first night of are stay. then a bar meal on the next night. two meals for 12pound which is good if your on a budget. breakfast are plentyful and you can up grade to a full english for 2.50 extra. will return again but will wait for the weather to improve!!!

Room Tip: 205 right on the front of the hotel good views top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie499509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View
Lake View
#6 of 8 in Llanberis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
13.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Property: The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing