We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What excellent value!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We've just stayed at The Royal Victoria and have probably had one of the best value deals we've ever found - £27.50 per head for a three course dinner, bed and full cooked breakfast.

The service was exemplary from everybody - the receptionist, although busy, acknowledged us while we were waiting (such a small thing but what a difference it makes) and greeted us with a smile, the waiting staff in the restaurant were welcoming, helpful and attentive, the housekeeper smiled and greeted us.

The room was spotless, the bed comfortable (extremely so according to my wife), the bath big and the towels fluffy (brilliant after a hard day in the hills). It was also very quiet which added to our good night's sleep. (When we returned to the room after supper it was very hot - my wife had turned the radiators on full to help dry out our wet outdoor gear. The temperature however, unlike many hotels, was easily controllable and we soon had it back to a comfortable level.)

The menu choice was good, servings at dinner were plentiful to say the least and everything appeared very quickly. We both had the same starters and main and my wife enjoyed her salmon with tarragon more than I did - it was a bit over-complicated for my taste. The base of my cheesecake dessert was a bit soggy but I've had a lot worse and these comments are about my taste rather than the quality of the product. Our wine (a very passable Chablis) and coffee added another £16 to our bill - still really good value.

Breakfast was good and served quickly and checking out was quick and uncomplicated.

Goodness knows how this hotel manages to provide the standard of service, let alone the food, for the money they charge. Sure, some of the paint is flaking off a bit, and maybe some of the corners are a bit dusty (probably more to do with needing more staff rather than the competence of the people they do have). Having said that, congratulations to all concerned - we remain very, very impressed.

Room Tip: If you book direct with the hotel you will get a free upgrade to full English breakfast (offers norm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teeaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,155 - 1,161 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for three nights between Christmas and New Year after finding a good deal on the internet and what a 'great' deal it turned out to be.
We were welcomed on arrival with a smile and given the keys to a room on the first floor. The room had everything we needed, a large double bed [not two singles pushed together], tea and coffee tray, a clean modern bathroom with a hot towel rail and views towards the Snowdonia mountains.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and found it to be very good value with well cooked, generous portions. We also had a bar meal one evening which was also very good. Breakfast is a continental buffet with a cooked option available for an extra £2.50 but we found the buffet to be adequate for our needs.
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Llanberis which has shops and other options for eating.
Overall a gem of a find in a great location for walking and we will use this hotel again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We chose the Vic at very short notice after being disgusted at the hotel we had originally booked in betws y coed. Spoke initially to Andrew in reception via telephone he was excellent quickly sorting us a room for 3 nights and the rate was excellent!! He even had called me back as my reception was poor. Upon arrival we were greeted by Andrews smiling face and although the weather was wet outside we had a fab reception. Our room on the second floor was lovely, I took a bath as the shower had a problem but again following telling reception it was rectified immediately, the food is excellent and the breakfast choices are amazing, a window seat in the dining room has fab views, we look forward to our return!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ella w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We walked through the door, dripping wet and rather wind blown. The beautiful slate tiles and the smile on the face of the receptionist said it all - we were welcome here.

Our room was about a hundred miles away from reception and I almost regretted turning down the offer of help with our luggage. I was more concerned that, having got such a cheap deal online, we were headed for an old, shabby part of the hotel. I was very much mistaken. The room was simple, stylish, modern and without clutter so there was room for us and our luggage. The bathroom was new and sparklingly clean. I quickly made use of the kettle and hot drink supplies and relaxed in the bath. Fabulous. There was a drying room that ironically we didn't use.

The bar was sensibly priced, the bar food looked good and the restaurant food tasted great - a one, two or three (£17.95) course dinner from a good choice on a fixed price menu. All the staff were friendly. The bar smelt slightly strange and probably had plumbing arrangements from before the days of the smoking ban.

The continental breakfast was excellent. The cooked breakfast good too.

Two tips. 1. Take cash or a debit card as there's a charge for credit cards. 2. When booking, phone the hotel direct once you've done your research on line as they can sometimes offer you a better deal.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trekbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Caernarfon and Dwyfor Ramblers had a four mile walk in the wet around the hills of Llanberis. We got back dripping wet, leaving boots & over trousers in cars. The hotel had just the place to safely hang soaking coats, & Guto had thoughtfully booked bedrooms to spruce up in. Transformed, we were soon filling the bar, every seat taken, conversation crescending, Christmas cards swapping, hunger nicely sharpened by brisk walking. Those who had got wet the day before on the Ramblers' designing walks course, had ducked out of a second soaking, now melded in, ready for eagerly anticipated feasting. The meal was both gargantuan & gourmet, beautifully set with crackers, party poppers, & balloons , getting us off to a merry start. Spoilt for menu choices, we plumped for favourites & were not disappointed. The long thin balloons challenged the biggest of lungs, but once some had been successfully launched across the room, snaking noisily above heads, others followed triumphantly. Altogether a Christmas celebration to remember!! & the best of company! Thank you Guto & Vickie & all the hotel staff who made it so enjoyable!! The Hotel was hosting their own residents (Hotel Full) plus a charity fun run, start and finish at the Hotel, as well as our forty five wet hungry Ramblers, yet all was calm and well received at the Hotel. Da iawn. Nadolig Llawen.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogleddcymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here many times for last few years .hotel is one of the best in the area .The family room was very good as usuall , with tea and coffee provided and with a great view of Snowden.and leake .
every few months i love to go to same hotel staff very friendly , family rooms very nice and clean food is excellent . i love every moment of my trip to north wales and victoria hotel.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here for just one night on a very cheap deal through travelzoo. The room was good, with tea and coffee provided and with a great view of Snowden. The beds were really comfortable and it was very quiet and peaceful. The bathroom was very clean and had everything you could need. We had a great breakfast in a dining room with fabulous views. The hotel generally needs some updating in places, but we thought it had a great deal of charm - we liked the fact that it hadn't over- modernised and had all the character removed. But the best thing about it was the very helpful and polite reception and restaurant staff. If you want corporate blandness this is not the place for you - but if you like hotels that are a bit different - try it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whynotgoeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
792 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,075 reviews
6.8 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
37 reviews
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
799 reviews
4.3 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range: $95 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing